IGNORED

Looking to do an Atari Game

peteym5

Hello I am Peter, I have been making games on computers for almost 20 years now. I started off with Commodore and Atari 8-bit system and moved onto the PC. Now I was able to retrieve some of my old stuff recently. I was fluent in TurboBasic XL and 6502 assembly. Made a few games in compiled Turbo Basic with Assemble Routines to help drive the graphics. My computer was an Atari 130XE with 128k of ram. I did make a fast moving asteroids clone and improved a Basic Tetris Clone. I will be setting something up on a seperate webpage in the near future.

I am considering making a side scroller type game, maybe something between Super Mario Bros and Pitfall II using multicolor PMGs, DLIs, and such to give lots of onscreen colors at once and make the graphics look really good.

Now I have been reading up on grahpic upgrades for the Atari Computer, multiple ANTICS, GTIAS, POKEY chips, etc, and even that Video XE board. Wonder if any of those projects are still alive. Since I still retain source code for a few games, maybe I can port them over to take advantage of these upgrades.

Edited by peteofborg

Hello I am Peter, I have been making games on computers for almost 20 years now. I started off with Commodore and Atari 8-bit system and moved onto the PC. Now I was able to retrieve some of my old stuff recently. I was fluent in TurboBasic XL and 6502 assembly. Made a few games in compiled Turbo Basic with Assemble Routines to help drive the graphics. My computer was an Atari 130XE with 128k of ram. I did make a fast moving asteroids clone and improved a Basic Tetris Clone. I will be setting something up on a seperate webpage in the near future.

I am considering making a side scroller type game, maybe something between Super Mario Bros and Pitfall II using multicolor PMGs, DLIs, and such to give lots of onscreen colors at once and make the graphics look really good.