IGNORED

Tron Arcade - Beta version.

jbs30000

This is the second time I'm typing this, the first attempt to post this got eaten up.

I made an Atari 2600 version of the Tron arcade game. It was a rush job, so it's riddled with problems, but I'm in the middle of working on a second version which won't only fix these problems, but also add some things, like score keeping :P .

Also, I have a question. I'm using 2 banks and I thought that maybe each bank would have 26 variables each, but after testing this, I found out that a-z seems to be universal, or only apply to bank 1. Even though I'm studying the asm output fom the bas files I compile, I'm still not that familiar with 6502 assembly or the 2600 memory layout, but I'm sure that there must be memory in each bank that I can use for variables using inline assembly. So if anybody can help me out, I'd appreciate it. Thank you.

Tron.bas.binTronNotes.txt

• Like 1

Ram memory and Rom memory are 2 seperate animals. While you can bankswitch to your heart's content (within reason) to make more rom space as long as you keep within the boundries according to that bankswitch scheme, the same is not true for Ram. The 2600 itself only offers 128 bytes of user ram...with some bits a little higher that can be configured to read/write...and that's if you are programming in pure assembly.

The ram variables are read/written the same way regardless of what rom bank you are in. So you need to try to reuse ram wherever you can. Got a variable that doesn't apply to this portion of the game? Reuse it for something else. Got a variable that only holds a value of 0-3? Use 2 bits to hold it instead of the full 8-bit byte.

Ram memory and Rom memory are 2 seperate animals.

Well yeah, I am aware of that. I've done programing for fun off an on for years, just not for an Atari, or 6502 CPU for that matter.