Jump to content

Photo

GoSub 2


147 replies to this topic

#51 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,403 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Wed Sep 26, 2007 11:56 PM

It works with Stella for me. Did you try pressing the reset button in Stella (F2)? Also, at the title screen, to get the minigame, hold down the game select switch (F1) until the number 2 shows up. Here's a new version in which the minigame is 99% complete. The only problem left is why is it when player 1 holds down joy0up && joy0left, it won't fire; and when player 2 holds down joy1down && joy1right, it also won't fire. The main game is kinda still a mess:

-Sometimes when the fish gets shot, the octopus and/or the fish freeze for a few seconds before moving
-Collision between the enemy and the sub counts as the enemy being shot (even though I told it otherwise)

If I get help with these problems then I can go design some more mazes.

Attached Files



#52 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,403 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Thu Sep 27, 2007 7:17 AM

I just tried making both subs fire and hitting each other at the same time in the minigame. There is a tiny patch of code that I adjusted to make it actually complete the process of both subs being hit at the same time, but I didn't think it was a huge adjustment, so I'm not bothering with a .bas and .bin file, and instead putting the code change in this reply.
(in bank 2)
  player1x=player1x+w : player1y=player1y+z  
  if v{1} && v{0} then goto missile0fired   
  if v{3} && v{0} then goto missile0fired : rem new line  
  if v{5} && v{0} then goto missile0fired : rem new line
  if v{2} && v{3} then goto player1_hit_seq
The lines should be indented by one space, but I can't figure out how to do that.

Edited by atari2600land, Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:19 PM.


#53 CurtisP OFFLINE  

CurtisP

    Moonsweeper

  • 258 posts

Posted Thu Sep 27, 2007 3:53 PM

The lines should be indented by one space, but I can't figure out how to do that.


I had to do some searching to find the answer. You have to put an extra space in front of your leading space(s), because the bbcode "eats" the first space. So if you want each line to begin with a space when displayed, begin each line with two spaces when entering the code.

#54 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,403 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Thu Sep 27, 2007 5:20 PM

Yes, that did it. Thank you.

#55 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,403 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:42 PM

Well, after taking a break, I went back and removed the fish from the game. Three reasons for this decision:
1. - The original GoSub had no fish, so adding another enemy to the sequel wouldn't be a huge loss.
2. - Programming reasons: I had a heckuva time programming the fish and its movement in there, and didn't actually get it to work good anyway. Also, I want GoSub 2 to be free of flicker.
3. - A fish doesn't really seem threatening. A shark would have been ok, but for reason #2, I can't really do it because the shark would be gray, and with the background being gray on the B&W setting, it would seem to blend in there.
So anyway, because I wanted to work on this game again, here's the latest version with a new maze. The game goes screwy after level 3 and I know why and will fix it. It will be like this until I create and program all the mazes in.

I will program some title screen music as one of the last things to do for this game. Comments/suggestions welcome.

Attached Files



#56 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,255 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2007 11:58 AM

Hi Chris
good work,but i liked the fishie.
:) greetings Walter

#57 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,403 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2007 2:12 PM

A few minor changes and new level 4 (this binary starts at it.) Changes include more b&w switch programming (all b&w/color switches should work at every place.) Also, a few minor changes in the minigame.

Attached Files



#58 batari OFFLINE  

batari

    )66]U('=I;B$*

  • 6,666 posts
  • begin 644 contest

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2007 3:42 PM

Name suggestion: Instead of Gosub Two, how about Gosub Returns?

#59 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,403 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2007 5:23 PM

I think I'll keep the name GoSub 2 for now unless I hear more opinions about GoSub Returns. Nothing new except added a sonar 'ping' noise at the title screen. Also, if someone has a way to test this on real hardware, I'd appreciate it if it was.

Attached Files



#60 SeaGtGruff OFFLINE  

SeaGtGruff

    Quadrunner

  • 5,566 posts
  • Location:South Carolina, USA

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2007 6:16 PM

Name suggestion: Instead of Gosub Two, how about Gosub Returns?

Or "GoSub Two: The Return of GoSub." :)

Michael

#61 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,403 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2007 10:31 PM

While I was playing GoSub 2, I thought "Man, this is silent. I think I'll add some music." So I did. This version has the in-game music. Let me know what you think of it. I'm not exactly a composer by all means, but it's something. This is the last update for the day.

Attached Files



#62 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,255 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Fri Oct 19, 2007 11:58 AM

Hi Chris
Plays very well.The melody is nice too.I will check on real hardware at weekend.
greetings Walter

#63 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,255 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Sat Oct 20, 2007 12:20 PM

Hi Chris
i checked the last version on my 7800 PAL and on my 7800 NTSC System.It does not work on both.
greetings Walter

#64 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,403 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Sat Oct 20, 2007 2:38 PM

It uses the Superchip. Could that be the problem?

#65 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,255 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Sun Oct 21, 2007 8:42 AM

It uses the Superchip. Could that be the problem?


Hi Chris
Yes,this might be the reason.So,what must i do to get it work on my 7800 system????
I use this inputs on my Cuttle Cart.

Gosub GOSUB F6 78BIOS

Maybe someone can help?
greetings Walter

#66 SeaGtGruff OFFLINE  

SeaGtGruff

    Quadrunner

  • 5,566 posts
  • Location:South Carolina, USA

Posted Sun Oct 21, 2007 11:12 AM

I use this inputs on my Cuttle Cart.

Gosub GOSUB F6 78BIOS

You should change it to "F6SC" if the game uses a Superchip.

Michael

#67 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,255 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Sun Oct 21, 2007 11:49 AM

I use this inputs on my Cuttle Cart.

Gosub GOSUB F6 78BIOS

You should change it to "F6SC" if the game uses a Superchip.

Michael

Hi Michael
Thanks,now it works.
And hello Chris
Checked the actual version.Works great :)
greetings Walter

#68 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,403 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2007 11:42 PM

I was toying with the idea of putting extra lives in the mazes and you can get them if you need them, but they should be hard to get to. If I go with this, the lives you have at the end of one level will carry over to the next, i.e. if you end a maze with 2 lives, you'll have 2 lives at the beginning of the next level. That's the way it is in this version. Also, I changed the in-game music so the right difficulty controls it. B=off and A=on. Tell me what you think.

Attached Files



#69 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,255 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Thu Oct 25, 2007 12:01 PM

Hi Chris
Nice idea.
greetings Walter :)

#70 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,403 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Sun Oct 28, 2007 3:42 AM

Bad news, it looks like I'll have to make a new mini-game. Problems arose and I have no idea how I triggered them or how to fix them, so rather than release a potentially bug-filled program, I decided to scrap the GoSub Combat mini-game. Well, it was fun while it lasted. No worries, though, as I have an idea for a new mini-game: Sub Racer. It'll be like Street Racer only with submarines. I made a new maze, level 7. If you have more than 9 lives, the game will limit you to 9, so at least I have *some* sense of programming.

Attached Files



#71 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,255 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Sun Oct 28, 2007 11:04 AM

Hi Chris
Works fine on my 7800 system. :)
greetings Walter

#72 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Sun Oct 28, 2007 11:27 AM

Bad news, it looks like I'll have to make a new mini-game. Problems arose and I have no idea how I triggered them or how to fix them, so rather than release a potentially bug-filled program, I decided to scrap the GoSub Combat mini-game. Well, it was fun while it lasted. No worries, though, as I have an idea for a new mini-game: Sub Racer. It'll be like Street Racer only with submarines. I made a new maze, level 7. If you have more than 9 lives, the game will limit you to 9, so at least I have *some* sense of programming.


That's too bad. :( If you are absolutely sure you are done with your combat mini game, may I suggest another possiblity (if you haven't gotten too far already with Sub Racer). What about a GoSub-themed version of Zyx (Stickman)? It's an extremely addictive concept, substantially smaller than the fairly heavy-weight Combat DX engine your mini-game is based off of and best of all, it's already programmed.

#73 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,403 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Sun Oct 28, 2007 1:54 PM

That's too bad. :( If you are absolutely sure you are done with your combat mini game, may I suggest another possiblity (if you haven't gotten too far already with Sub Racer). What about a GoSub-themed version of Zyx (Stickman)? It's an extremely addictive concept, substantially smaller than the fairly heavy-weight Combat DX engine your mini-game is based off of and best of all, it's already programmed.

OK, I'll add Zyx as an Easter egg. It's only 2k. Sub Racer though, seems a perfect candidate for the mini-game, as GoSub 1's was Indy 500. If I can't program a decent Sub Racer, I'll replace it with a Zyx minigame with a GoSub theme (avoid the falling bombs, perhaps?)

#74 Dragnerok X OFFLINE  

Dragnerok X

    Dragonstomper

  • 741 posts
  • Location:Bend, Oregon U.S.A.

Posted Sun Oct 28, 2007 3:37 PM

That's too bad. :( If you are absolutely sure you are done with your combat mini game, may I suggest another possiblity (if you haven't gotten too far already with Sub Racer). What about a GoSub-themed version of Zyx (Stickman)? It's an extremely addictive concept, substantially smaller than the fairly heavy-weight Combat DX engine your mini-game is based off of and best of all, it's already programmed.

OK, I'll add Zyx as an Easter egg. It's only 2k. Sub Racer though, seems a perfect candidate for the mini-game, as GoSub 1's was Indy 500. If I can't program a decent Sub Racer, I'll replace it with a Zyx minigame with a GoSub theme (avoid the falling bombs, perhaps?)


Good idea. As for the theme, the sub could be underwater (blue background?) possibly dodging sinking mines from the surface. That's just a suggestion, though. Feel free to go anywhere you want with the idea.

#75 atari2600land ONLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,403 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Sun Oct 28, 2007 7:44 PM

Zyx is in there as an easter egg (for now). I also swapped level 7 for level 3 and added a level-select code.

Attached Files






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users