Jump to content

Photo

Mad-Assembler (MADS)


40 replies to this topic

#1 Gury OFFLINE  

Gury

    Stargunner

  • 1,215 posts

Posted Fri Oct 5, 2007 3:20 AM

New version of MADS: http://mads.atari8.info/

#2 Heaven/TQA OFFLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • 10,338 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Fri Oct 5, 2007 3:37 AM

ehm.... an english doc or at least description of the changes/improvements would be good.

#3 tebe OFFLINE  

tebe

    Dragonstomper

  • 647 posts
  • Location:Poznań - Poland

Posted Fri Oct 5, 2007 6:25 AM

english doc :) http://atariarea.krap.pl/x-asm/

#4 Tezz OFFLINE  

Tezz

    River Patroller

  • 2,260 posts
  • Location:Manchester, England

Posted Sun Nov 4, 2007 6:21 AM

english doc :) http://atariarea.krap.pl/x-asm/

@Tebe, this is cool, I missed this post last month for english docs. I am looking into changing over to MADS assembler, I have been using X-ASM in most recent years.. :)

EDIT> there doesn't seem to be any MADS specific info on there?

Edited by Tezz, Sun Nov 4, 2007 6:26 AM.


#5 eru OFFLINE  

eru

    Chopper Commander

  • 199 posts
  • Location:Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Posted Sun Nov 4, 2007 8:46 AM

MADS is a great assembler, with many more features than XASM, and I really recommend it for larger projects.
For me, two things make a HUGE difference: .LOCAL and .MACRO.
Unfortunately for non-polish people, the documentation for MADS-specific features (that made me change to it) is not available in english.
Perhaps someone from Poland could do that? And don't look at me, I'm busy with other Atari stuff :)

#6 Tezz OFFLINE  

Tezz

    River Patroller

  • 2,260 posts
  • Location:Manchester, England

Posted Sun Nov 4, 2007 11:26 AM

MADS is a great assembler, with many more features than XASM, and I really recommend it for larger projects. For me, two things make a HUGE difference: .LOCAL and .MACRO.

Yes, it sounded like a more featured assembler with the inclusion of macro. I'd really like to get to use it.

Unfortunately for non-polish people, the documentation for MADS-specific features (that made me change to it) is not available in english. Perhaps someone from Poland could do that?

That would be great. Are there any Polish guys out there who would translate the docs? Where's Dracon at these days? Dracon & Miker did a good job translating G2f docs for Tebe's program.

....don't look at me, I'm busy with other Atari stuff :)

That's always good to hear ;)

#7 Gury OFFLINE  

Gury

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,215 posts

Posted Sun Nov 30, 2008 3:56 PM

New version of MADS released, 1.8.4 more specifically.

Enjoy!

#8 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 6,446 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Thu May 21, 2009 11:59 AM

New version of MADS released, 1.8.4 more specifically.

Enjoy!

Bumping an old topic, but has anyone made progress with this documentation? The VBXE2 source code examples were done with MADS 1.8.4 so I will be learning to use it.

Stephen Anderson

#9 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,636 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Wed Jun 17, 2009 11:29 AM

Bumping again: I'd like to use MADS too, especially now that the new version of WUDSN is going to work with it. The example code supplied with MADS is superb and extensive: unfortunately it's hard for us English speaking coders to follow the more advanced features of the assembler. So - any chance of an English version of the docs?

#10 miker ONLINE  

miker

    Stargunner

  • 1,815 posts
  • Stay Atari!
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland

Posted Wed Jul 22, 2009 10:52 PM

Version 1.8.8 released

What's inside:

- uptated software-sprite routine for use with 8x24 sprites
- default file extension for ICL command is .ASM (when parameter is not given) so MADS tries to include filename.asm in this case
- comments /* */ in .MACRO and .REPT are working OK now
- removed bug in assembling #IF and #WHILE for statements with .OR and .AND
- command line switches are now preceded with - (dash) instead of slash (encountered some problems with adding slash character on MacOS X)
- corrected .USING directive for the actual name-range and the following names in this range

#11 Heaven/TQA OFFLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • 10,338 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:34 AM

Coolio... as I have Freepascal installed on OSX I can compile my own version.... ;)

#12 spookt OFFLINE  

spookt

    Stargunner

  • 1,784 posts
  • This is SPARTA(DOS)
  • Location:Sunderland, UK

Posted Thu Jul 23, 2009 5:34 AM

Coolio... as I have Freepascal installed on OSX I can compile my own version.... ;)



Yipee !!! (Only joking ;) )

Is this the same version as I posted a couple of days ago or have further fixes been added?

#13 tebe OFFLINE  

tebe

    Dragonstomper

  • 647 posts
  • Location:Poznań - Poland

Posted Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:52 AM

new 1.8.9

p.s.
i add version number by another program 'build'

#14 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 15,164 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:19 AM

I think I might have to make the change... ATAsm is pissing me off.

It seems to put the messages indicating the segments just anywhere in the output listing.
You use ".INCBIN <file>" assuming it'll just add the binary segments in the file, but it just assembles the entire data inline.
It just quits at the first error, so if you've got missing labels it takes forever to discover them all.

It would probably actually be faster to just use Mac-65 in turbo mode.

#15 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,636 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Thu Jul 23, 2009 11:48 AM

This looks great, but English docs would be nice.

#16 NRV ONLINE  

NRV

    Moonsweeper

  • 328 posts

Posted Thu Jul 23, 2009 6:08 PM

This looks great, but English docs would be nice.

yes! :)
inclusive a list with all commands grouped by type (macros, arrays, structs..) could be useful..

one question.. (I don't know if is the best place, but..)

in previous versions (1.7.5) I was able to compile macros like this:

.macro Test1	lda $FFFF	beq EndMarkEndMark1.endm.macro Test2	jmp EndMarkEndMark2.endm

but in the last versions I get an error "Missing .ENDM" .. is there a new way to do this or just a bug?

thanks!

NRV

#17 tebe OFFLINE  

tebe

    Dragonstomper

  • 647 posts
  • Location:Poznań - Poland

Posted Fri Jul 24, 2009 9:42 AM

thx NRV, its bug

change label EndMark -> En_dMark and it's OK

#18 tebe OFFLINE  

tebe

    Dragonstomper

  • 647 posts
  • Location:Poznań - Poland

Posted Fri Jul 24, 2009 11:11 AM

mads 1.9.0 build 14, bug fixed

Attached Files


Edited by tebe, Fri Jul 24, 2009 11:12 AM.


#19 NRV ONLINE  

NRV

    Moonsweeper

  • 328 posts

Posted Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:19 PM

Thanx!

(I will try not to use that kind of names for my labels :D)

#20 tebe OFFLINE  

tebe

    Dragonstomper

  • 647 posts
  • Location:Poznań - Poland

Posted Fri Jul 24, 2009 11:45 PM

now (1.9.0 build 14) labels with END works OK

#21 JAC! ONLINE  

JAC!

    Stargunner

  • 1,527 posts
  • Always looking for GFX and MSX for my demos
  • Location:Lebach, Germany

Posted Tue Aug 11, 2009 5:06 AM

I think I might have to make the change... ATAsm is pissing me off.
It seems to put the messages indicating the segments just anywhere in the output listing.
You use ".INCBIN <file>" assuming it'll just add the binary segments in the file, but it just assembles the entire data inline.


Hi Rybags,

Yes, "INCBIN" is a binary (inline) include by default.
You can give it a new start address using "*". This will cause a new segment in case the result is not a single continous block of bytes. ATASM minimizes the number of segments be default.

// Will be one segment*  = $2000start  jmp start.incbin "example.bin"


// Will be two segments*  = $2000start  jmp start* = $2800.incbin "example.bin"

and you can also force a new segment by using the ".bank" directive.

// Will be two segments*  = $2000start  jmp start.bank* = $2003.incbin "example.bin"

regarding the error reporting you might want to check out WUDSN IDE. The lastest version includes automatic positioning to the error (also for MADS of course ;-) )

#22 kenames99 OFFLINE  

kenames99

    Star Raider

  • 66 posts

Posted Wed Aug 26, 2009 1:36 PM

This looks great, but English docs would be nice.


hi,
I did a google translation that looks usable. hope everyone can use it.

Ken

Attached Files



#23 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,636 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:23 PM

Thanks Ken! Couldn't have arrived at a better moment! :)

#24 JAC! ONLINE  

JAC!

    Stargunner

  • 1,527 posts
  • Always looking for GFX and MSX for my demos
  • Location:Lebach, Germany

Posted Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:54 PM

Hi Tebe,

For my latest project I had to switch from ATASM to MADS because the only useable MPT replayer was in MADS format. I was really afraid that the switch will delay the whole project, especially because I had not useable English manual at first. Now, after three weeks I simply have to say:

Thank you TeBe! MADS is the fucking best assembler one can think of.

With the nested names features of .local and .proc, the whole project whould have died two weeks ago. Instead has has become the most complex and yet most readable source I ever created.

outline.PNG

#25 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,636 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Mon Nov 22, 2010 2:05 PM

That picture looks good Peter... It almost looks like a structure definition, but without using .STRUCT...

EDIT: I just tried to expand a STRUCT using the outline viewer, and it doesn't work (the three structure entries are greyed out).

Anyway: I concur. MADS is superb, and the source code can be very readable.

Edited by flashjazzcat, Mon Nov 22, 2010 2:07 PM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users