Jump to content

Photo

Intellivision ECS Power Supply


23 replies to this topic

#1 BassGuitari OFFLINE  

BassGuitari

    Habitual Line Stepper

  • 5,653 posts
  • Remember how bright the future used to look?
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:43 PM

I realize this has been gone over a thousand times, but the other threads and resources I've found have not really answered my question, probably because I'm a dumbass at electrical things.

I'm asking if the following universal power supply will work on my Intellivision ECS:

Input: 120V 60 Hz 16W
Output: 3,4,5,6,7.5,9,12V DC
Current: 800mA MAX

There is also a polarity switch...should the tip be positive or negative?

I also have a power supply from my Atari 1010 Cassette Drive (In: 120 VAC, 60Hz, 7.5Va....Out: 9VAC 500mA).

Will either of these work? There has been much discussion about it but it seems no real conclusion has been settled, and I just want to be sure before I accidentally fry my ECS's motherboard.

Thanks!

#2 elliott OFFLINE  

elliott

    Moonsweeper

  • 427 posts
  • Location:Kannapolis,NC

Posted Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:16 AM

It calls for 10VAC at 1amp, both are a little short in current, but the DC one might work, polarity won't matter. I don't think either one would hurt it immediately, I would think they would be OK to test it, but I would look into getting a more suitable power supply if I were you.

EDIT:
I just checked my NES power brick, 9VAC at 1.3a, should work better than either if you happen to have one.

Edited by elliott, Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:25 AM.


#3 IntellivisionDude OFFLINE  

IntellivisionDude

    River Patroller

  • 3,599 posts
  • INTV Brotherhood Member
  • Location:Pigeon Forge, TN

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:42 AM

I just won an ECS yesterday but it appears that it may not have the adapter. Will using an NES adapter work like the above poster said? Or are there others?

eBay Auction -- Item Number: 110497158361

#4 jaybird3rd ONLINE  

jaybird3rd

    Quadrunner

  • 8,433 posts
  • Location:806.4616.0110

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2010 7:43 AM

I'm glad somebody brought this up, because I haven't seen this information documented anywhere else.

Here is a picture of my ECS power supply and connector:

ecspower.jpg ecsplug.jpg

I'm getting 10VAC output on the barrel (tip negative), but since it's AC output, the polarity shouldn't matter.

The connector is a standard coaxial power connector; I believe the dimensions are 5.0mm x 2.0mm (5mm outer diameter, 2mm inner diameter). The inner diameter is a guess on my part: I compared it to the connector for the Atari 800 power supply (CO17945), which uses a 5.0mm x 2.1mm connector, and while the ECS connector is the same outer diameter, the inner diameter is a bit smaller. The ECS connector won't fit into the 800, but the CO17945 connector will fit into an ECS, although it's a little loose. I've heard that some people have successfully used the CO17945 as a power supply for the ECS, in fact, although I've never tried this myself.

#5 ed1475 OFFLINE  

ed1475

    Dragonstomper

  • 725 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, Minnesota

Posted Fri Feb 26, 2010 1:37 PM

I used a 9VAC power supply from and ADAM 5.25" disk drive a few times before I found and ECS power supply on ebay.

#6 IntellivisionDude OFFLINE  

IntellivisionDude

    River Patroller

  • 3,599 posts
  • INTV Brotherhood Member
  • Location:Pigeon Forge, TN

Posted Sat Feb 27, 2010 3:53 PM

I got my ECS today, and here is a video of me unboxing it. Can anybody tell me what i may be missing (besides the adapter) and what else i may need to actually play any games with it. And can i just test it with any old game? What you see in the video is what came with it. What kind of cord do i need for the AUX port? Or is it even necessary?


Edited by rgw825, Sat Feb 27, 2010 3:56 PM.


#7 jaybird3rd ONLINE  

jaybird3rd

    Quadrunner

  • 8,433 posts
  • Location:806.4616.0110

Posted Sat Feb 27, 2010 6:09 PM

The AUX port was only used for connecting an Aquarius printer to the ECS. It's the same connector as a standard 3.5mm stereo headphone jack, which makes me believe that it's just a simple three-wire serial interface: transmit, receive, and common ground. The tape in/out ports are only used for data storage to cassette tape, and there is also a 2.5mm "Remote" jack that I don't have any information on. But none of them are necessary for using the ECS for games; you should only need a suitable AC adapter. The ECS is compatible with regular Intellivision games as well (since it includes a cartridge passthrough); you shouldn't have to unplug it to play them.

#8 IntellivisionDude OFFLINE  

IntellivisionDude

    River Patroller

  • 3,599 posts
  • INTV Brotherhood Member
  • Location:Pigeon Forge, TN

Posted Tue Mar 2, 2010 1:05 PM

Do you think about the Model 1 Genesis adapter might work?

Input: 120v AC 60hz 20w
Output: 10v DC 1.2A

#9 jaybird3rd ONLINE  

jaybird3rd

    Quadrunner

  • 8,433 posts
  • Location:806.4616.0110

Posted Tue Mar 2, 2010 1:57 PM

Do you think about the Model 1 Genesis adapter might work?

Input: 120v AC 60hz 20w
Output: 10v DC 1.2A

That's DC output. The ECS requires AC. The Atari 800/1050 power supply looks like it would be a closer match.

#10 IntellivisionDude OFFLINE  

IntellivisionDude

    River Patroller

  • 3,599 posts
  • INTV Brotherhood Member
  • Location:Pigeon Forge, TN

Posted Tue Mar 2, 2010 2:02 PM

I don't own either of those just yet. The only one i have mentioned in this thread is the NES.

#11 BigO OFFLINE  

BigO

    River Patroller

  • 4,180 posts
  • Location:Phoenix, AZ

Posted Tue Mar 2, 2010 2:57 PM

Do you think about the Model 1 Genesis adapter might work?

Input: 120v AC 60hz 20w
Output: 10v DC 1.2A

That's DC output. The ECS requires AC. The Atari 800/1050 power supply looks like it would be a closer match.

In theory, that should depend on what the ECS does with the AC power internally. If it immediately shoves it into a full wave rectifier, never to be seen as AC again, a DC power source could work. I've done that with various devices, but never with an ECS.

Also in the above theoretical scenario, the power supply output polarity would be irrelevant.

[EDIT: I now see that the same basic statements were made earlier by another poster.]

Edited by BigO, Tue Mar 2, 2010 3:02 PM.


#12 IntellivisionDude OFFLINE  

IntellivisionDude

    River Patroller

  • 3,599 posts
  • INTV Brotherhood Member
  • Location:Pigeon Forge, TN

Posted Tue Mar 2, 2010 3:43 PM

The NES power supply does work with it. Just tested it. Not sure if it is good for the long term or not? I don't currently have any ECS games anyway. I should be getting 2 sealed copies in the mail soon. It will be tempting not to unseal them and play them. lol

#13 BigO OFFLINE  

BigO

    River Patroller

  • 4,180 posts
  • Location:Phoenix, AZ

Posted Tue Mar 2, 2010 3:59 PM

The NES power supply does work with it. Just tested it. Not sure if it is good for the long term or not? I don't currently have any ECS games anyway. I should be getting 2 sealed copies in the mail soon. It will be tempting not to unseal them and play them. lol


If it works, I wouldn't expect it to have any negative long term consequences unless the voltage is too high and overheating a voltage regulator or such in the ECS. From what's been said here, I don't think you'll have issues.

#14 IntellivisionDude OFFLINE  

IntellivisionDude

    River Patroller

  • 3,599 posts
  • INTV Brotherhood Member
  • Location:Pigeon Forge, TN

Posted Tue Mar 2, 2010 10:50 PM

Just in case anybody is wondering, the ECS has to be plugged in (the adapter) to be used as a passthrough. When i unplugged the adapter, it won't read any games. Maybe people already knew that but i thought i'd share.

But i have a question. I wonder if you could play those few Coleco games on your Intellivision II by using the ECS as a passthrough? I don't have any Coleco games to test with. It really don't matter since i have an Intellivision I now anyway. But was just curious anyway.

#15 zylon OFFLINE  

zylon

    Quadrunner

  • 5,980 posts
  • 5200 HSC Mod
  • Location:Kennesaw, GA

Posted Wed Mar 3, 2010 3:34 AM

You can also use an Odyssey2 power cord or one from a rechargeable drill.

#16 zander21510 OFFLINE  

zander21510

    Chopper Commander

  • 104 posts

Posted Thu Feb 6, 2014 11:19 PM

Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I'll be needing to find an ECS power adapter...from what I've been reading and seeing on the internet, if I have (or find) a 10v 1.0 amp or close to that in a DC adapter that is the same size (5mmx2mm),

 

1. I won't fry my ECS

2. It will work.

 

Is that true? Universal DC adapters are quite a bit less expensive and AC to AC adapters are all but impossible to find. The only thing I'm concerned about is if I use an adapter that's plus or minus a volt or two I'll either immediately or over time damage my ECS. What should I do?

 

EDIT: I've seen some relatively inexpensive Genesis and NES adapters that output DC 9V 1.2A, as mentioned before. Does that work out OK?


Edited by zander21510, Thu Feb 6, 2014 11:26 PM.


#17 Lathe26 OFFLINE  

Lathe26

    River Patroller

  • 2,748 posts

Posted Thu Feb 6, 2014 11:44 PM

Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I'll be needing to find an ECS power adapter...from what I've been reading and seeing on the internet, if I have (or find) a 10v 1.0 amp or close to that in a DC adapter that is the same size (5mmx2mm),

 

1. I won't fry my ECS

2. It will work.

 

Is that true? Universal DC adapters are quite a bit less expensive and AC to AC adapters are all but impossible to find. The only thing I'm concerned about is if I use an adapter that's plus or minus a volt or two I'll either immediately or over time damage my ECS. What should I do?

 

EDIT: I've seen some relatively inexpensive Genesis and NES adapters that output DC 9V 1.2A, as mentioned before. Does that work out OK?

 

A DC adapter won't work.  The output must be AC.



#18 zander21510 OFFLINE  

zander21510

    Chopper Commander

  • 104 posts

Posted Fri Feb 7, 2014 12:29 AM

 

A DC adapter won't work.  The output must be AC.

 

Well I've read that DC current would be fine if it has a rectifier inside...it's practically impossible to find a power adapter that outputs AC current.

 

Does anyone have an extra ECS power adapter?

 

EDIT: Okay..finally found some OEM NES adapters on eBay...9VAC 1.2A. So it looks like that will work OK. I'll post results in case someone else has the same question in the future.


Edited by zander21510, Fri Feb 7, 2014 12:36 AM.


#19 Lathe26 OFFLINE  

Lathe26

    River Patroller

  • 2,748 posts

Posted Fri Feb 7, 2014 12:39 AM

 

Well I've read that DC current would be fine if it has a rectifier inside...it's practically impossible to find a power adapter that outputs AC current.

 

Does anyone have an extra ECS power adapter?

 

EDIT: Okay..finally found some OEM NES adapters on eBay...9VAC 1.2A. So it looks like that will work OK. I'll post results in case someone else has the same question in the future.

 

I could be wrong in the specific case of the ECS, but in general it isn't a good idea to mix DC and AC power.

 

If anyone out there has tries using DC power with the ECS (successful or not), please reply.



#20 IntellivisionDude OFFLINE  

IntellivisionDude

    River Patroller

  • 3,599 posts
  • INTV Brotherhood Member
  • Location:Pigeon Forge, TN

Posted Fri Feb 7, 2014 1:05 AM

The Nes power supply worked just fine for me, but i never did play the ECS but a few times so i still don't know if there would be any long term effects. I finally tracked down an official power supply. 



#21 RedStine OFFLINE  

RedStine

    Combat Commando

  • 5 posts

Posted Fri Jul 24, 2015 11:08 AM

Hello. I've spotted a reasonably priced ECS on ebay, but it doesn't have an adapter. The only ac/ac adapter I could find online is a 12v 1a adapter with a 5.5mm outside diameter and 2.1mm inside diameter. Is 5.5mm too big or will it maybe squeeze in? I would also like to know if the ECS will work with the Intellivision 1, or if it will only work with modification. Thanks.


Edited by RedStine, Fri Jul 24, 2015 11:10 AM.


#22 pimpmaul69 OFFLINE  

pimpmaul69

    River Patroller

  • 4,811 posts
  • INTV Brotherhood Technician
  • Location:Colorado

Posted Fri Jul 24, 2015 12:01 PM

Hello. I've spotted a reasonably priced ECS on ebay, but it doesn't have an adapter. The only ac/ac adapter I could find online is a 12v 1a adapter with a 5.5mm outside diameter and 2.1mm inside diameter. Is 5.5mm too big or will it maybe squeeze in? I would also like to know if the ECS will work with the Intellivision 1, or if it will only work with modification. Thanks.

buy an nes adapter. (No it wont damage the ecs at all) yes it works on intv 1 with no modification.

#23 RedStine OFFLINE  

RedStine

    Combat Commando

  • 5 posts

Posted Fri Jul 24, 2015 1:33 PM

buy an nes adapter. (No it wont damage the ecs at all) yes it works on intv 1 with no modification.

Thank you.



#24 ianoid OFFLINE  

ianoid

    River Patroller

  • 2,787 posts
  • Location:TEXAS!!!

Posted Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:16 AM

To resurrect an ancient thread, Jameco sells AC to AC adapters, 2.1 mm (female) and 5.5 mm (male) 9V 1A for $9.95 part#ACU090100   They don't have 10V. 

 

It seems like this unit could work based on previous discussions. Anyone?

 

I've always wondered if it would be worthwhile to have replacements power supplies made in quantity (100? 1000?) to sell, for some of the weirder game systems demands. 






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users