Jump to content

Photo

Is it possible to make a Sega Master System converter for the Genesis?


54 replies to this topic

#1 Ace_1 OFFLINE  

Ace_1

    Moonsweeper

  • 457 posts
  • "Destroy them all!"

Posted Wed Jan 9, 2008 9:27 PM

Searched everywhere about this and came out empty on information. I was wondering if it's possible to actually MAKE a converter for Sega Master System games on the Genesis(I have a broken Sega Master System I can go pick up at my friend's pawn shop) using a Sega Master System cartridge connector wired in such a way that it works in the Genesis. Wishful thinking, or something that's feasible? While I'm at it, would it also be possible to wire a card slot and Pause button like on the Power Base Converter or the Tototek Sega Master System/Mark III-Genesis converter(the latter has no card slot)? If it's not possible, can anyone confirm whether or not the Tototek converter works on the Model 2 Genesis?

#2 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 15,224 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Wed Jan 9, 2008 9:36 PM

Possible - entirely probably. But most so-called adaptors just have a cut-down version of the target system onboard anyway.

Emulation is another possibility, but the Genesis would be way too slow - typically the system doing the emulating needs to be at least 10-20 times faster, and in the case of those 2 consoles, that's not the case.

#3 Ace_1 OFFLINE  

Ace_1

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 457 posts
  • "Destroy them all!"

Posted Wed Jan 9, 2008 9:56 PM

So what exactly needs to be done in order to get Sega Master System games working on the Genesis with a homemade adapter? Also, I was wondering whether games that take advantage of the Japanese Sega Master System's FM synthesis can do so on the Genesis, since that too uses a Yamaha FM sound chip(not the same, but was wondering if it worked the same way).

#4 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 15,224 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Wed Jan 9, 2008 10:05 PM

http://en.wikipedia....m_compatibility

Well, it seems that Sega did release an adaptor.

Edited by Rybags, Wed Jan 9, 2008 10:09 PM.


#5 NE146 ONLINE  

NE146

    Dumbass Atari Fan

  • 14,914 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Wed Jan 9, 2008 10:10 PM

Dunno about the question, but did you see the CES 2008 news of those new generic consoles coming out? One of them plays both SMS & Genesis games:

http://blog.wired.co...2008-retro.html

#6 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • 21,686 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Wed Jan 9, 2008 10:23 PM

The picture seems to contradict that somewhat...

Attached Thumbnails

  • img_0040.jpg


#7 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,292 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Wed Jan 9, 2008 10:52 PM

I was wondering if it's possible to actually MAKE a converter for Sega Master System games on the Genesis

I suppose you could as the Power Base Converter doesn't actually have any SMS components in it. But that's a lot of work when you can just pick up a PBC unit. ;)

The picture seems to contradict that somewhat...

Now that's interesting, a Genesis / NES combo. The clones march on! :D

#8 ApolloBoy OFFLINE  

ApolloBoy

    Quadrunner

  • 5,696 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted Wed Jan 9, 2008 11:56 PM

Also, I was wondering whether games that take advantage of the Japanese Sega Master System's FM synthesis can do so on the Genesis, since that too uses a Yamaha FM sound chip(not the same, but was wondering if it worked the same way).


Not possible, unfortunately. The YM2413 is a 2-operator 9-channel chip, whereas the YM2612 is a 4-operator 6-channel chip. Since I'm familiar with FM synthesis, you would have to completely redo the FM music code in the SMS game in order to have it work with the YM2612.

#9 theking21083 OFFLINE  

theking21083

    Stargunner

  • 1,314 posts
  • Do you do the Donkey Kong?
  • Location:Cuyahoga Falls, OH

Posted Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:32 AM

Dunno about the question, but did you see the CES 2008 news of those new generic consoles coming out? One of them plays both SMS & Genesis games:

http://blog.wired.co...2008-retro.html


The article says that the GenX plays SMS and Genesis games but the picture shows it with NES and Genesis games. I think that these people were alittle confused when writing this.

#10 Ace_1 OFFLINE  

Ace_1

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 457 posts
  • "Destroy them all!"

Posted Thu Jan 10, 2008 5:20 PM

Yeah, I don't think so. I have NEVER seen any Power Base Converters in my area, plus, on eBay, they cost more than an original working Sega Master System at that same place I can get the broken one. Plus, I actually WANT to do that, I don't care if it's easier to just pick up a Power Base Converter, I want to get into all this custom stuff and whatever, so I'm sticking with a homemade Power Base Converter, final. So, anyways, how would I go about wiring the Sega Master System cartridge port to make it work on a Genesis?

#11 Prodos8 OFFLINE  

Prodos8

    River Patroller

  • 2,260 posts
  • Where is John Galt?
  • Location:DFW, Texas

Posted Thu Jan 10, 2008 5:28 PM

I don't know the pinout, but basically wire the card edge connector/sms cart port to a genny cartridge pcb that's been stripped of all the components.

#12 Ace_1 OFFLINE  

Ace_1

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 457 posts
  • "Destroy them all!"

Posted Thu Jan 10, 2008 5:30 PM

Hmm... Time to get a crappy Genesis game and that broken Sega Master System(not now, though, the shop is closed).

#13 Prodos8 OFFLINE  

Prodos8

    River Patroller

  • 2,260 posts
  • Where is John Galt?
  • Location:DFW, Texas

Posted Thu Jan 10, 2008 5:32 PM

oh...and be sure the genny pcb has all the pins on the connector before you trash it as some don't.

#14 Ace_1 OFFLINE  

Ace_1

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 457 posts
  • "Destroy them all!"

Posted Thu Jan 10, 2008 5:36 PM

I know. I've seen some with several pins on the top of the cartridge missing. Oh, come to think of it, I forgot to ask if anyone has wiring diagrams or something so I could make my homemade Power Base Converter without frying anything.

#15 Ace_1 OFFLINE  

Ace_1

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 457 posts
  • "Destroy them all!"

Posted Sun Mar 23, 2008 9:19 AM

2 month old thread, but:

SUCCESS!

I've successfully made a Power Base Converter(no card slot yet) thanks to this diagram: http://devster.monke...ga/sega2sms.png, except it has numerous flaws:

1) It only works on my Model 1 Genesis
2) The Pause button doesn't work
3) It's very finicky, works when it feels like it
4) It sometimes has a tendency to reset itself or crash, but that's my problem since I have the board out of a Genesis cartridge casing

I'll put up a picture when I get my converter working properly to show that it DOES work.

Edited by Ace_1, Sun Mar 23, 2008 9:28 AM.


#16 midnight8 OFFLINE  

midnight8

    Dragonstomper

  • 927 posts
  • Location:orange, texas

Posted Sun Mar 23, 2008 9:37 AM

link won't let me view. Says it is forbidden

2 month old thread, but:

SUCCESS!

I've successfully made a Power Base Converter(no card slot yet) thanks to this diagram: http://devster.monke...ga/sega2sms.png, except it has numerous flaws:

1) It only works on my Model 1 Genesis
2) The Pause button doesn't work
3) It's very finicky, works when it feels like it
4) It sometimes has a tendency to reset itself or crash, but that's my problem since I have the board out of a Genesis cartridge casing

I'll put up a picture when I get my converter working properly to show that it DOES work.



#17 Prodos8 OFFLINE  

Prodos8

    River Patroller

  • 2,260 posts
  • Where is John Galt?
  • Location:DFW, Texas

Posted Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:00 AM

link won't let me view. Says it is forbidden

Here's a jpeg copy of it.

Attached Thumbnails

  • devster.JPG


#18 ckrtech OFFLINE  

ckrtech

    Chopper Commander

  • 187 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Sun Mar 23, 2008 1:58 PM

Hey Ace_1 -

Any homemade project/mod is a good one, and I applaud your work. Are you certain you don't have any cold solder joints anywhere that might be causing your issues (possibly including the pause button)?

Look forward to seeing your picture.

#19 NinjaWarrior OFFLINE  

NinjaWarrior

    Stargunner

  • 1,970 posts

Posted Sun Mar 23, 2008 3:31 PM

I wanna see it

#20 Ace_1 OFFLINE  

Ace_1

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 457 posts
  • "Destroy them all!"

Posted Sun Mar 23, 2008 7:35 PM

It's working again! And better than it ever did. Check it out:

Hang-On working on my Model 1: Posted Image

Closeup of the converter on the Model 1:
Posted Image

It FINALLY works on my Model 2:
Posted Image

Closeup of the converter on the Model 2:
Posted Image

Closeup of the converter's front(may be hard to see):
Posted Image

Closeup of the converter's back:
Posted Image

The pushbutton now works. No more running after a Sega Power Base Converter. Just need a card slot and a casing for the converter.

#21 RARusk OFFLINE  

RARusk

    Stargunner

  • 1,062 posts
  • Excuse me, which way to Tokyo?
  • Location:San Antonio, TX

Posted Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:18 PM

Cool. But will it work with all SMS cartridges? I know from my own experience with my PBC that "Alien 3" won't work on it. If you have any cartridges that are known NOT to work with the PBC try them out on your device and see what happens.

#22 Ace_1 OFFLINE  

Ace_1

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 457 posts
  • "Destroy them all!"

Posted Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:29 PM

Unfortunately, Hang On/Safari Hunt is the only Sega Master System cartridge I own, so I can't really test everything out. Sorry. I'd test R-Type next if I had it. But I'm pretty sure compatibility will be the same like Sega's own Power Base Converter. Now, I need a broken Master System or a slot I can use to fit Master System card games, a custom casing or modified Genesis cartridge casing and it's 100% done.

#23 godslabrat OFFLINE  

godslabrat

    River Patroller

  • 4,311 posts
  • I took the midnight train going a-ny-where...
  • Location:Oklahoma City

Posted Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:41 PM

The picture seems to contradict that somewhat...


This would be fabulous if they actually worked with 100% accuracy. It seems that no has yet built an NES clone that didn't have issues. Nintendo couldn't even do it! ;-)

But hey, I'd love to be proven wrong...

Edited by godslabrat, Sun Mar 23, 2008 10:44 PM.


#24 Ace_1 OFFLINE  

Ace_1

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 457 posts
  • "Destroy them all!"

Posted Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:35 AM

The picture seems to contradict that somewhat...


This would be fabulous if they actually worked with 100% accuracy. It seems that no has yet built an NES clone that didn't have issues. Nintendo couldn't even do it! ;-)

But hey, I'd love to be proven wrong...


It certainly works better than the Genesis 3, I can tell you that for a fact(Virtua Racing works perfectly on this system(Power Base Converter too(!), but the d-pad on the controller doesn't respond)). I was actually thinking of getting one of these, a broken Genesis 3, take the NES board out and stick the Genesis board in the Genesis 3's casing(and rewire the hookups, maybe add in the 9-pin Mini-DIN plug from the Model 3 and test with the 32X).

#25 Prodos8 OFFLINE  

Prodos8

    River Patroller

  • 2,260 posts
  • Where is John Galt?
  • Location:DFW, Texas

Posted Mon Mar 24, 2008 9:25 AM

Kudos for a job well done!

What genny cart bit the dust to make this possible?




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users