IGNORED

K.O. Cruiser - my first homebrew

Devin

This project is finished! You can get a copy Here

original first post

Hello everyone,

I am announcing that I am in the process of writing my first homebrew Atari 2600 game - K.O. Cruiser.

This game has a bit of a history. Back in 1986, I started programming my first graphical game on the Commodore 64. I was inspired by the arcade version of the Punch-Out. While I was impressed by the graphics of that classic game, I didn't like the simple stick-and-move logic. The version I was working on would allow the players to move around the ring. At first I played around with the idea of a side-view of the boxers, but it didn't allow much flexibility on designing the faces. So, like Punch-Out, I went for a first-person view.

I went as far as to design a total of 15 characters. I also was able to get an early version of the game working. By this time, it was the start of 1987 - and events would discourage me from finishing the project. Later in 1987, Nintendo released "Mike Tyson's Punchout". I realized, sadly, that I couldn't make my Commodore BASIC version look better (and I didn't know how I could). As a result, I abandoned the project and concentrated on knocking out Tyson (which I never did).

Anyway, I was introduced to the idea of writing an Atari 2600 homebrew by Zach. So, why not finish the game I started 20+ years ago? Even though I have a third of the horizontal resolution than I did on Commodore 64 BASIC, I have far more control over the vertical resolution and colors. Not a bad tradeoff. In fact, my Atari 2600 version might have better graphics.

I'm attached a screenshot of the original Commodore 64 version. I've also attached a copy of the Atari 2600 version (still in progress obviously).

Please remember that my Commodore 64 version came before Mike Tyson's Punchout.

Notes:

• To punch, hold down the button and push either left or right. The button + up/down will block.