Jump to content

Photo

Atari A/V mod update


838 replies to this topic

#826 phattyboombatty OFFLINE  

phattyboombatty

    Dragonstomper

  • 607 posts
  • Location:San Diego, CA

Posted Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:53 PM

Cool thanks Mitch. I had perused that thread and even posted in it! But that was when I'd had the other issues. Now it clicks, and I'm certain that thread is what I need. Cheers!

#827 Zoyx OFFLINE  

Zoyx

    Stargunner

  • 1,441 posts
  • Prominent Internet User
  • Location:Anchorage, AK

Posted Wed Dec 14, 2011 3:34 PM

Installed Longhorn's A/V mod into my 7800. Works, except the video is black & white. Any ideas?

#828 Zoyx OFFLINE  

Zoyx

    Stargunner

  • 1,441 posts
  • Prominent Internet User
  • Location:Anchorage, AK

Posted Thu Dec 15, 2011 11:31 AM

PM sent: That B&W issue has only happened twice now. Seems that little tiny chip doesn't like boards being flexed during shipping. I thought I fixed it by shipping the mods in the stiffer packaging but that seems to not have worked. Reflowing the chip will fix it. If you can't manage to do it Deteacher then I will send a replacement for a swap. Parker


Looks like "reflowing the chip" is a fix I can attempt. Which chip and what is meant by reflowing? Just re-melting solder?

#829 KevinMos3 ONLINE  

KevinMos3

    Stargunner

  • 1,155 posts
  • Founder of the Timothy Dalton as Bond fan club
  • Location:Behind YOU!

Posted Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:38 PM

PM sent: That B&W issue has only happened twice now. Seems that little tiny chip doesn't like boards being flexed during shipping. I thought I fixed it by shipping the mods in the stiffer packaging but that seems to not have worked. Reflowing the chip will fix it. If you can't manage to do it Deteacher then I will send a replacement for a swap. Parker


Make that 3 times.

I finally installed the video mod I bought a while back and it has a B&W picture on most of my TVs. Composite has a little bit of (blurry) color (with interference) on 2 TVs, but s-video is B&W on all of them. 2600 games seem to look much better than 7800 games. 2600 games have color, but it's just a little washed out. The TVs I'm trying this on have color set to look good for everything else, (multiple gaming consoles, VCR, Satellite, etc.), so I won't be adjusting the TV just for the 7800 video mod in 2600 mode. Composite and s-video in 7800 mode is completely unacceptable, since it is far inferior to the previous RF signal.

I checked out the thread with the audio fix (thanks for that Mitch), and will be correcting the audio once the parts come. However, is there a way to output both TIA channels like with the 2600? I'll be adding a 2nd audio jack so I don't have to use a y-adapter, but it would be nice to do it right instead of just sharing the same line for both jacks.

Also, I didn't realize this mod would kill the RF output. Does anyone have a way to add a single switch to choose between RF or the video mod? I would like to add another switch like the channel switch for this.

It looks like some other people with this problem had to send their 7800s in & get the mobo replaced because it wasn't a problem that re-flowing solder could fix (and didn't work for me). In case it matters, my 7800 was my best one which is compatible with ALL 2600 games (such as Dark Chambers, Robot Tank, Supercharger, etc.) AND works with paddles. It's the only unit I have that is compatible with everything, so I'd like to get this working right.

IMAG_0073.jpg IMAG_0081.jpg

Oh, one more thing:
Does anyone know of a good source for connectors like the white one in this pic? I've spent a couple hours on dialup searching mouser and I'm having trouble finding them.
6a00d83452989a69e200e550507cf28834-800wi.jpg

Edited by KevinMos3, Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:39 PM.


#830 atariaddict82 OFFLINE  

atariaddict82

    Space Invader

  • 20 posts

Posted Sun Oct 7, 2012 5:24 PM

Batari:
I would love it if I could get the Gerber files for the 2600 AV mod from you or if anyone else has them available. I've scoured the forums and found one set of gerber files; however, I am concerned they may have changed. Any assistance would be GREATLY appreciated!!

Edited by atariaddict82, Sun Oct 7, 2012 5:25 PM.


#831 akaviolence OFFLINE  

akaviolence

    Chopper Commander

  • 173 posts
  • Location:central Indiana

Posted Sun Oct 7, 2012 5:32 PM

Batari:
I would love it if I could get the Gerber files for the 2600 AV mod from you or if anyone else has them available. I've scoured the forums and found one set of gerber files; however, I am concerned they may have changed. Any assistance would be GREATLY appreciated!!

I had a huge batch of boards made and I can just sell you one or more for like $3 a board, they are the Batari version.

#832 atariaddict82 OFFLINE  

atariaddict82

    Space Invader

  • 20 posts

Posted Sun Oct 7, 2012 10:53 PM

I had a huge batch of boards made and I can just sell you one or more for like $3 a board, they are the Batari version.

Thank you for the offer, but I would like to get the files so that I can have the boards printed myself in a large lot. :)

#833 akaviolence OFFLINE  

akaviolence

    Chopper Commander

  • 173 posts
  • Location:central Indiana

Posted Sun Oct 7, 2012 11:47 PM

Thank you for the offer, but I would like to get the files so that I can have the boards printed myself in a large lot. :)

In that case do what I did, put in the time and effort, learn eagle, use the posted schematics and lay out your own board.
Its very satisfying...

#834 atariaddict82 OFFLINE  

atariaddict82

    Space Invader

  • 20 posts

Posted Mon Oct 8, 2012 3:03 PM

In that case do what I did, put in the time and effort, learn eagle, use the posted schematics and lay out your own board.
Its very satisfying...


Actually, I have been working on learning Eagle. I started with the 2600 pause mod and just sent those in to be printed. I agree it is satisfying :-D

#835 robertski OFFLINE  

robertski

    Star Raider

  • 73 posts

Posted Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:43 PM

Hey all. great forum... This search took me right to here, and I am new to the forum...
But has anyone ever thought up how to do a save game modboard of some kind,
so you could have 5 save states for different games on it?

Dont scream at me for being off topic, but if it is already asked, then tell me to
get out of here with a link...

Thanks.

#836 Uzumaki OFFLINE  

Uzumaki

    River Patroller

  • 2,166 posts

Posted Fri Mar 22, 2013 12:36 AM

I don't think that can be done with Atari 2600. Its hardware is weird enough and trying to set up a save state won't be easy to implement. Someone may try it anyway ;)

#837 Dastari Creel OFFLINE  

Dastari Creel

    Star Raider

  • 97 posts
  • A citizen of the universe and a gentleman to boot.
  • Location:Cudahy, WI

Posted Sun Mar 24, 2013 5:31 PM

Looks like i missed out on these while they were available. Does anyone know of any boards still available? I would like to make this mod myself for both the S-video and the stereo sound.

#838 AtariBrian OFFLINE  

AtariBrian

    Stargunner

  • 1,674 posts
  • Location:Toledo, Ohio

Posted Sun Mar 24, 2013 5:35 PM

Looks like i missed out on these while they were available. Does anyone know of any boards still available? I would like to make this mod myself for both the S-video and the stereo sound.

You could always try these http://www.electroni...mbled Mods.html

#839 Dastari Creel OFFLINE  

Dastari Creel

    Star Raider

  • 97 posts
  • A citizen of the universe and a gentleman to boot.
  • Location:Cudahy, WI

Posted Sun Mar 24, 2013 6:03 PM

You could always try these http://www.electroni...mbled Mods.html


Awesome! I got one on order.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users