IGNORED

7800 Development

kamakazi

Hey guys!

I originally started this thread under another topic. It was suggested that I post it here. Here's what is going on:

1st, I'm in the process of learning the 7800 console. I'm not using any emulation...I'm using an actual Atari 520ST and a 7800 console connected to each other by way of printer port and cartridge port. I'm new to assembly and someone has already suggested an online book based on learning the language. The help I have gotten so far has been tremendous and very much welcomed and appreciated.

2nd, the person supporting me is sending me actual Atari documentation on programming the 7800...and what I learn I would like to start another thread to post what I've learned (with some secrets kept for myself LOL). I was trying to find any and all information I could find surrounding development for the 7800. If anyone out there including those that have already posted, find or know anything about programming the 7800, please pass on the information.

Thanx in advance for the information.

• Thanks 1

Ok...I got some interesting links to sites that are very interesting. Those wanting to learn the 2600/7800 might find these sites useful. Here are the links:

7800 Software Guide

2600 Programming Standards

7800 Programming Standards

7800 Development Kit Documentation

7800 Development Kit Schematics

7800 Keyboard Programming Guide

7800 BIOS Source Code

7800 to 5200 Adapter Schematics

7800 Maria Specs

Supercart Schematics (Hat Trick)

Supercart Schematics (Jinks)

Standard Cart Schematics

Atari's MadMac Assembler Documentation

Some new information that might please any 5200, 7800 and Atari 8-Bit computer programmers alike...it's by far the best book on assembly language for the 6502 I've ever came across. While I'm holding an actual copy in my hands...here's a link to the online version of this book.

Assembly Language Programming For The Atari Computers