Jump to content

Photo

7800 DevCard


21 replies to this topic

#1 kamakazi OFFLINE  

kamakazi

    Dragonstomper

  • 530 posts
  • Location:Moberly, Missouri

Posted Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:03 PM

Does anyone here know where I might could find that 7800 Devcard Kit without having to buy it in a package deal (with an ST)? I've tried Best Electronics, and he will not split them up...can't say that I blame him.

Help please!

#2 primeform OFFLINE  

primeform

    Chopper Commander

  • 199 posts

Posted Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:25 AM

Does anyone here know where I might could find that 7800 Devcard Kit without having to buy it in a package deal (with an ST)? I've tried Best Electronics, and he will not split them up...can't say that I blame him.

Help please!


Can you explain what a devcard kit is? Would this allow me to test 7800 games on real hardware?

#3 Sub(Function(:)) OFFLINE  

Sub(Function(:))

    Moonsweeper

  • 421 posts
  • Location:Athens, Greece

Posted Wed Feb 24, 2010 1:54 AM

Can you explain what a devcard kit is? Would this allow me to test 7800 games on real hardware?



check out the bottom of this page.

This was a card that plugged in to the 7800 cart port and the a cable went to the ST Printer port. You could then up load software into the card's on board ram and test it live on the system.

These are hard to get now, I guess Best Electronics have sold there stock as they are not listed on the web site any more. Plus you need an ST to run the software.

A better solution now is found on Eckhard Stolberg's site. this is DIY project and works with a PC. You will need a PC with a parallel interface an a bit of moding to your 7800 and a cartridge.

#4 primeform OFFLINE  

primeform

    Chopper Commander

  • 199 posts

Posted Wed Feb 24, 2010 4:30 AM

Thanks alot sub! very helpful +rep

#5 Mitch OFFLINE  

Mitch

    Quadrunner

  • 6,166 posts
  • 7800 Guy
  • Location:Southern California, USA

Posted Wed Feb 24, 2010 11:57 PM

Also, see here.

Mitch

#6 kamakazi OFFLINE  

kamakazi

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 530 posts
  • Location:Moberly, Missouri

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2010 2:01 AM

Also, see here.

Mitch


Thank you for posting that link Mitch...I've been looking for those since the links I had are dead. Incidentally, does anyone know what capacitor types were used on this devcard and if others can be used in their place?

#7 Mitch OFFLINE  

Mitch

    Quadrunner

  • 6,166 posts
  • 7800 Guy
  • Location:Southern California, USA

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2010 12:45 PM


Also, see here.

Mitch


Thank you for posting that link Mitch...I've been looking for those since the links I had are dead. Incidentally, does anyone know what capacitor types were used on this devcard and if others can be used in their place?


The capacitor at C1 is an electrolytic, the rest are monolithic caps.

Mitch

#8 kamakazi OFFLINE  

kamakazi

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 530 posts
  • Location:Moberly, Missouri

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2010 7:23 PM

Thanks Mitch! Here's another question...what was the memory type used on this card? I couldn't cross-reference it.

#9 Mitch OFFLINE  

Mitch

    Quadrunner

  • 6,166 posts
  • 7800 Guy
  • Location:Southern California, USA

Posted Thu Feb 25, 2010 8:52 PM

Thanks Mitch! Here's another question...what was the memory type used on this card? I couldn't cross-reference it.


Mine are 58256 RAM chips made by Sony. I think the more common part number is 62256. Different manufacturers sometimes use different part numbers for the same chips.

Mitch

#10 kamakazi OFFLINE  

kamakazi

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 530 posts
  • Location:Moberly, Missouri

Posted Fri Feb 26, 2010 1:19 AM


Thanks Mitch! Here's another question...what was the memory type used on this card? I couldn't cross-reference it.


Mine are 58256 RAM chips made by Sony. I think the more common part number is 62256. Different manufacturers sometimes use different part numbers for the same chips.

Mitch


Instead of a part number, would you happen to know what type of memory it is? By this I mean the size and speed.

#11 Mitch OFFLINE  

Mitch

    Quadrunner

  • 6,166 posts
  • 7800 Guy
  • Location:Southern California, USA

Posted Fri Feb 26, 2010 1:35 AM

Instead of a part number, would you happen to know what type of memory it is? By this I mean the size and speed.


It's 256Kbits or 32KBytes, 120ns.

Mitch

#12 kamakazi OFFLINE  

kamakazi

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 530 posts
  • Location:Moberly, Missouri

Posted Fri Feb 26, 2010 2:03 AM


Instead of a part number, would you happen to know what type of memory it is? By this I mean the size and speed.


It's 256Kbits or 32KBytes, 120ns.

Mitch


Thanks again Mitch. This was all I could find that comes close. Would you know of any other place that sells ICs other than Digi-key and/or Radio Shack?

http://search.digike...e=428-2037-5-ND

#13 Mitch OFFLINE  

Mitch

    Quadrunner

  • 6,166 posts
  • 7800 Guy
  • Location:Southern California, USA

Posted Fri Feb 26, 2010 12:22 PM

Thanks again Mitch. This was all I could find that comes close. Would you know of any other place that sells ICs other than Digi-key and/or Radio Shack?

http://search.digike...e=428-2037-5-ND


That one from digikey is a little bit faster but it's the same chip. Are you trying to build repros of the devcard?

Mitch

#14 gdement OFFLINE  

gdement

    Stargunner

  • 1,766 posts
  • Location:Northern CA

Posted Sat Feb 27, 2010 5:15 AM

Jameco has 62256's:
http://www.jameco.co..._type=jamecoall


As you may have noticed, digikey doesn't actually have them in stock and they call it an "obsolete item - call". They probably won't be able to get any, they'll just tell you to buy something else.

Edited by gdement, Sat Feb 27, 2010 5:17 AM.


#15 kamakazi OFFLINE  

kamakazi

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 530 posts
  • Location:Moberly, Missouri

Posted Sat Feb 27, 2010 5:06 PM


Thanks again Mitch. This was all I could find that comes close. Would you know of any other place that sells ICs other than Digi-key and/or Radio Shack?

http://search.digike...e=428-2037-5-ND


That one from digikey is a little bit faster but it's the same chip. Are you trying to build repros of the devcard?

Mitch


Well, that's the idea. I have a friend who can produce the BIOS chips for them, leaving me to do the rest.

#16 kamakazi OFFLINE  

kamakazi

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 530 posts
  • Location:Moberly, Missouri

Posted Sat Feb 27, 2010 6:39 PM

Jameco has 62256's:
http://www.jameco.co..._type=jamecoall


As you may have noticed, digikey doesn't actually have them in stock and they call it an "obsolete item - call". They probably won't be able to get any, they'll just tell you to buy something else.


Thanks for that link! That helped me track down most of the items I couldn't find. That only leaves finding the PAL and Atari chips. I also need to find the capacitors that were used. I figure Best Electronics will have the PAL and CO chip, not sure where I'm going to find those capacitors.

#17 kamakazi OFFLINE  

kamakazi

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 530 posts
  • Location:Moberly, Missouri

Posted Sat Feb 27, 2010 8:26 PM

Mitch, since you have one, would you be so kind as to post the measurements of the devcard here so I can look for an appropriately sized blank PCB board?

#18 Shawn Sr. OFFLINE  

Shawn Sr.

    Atardid

  • 13,158 posts

Posted Sat Feb 27, 2010 8:49 PM

Mitch, since you have one, would you be so kind as to post the measurements of the devcard here so I can look for an appropriately sized blank PCB board?



Odds are you could compact the design down to the size of a normal 7800 game pcb. You could use much larger sram chips and just change how the banks are controlled. That is unless your looking to make 1-1 repros.

#19 kamakazi OFFLINE  

kamakazi

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 530 posts
  • Location:Moberly, Missouri

Posted Sat Feb 27, 2010 9:07 PM


Mitch, since you have one, would you be so kind as to post the measurements of the devcard here so I can look for an appropriately sized blank PCB board?



Odds are you could compact the design down to the size of a normal 7800 game pcb. You could use much larger sram chips and just change how the banks are controlled. That is unless your looking to make 1-1 repros.


I've thought of that as most of the chips are now in surface-mount design. But there are three chips that are not, the PAL, Atari CO and the Eprom holding the devcard ROM. I may try to do both a 1-1 as Atari did it and a cartridge size version. I don't think I would change the specs away from what Atari used too much as it may pose problems later on.

#20 Shawn Sr. OFFLINE  

Shawn Sr.

    Atardid

  • 13,158 posts

Posted Sat Feb 27, 2010 9:23 PM



Mitch, since you have one, would you be so kind as to post the measurements of the devcard here so I can look for an appropriately sized blank PCB board?



Odds are you could compact the design down to the size of a normal 7800 game pcb. You could use much larger sram chips and just change how the banks are controlled. That is unless your looking to make 1-1 repros.


I've thought of that as most of the chips are now in surface-mount design. But there are three chips that are not, the PAL, Atari CO and the Eprom holding the devcard ROM. I may try to do both a 1-1 as Atari did it and a cartridge size version. I don't think I would change the specs away from what Atari used too much as it may pose problems later on.



If you need a source for the SRAM chips let me know. I can point you in the right direction to get them for a decent price.

#21 kamakazi OFFLINE  

kamakazi

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 530 posts
  • Location:Moberly, Missouri

Posted Sat Feb 27, 2010 9:48 PM

I would like to see the direction you have in mind. As it is, the PAL chip is about the only chip I am in need of the most.

#22 Shawn Sr. OFFLINE  

Shawn Sr.

    Atardid

  • 13,158 posts

Posted Sat Feb 27, 2010 10:21 PM

I would like to see the direction you have in mind. As it is, the PAL chip is about the only chip I am in need of the most.



I just checked and my source is sold out :( Sorry about that.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users