Jump to content

Photo

Anyone think Ballblazer is possible on the 2600?


866 replies to this topic

#301 roland p OFFLINE  

roland p

    Stargunner

  • 1,869 posts
  • $23
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Tue Nov 25, 2008 11:09 AM

But I'm really getting out of ROM space. Lots of code is generated with macro's. Is it OK to change some macro's into subroutines, push some variables to the stack and call the subroutines with JSR?

In general there's nothing wrong with changing macros into subroutines...except that it will eat CPU cycles due to the JSR/RTSes and the pushes and pops.

Here's a document that shows how to do f8 bankswitching:

http://www.qotile.ne..._prog_guide.txt

It's not too hard...partitioning the code is really the hardest part.

Ben

Thanks, I'll check it out. I'll go that route now, I can always optimise the code afterwards if I want to.

#302 Mirage OFFLINE  

Mirage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,613 posts
  • Have a problem? Hire the Envious Snakes!
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Tue Nov 25, 2008 11:14 AM

Been following this since the start, and just want to express my appreciation (and amazement). Truly, this is incredible. Never would have guessed a 2600 could get even this far towards this goal. Please keep it up, and finish the game if possible (and it appears to be possible?) Incredible.

#303 roland p OFFLINE  

roland p

    Stargunner

  • 1,869 posts
  • $23
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Tue Nov 25, 2008 12:47 PM

Been following this since the start, and just want to express my appreciation (and amazement). Truly, this is incredible. Never would have guessed a 2600 could get even this far towards this goal. Please keep it up, and finish the game if possible (and it appears to be possible?) Incredible.

Thanks, I hope I can keep it up!

#304 ginnidog OFFLINE  

ginnidog

    Moonsweeper

  • 266 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted Tue Nov 25, 2008 1:06 PM

Once again, nice work. We hope to see it completed and on cart..

I`m new to this Forum, but I have been reading this topic ..

Paulie
:D

#305 roland p OFFLINE  

roland p

    Stargunner

  • 1,869 posts
  • $23
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Wed Nov 26, 2008 3:28 PM

But I'm really getting out of ROM space. Lots of code is generated with macro's. Is it OK to change some macro's into subroutines, push some variables to the stack and call the subroutines with JSR?

In general there's nothing wrong with changing macros into subroutines...except that it will eat CPU cycles due to the JSR/RTSes and the pushes and pops.

Here's a document that shows how to do f8 bankswitching:

http://www.qotile.ne..._prog_guide.txt

It's not too hard...partitioning the code is really the hardest part.

Ben


Hi,

I'm now trying to bankswitch. I've split my source into small parts so it's easy to move them around now.
The code in the document you're refering to is in the $1000-$1FFF range. My modified hello-world is in the $F000-$FFFF range (I don't know why). When I change my orgs from $FXXX to $1XXX and I compile the thing, things are really slowing down in the emulator. Any idea what is going wrong?

Attached Files


Edited by roland p, Wed Nov 26, 2008 3:29 PM.


#306 roland p OFFLINE  

roland p

    Stargunner

  • 1,869 posts
  • $23
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:14 AM

problem solved

Edited by roland p, Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:35 AM.


#307 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash

  • 18,819 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:36 AM

ACCELERATION is just a constant, so the address mode will be ignored.

#308 roland p OFFLINE  

roland p

    Stargunner

  • 1,869 posts
  • $23
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:42 AM

ACCELERATION is just a constant, so the address mode will be ignored.

Yep, just discovered it. thanks anyway!

#309 roland p OFFLINE  

roland p

    Stargunner

  • 1,869 posts
  • $23
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Fri Dec 5, 2008 4:04 PM

Major update!

implemented for both players:

- non linear friction
- brakes
- bouncing on all 4 borders (was 3)
- max speed
- added bankswitching, 8Kb
- full internal 16bit calculations

now my brain hurts :D

There are some small visual glithces, I did not take care of that this time. The code is very bloated too, but at least the functionality is there.

Attached Files


Edited by roland p, Fri Dec 5, 2008 4:07 PM.


#310 ginnidog OFFLINE  

ginnidog

    Moonsweeper

  • 266 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted Fri Dec 5, 2008 4:13 PM

Looks awesome...

keep up the excellent work

PAulie
:D

#311 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash

  • 18,819 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Fri Dec 5, 2008 4:15 PM

Excellent!

Did you limit the maximum speed by hand or does it automatically get limited by the friction?

#312 Albert OFFLINE  

Albert

    Greetings, Avatar!

  • 30,210 posts
  • Location:Sosaria

Posted Fri Dec 5, 2008 4:18 PM

That really looks and feels great! :)

..Al

#313 iwan-iwanowitsch-goratschin OFFLINE  

iwan-iwanowitsch-goratschin

    Progressive Pornobär

  • 6,340 posts
  • You met me at a very strange time in my life!
  • Location:good old GERMANY

Posted Fri Dec 5, 2008 4:18 PM

Wow, awesome work so far! :thumbsup:

#314 roland p OFFLINE  

roland p

    Stargunner

  • 1,869 posts
  • $23
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Fri Dec 5, 2008 4:19 PM

Excellent!

Did you limit the maximum speed by hand or does it automatically get limited by the friction?


Just by hand. For each axis there are 3 states: accelleration to max speed ór friction ór brake

#315 Random Terrain OFFLINE  

Random Terrain

    Visual batari Basic User

  • 24,895 posts
  • Controlled Randomness
    Replay Value
    Nonlinear
  • Location:North Carolina (USA)

Posted Fri Dec 5, 2008 4:20 PM

Now we don't go faster than the speed of light! Much better. Is it just me or is the maximum speed set a little too low? If I remember correctly, maximum speed is a little faster than that.

#316 roland p OFFLINE  

roland p

    Stargunner

  • 1,869 posts
  • $23
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Fri Dec 5, 2008 4:22 PM

Now we don't go faster than the speed of light! Much better. Is it just me or is the maximum speed set a little too low?

Could be, parameters can be easily tweaked now. I did not compare it to the real ballblazer yet.

#317 Godzilla OFFLINE  

Godzilla

    Quadrunner

  • 6,773 posts
  • Location:Jacksonville, Fl

Posted Fri Dec 5, 2008 4:30 PM

Can anyone post some updated screenshots for those of us at work who can't run emulators? :) Thanks in advance if you can.

#318 Godzilla OFFLINE  

Godzilla

    Quadrunner

  • 6,773 posts
  • Location:Jacksonville, Fl

Posted Fri Dec 5, 2008 4:30 PM

Ballblazer rules & keep up the awesome work! (oops dupe post I edited to make it say something.)

Edited by Godzilla, Fri Dec 5, 2008 4:31 PM.


#319 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash

  • 18,819 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Fri Dec 5, 2008 4:58 PM

Can anyone post some updated screenshots for those of us at work who can't run emulators? :) Thanks in advance if you can.

It still looks the same, just the movement has been improved.

#320 Nathan Strum OFFLINE  

Nathan Strum

    Quadrunner

  • 5,962 posts
  • Flickering
  • Location:Newhall, CA

Posted Fri Dec 5, 2008 6:33 PM

That's remarkable! I would never have thought Ballblazer could ever look so good on the 2600.

#321 Nathan Strum OFFLINE  

Nathan Strum

    Quadrunner

  • 5,962 posts
  • Flickering
  • Location:Newhall, CA

Posted Fri Dec 5, 2008 6:34 PM

Can anyone post some updated screenshots for those of us at work who can't run emulators? :) Thanks in advance if you can.

You really have to see this in motion to get a sense of how good it looks.

#322 tschak909 ONLINE  

tschak909

    Dragonstomper

  • 601 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri Dec 5, 2008 6:48 PM

Roland, you have catapulted yourself into the pantheon of legend.

This is.... absolutely insane.

from one hacker to another...much respect.

Wow.

-Thom

#323 Albert OFFLINE  

Albert

    Greetings, Avatar!

  • 30,210 posts
  • Location:Sosaria

Posted Fri Dec 5, 2008 6:49 PM

Can anyone post some updated screenshots for those of us at work who can't run emulators? :) Thanks in advance if you can.

You really have to see this in motion to get a sense of how good it looks.

Someone should take a video. ;)

..Al

#324 mos6507 OFFLINE  

mos6507

    River Patroller

  • 4,874 posts

Posted Fri Dec 5, 2008 7:14 PM

I'll add to the chorus. Excellent milestone.

#325 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 9,254 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Fri Dec 5, 2008 7:43 PM

Simply mindblowing to see that on the 2600! :cool: The movement and reaction feels very good.

As far as max speed, either the playfield is too large or the max speed is too slow. At least by my guestimation of 'feel' vs the A8. :)




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users