Jump to content

Photo

Tetris


126 replies to this topic

#101 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Fri Nov 13, 2009 7:22 PM

Added two three-digit scores instead of two two-digit scores. I also made a few other minor changes, like the joystick pictures on the title screen.

EDIT: Fixed score problem. Since nobody had uploaded the binary or bas file, I decided to just edit this post instead of posting again.

Attached Files


Edited by atari2600land, Sat Nov 14, 2009 7:22 AM.


#102 Zach OFFLINE  

Zach

    Stargunner

  • 1,620 posts

Posted Sat Nov 14, 2009 2:08 PM

Wow. I've been away from the forums for a while, and didn't realize you had come so far with your version of this game. Even though we are both working on basically the same game, mine will never have a two-player mode like yours. Keep it up!

Can you tweak the controls so that you can turn continuously by holding the button?

#103 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Sat Nov 14, 2009 4:59 PM

OK, I changed the controls so that holding fire keeps rotating the block. I've also changed the name of the game to "2600tris" after realizing that the word "Tetris" is trademarked, and not only that, they're still using it (Tetris DS, Tetris Evolution). I don't think they have a trademark on the -tris suffix (like T-Tris for the Lynx).

Attached Files



#104 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:21 AM

Do more rows equal more fun? Let's hope so. I've upped the number of rows to 17 to make it more in line with Tetris.

Attached Images

  • 2600trispic.png

Attached Files



#105 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:59 PM

Added a special "Easter egg" if you get 100 or more lines in 1-player mode.

Attached Files



#106 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Thu Nov 19, 2009 7:07 PM

Fixed a problem in the previous version where if you got over 100 lines and went through the sequence the score reverted back to 000 at the title screen. Minor update, but I just thought I should post it in case someone cares.

Attached Files



#107 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • 4,992 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:bottom of the stack

Posted Thu Nov 19, 2009 8:34 PM

Looking good! :thumbsup:

Suggestion: in the pretty much all tetris variants, you get more points for more difficult fills. 4 consecutive single-line fills will give you less points than a tetris.

Some versions take this even further, and give more points for 2 consecutive tetrises than just 2x the points for a tetris. I'm not saying you need to go that far, but certainly a tetris should be worth more than 4 single lines.

http://en.wikipedia..../Tetris#Scoring

#108 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Fri Nov 20, 2009 3:56 AM

Yes, I know. I kinda want to keep the score a line counter, and IMO it would be confusing if, for example, I gave a Tetris 6 lines instead of just 4. The number of lines wouldn't be accurate any more. That's not to say it's fair the way it is, I dunno.

#109 MausGames OFFLINE  

MausGames

    Dragonstomper

  • 897 posts
  • Location:MO, USA

Posted Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:17 PM

Why not use a true score during gameplay, then show how many lines a player got when their game ends?

#110 VectorGamer OFFLINE  

VectorGamer

    Go Sleep In the Cold

  • 14,801 posts
  • \m/
  • Location:Retrocade, USA

Posted Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:22 PM

Is this thread a mirror of this topic?:

http://www.atariage....53710-2600tris/

#111 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:34 PM

I thought since the bB thread wasn't getting enough exposure, that I would try my luck in the homebrew section. If "mirrors," as you call them, aren't allowed, then I apologize, and the mods can feel free to delete this topic.



#112 VectorGamer OFFLINE  

VectorGamer

    Go Sleep In the Cold

  • 14,801 posts
  • \m/
  • Location:Retrocade, USA

Posted Fri Nov 20, 2009 2:17 PM

I just want to know what the preferred thread is to keep up with the latest developments, that's all.

#113 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • 4,992 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:bottom of the stack

Posted Fri Nov 20, 2009 2:42 PM

You can avoid having the pieces flash by avoiding all of those extra drawscreens you're doing when turning on/off the piece's pfpixels.

Unless you're doing them to avoid cycle issues, they're not necessary. Unlike Player/Missile positioning, changing the playfield pixels doesn't require a drawscreen for the change to take place.

I did the following to your last posted .bas, which made the pieces solid when pulled down, and I didn't see any cycle issues. That may or may not be true in 2 player mode, which I didn't test...

down
 pfpixel c d off : pfpixel e f off : pfpixel g h off : pfpixel i j off
  COLUP1=var10 : COLUP0=var31
 rem drawscreen
 d=d+1 : f=f+1 : h=h+1 : j=j+1
 COLUP1=var10 : COLUP0=var31
 rem drawscreen
 if pfread(c, d) then d=d-1 : f=f-1 : h=h-1 : j=j-1 : goto check_line bank3
 if pfread(e, f) then d=d-1 : f=f-1 : h=h-1 : j=j-1 : goto check_line bank3

  COLUP1=var10 : COLUP0=var31
 rem drawscreen

 if pfread(g, h) then d=d-1 : f=f-1 : h=h-1 : j=j-1 : goto check_line bank3

 if pfread(i, j) then d=d-1 : f=f-1 : h=h-1 : j=j-1 : goto check_line bank3

Edited by RevEng, Fri Nov 20, 2009 2:43 PM.


#114 MausGames OFFLINE  

MausGames

    Dragonstomper

  • 897 posts
  • Location:MO, USA

Posted Tue Nov 24, 2009 5:23 PM

He probably is doing it to avoid cycle issues, especially in two player mode. What would help a lot I'm sure would be extremely optimized code and possibly some donated assembly-replacement equivalents. I bet there is quite a bit that could be faster with inline asm.

a2600l, I know you haven't been thrilled with suggestions from me, but I really wish you would consider using a score in this project. You've done a great job, but this game with no score doesn't work. You don't need the two-score mod for this, especially since it eliminates such an important feature. It's like pac-man with no ghosts.

Edited by MausGames, Tue Nov 24, 2009 5:24 PM.


#115 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Tue Nov 24, 2009 5:57 PM

There's something I'm not quite understanding, Maus: How would I keep score with lines *and* points, especially in 2-player mode?

#116 MausGames OFFLINE  

MausGames

    Dragonstomper

  • 897 posts
  • Location:MO, USA

Posted Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:33 PM

I wish I could make a quick demo, but my dev computer is a laptop; the power cord shorted out and it'll take me another month or two to replace it.

I would change three of the extra score graphics to read "LINES:" Then choose a color to represent each player, that is a few shades down from the brightest hue.

When a player scores points, the scores turns white for a split second, then the brightest hue of their color, then the next down, etc, until it's back to their score color. This flash/fade effect looks cool and can distract/intimidate the other player. You can tell by the flash that points were scored, and by color whose score is being displayed. You can either alternate between the score of the last player to score points, and the lines display (so it would go flash score in white, fade, pause, show lines, pause, show score, etc) - or you can stick with the score and show each players line count at game over.

The only thing I can think of that might look better would be if you could use the 2-3score mod on even frames and a standard score on odd frames, I don't know if this is possible though. Either way, only showing the score of the last player to score points is better than no score at all. And since doing it requires that you use your own variables to store the scores, you could fairly easily create a high-score table and talk to batari about how to use Harmony/Melody to store it.

#117 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:43 PM

So are you saying I should get rid of the colors changing every ten lines in 2-player mode?

#118 MausGames OFFLINE  

MausGames

    Dragonstomper

  • 897 posts
  • Location:MO, USA

Posted Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:50 PM

Why not just use different shades/hues for each 'level', of the same color? You could even let each player pick their color at start if you wanted. There are a lot of different blues, purples, greens, yellows, browns, and pinks.

Edited by MausGames, Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:51 PM.


#119 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Wed Nov 25, 2009 1:42 PM

I can't get the score to work correctly. In this example, if player 1 (player0) scores one line in 2-player mode, the score should read "ABC001" but instead reads "ABC067" (since I haven't defined the ABC sprites yet, the first three digits are garbled.) but anyway, here's what I'm doing:
 if var34=1 then var36=var36+1
 if var36<60 && var34=1 then score=s : byte1=$AB : byte2=$C0 : scorecolor=var31
 if var36>59 then score=s+var38*10
 if var36>119 then var36=120
where s=number of lines, and var38=bonus points, as defined here:
 if t=1 then var38=var38+1
 if t=2 then var38=var38+3
 if t=3 then var38=var38+5
 if t=4 then var38=var38+10
t equalling the number of lines made. I have attached the whole code so you can see it, but why is the score showing as 67 when it should be 1?

[/size][/size]

Attached Files


Edited by atari2600land, Wed Nov 25, 2009 1:44 PM.


#120 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Mon Sep 13, 2010 9:30 AM

Was looking through my old projects when I came across this. I came across a version that gets rid of the lines very quickly, but the scanline jumps to >290 while it's getting rid of the lines. I was just wondering if there was a way to make the scanline remain at 262 while getting rid of the lines quickly.

Attached Files



#121 devwebcl OFFLINE  

devwebcl

    Stargunner

  • 1,228 posts
  • Location:Chile

Posted Fri Sep 24, 2010 5:38 PM

I wonder if there is a final version for this tetris ?

or still is under development ?

#122 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Fri Sep 24, 2010 6:02 PM

Depends on if anyone can get the scanline issue under control.

#123 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Fri Apr 1, 2011 8:16 AM

Hey gang, I just decided to keep the slower line clearing code in. I did change it a little bit, though. The line now flashes before it clears. If there is more than one line cleared at the same time, the lowest line will flash. I also discovered and fixed a bug that forced a game over for player 2 if the next piece option was turned off.

Attached Files



#124 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Channel F Viewer

  • Topic Starter
  • 11,475 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Fri Apr 1, 2011 7:39 PM

Fixed some scanline issues and made it so if a piece hits another one from the bottom it doesn't automatically lock into place. Can someone play this on real hardware for me and tell me how it goes? It uses the superchip.

Attached Files



#125 Coolcrab OFFLINE  

Coolcrab

    Moonsweeper

  • 379 posts
  • Location:Stockholm

Posted Thu Oct 11, 2018 2:11 AM

This is awesome! We need more MP games for Atari and Tetris would be great. Would this work on a supercharger? Then I can try it on real hardware.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users