Jump to content

Photo

VBXE 2


1128 replies to this topic

#1 candle OFFLINE  

candle

    River Patroller

  • 2,793 posts
  • Location:Lublin, Poland

Posted Fri Apr 10, 2009 4:24 PM

I wonder if there is need for another production run of VBXE graphics adapter for 8 bit atari
Although names says XE it can be used in any atari having ANTIC/GTIA and FREDDY chips on board
for FREDDY-less machines clock divider must me used

VBXE 2 is compatible with previously released v1.2 and only few thing were changed

- ANTIC chip is located on board in DIP2IDC connector adapter, so vbxe can be removed in any point of time - no soldering required

- VBXE Core boot time (time to load soft-core into the FPGA chip, and enable RGB output after power-on) decreased from 6.5 sec to 0.9 sec

- board dimensions decreased from 72x60mm to 66x44mm

- 14mhz generator circuit was included on board, so there is no additional clock generator module placed near FREDDY chip

FX core programmers manual (translated by Drac030 from Polish)

VBXE 2 board composite printout for reference

VBXE 1.2 (under printout) compared to VBXE 2.0:
Posted Image

prototype should be ready till 25 of april, and production run should start by the end of april
cost of ready board is not know yet, but should be under $100 (this is rought estimate, more exact price should be know till 25 of april)

#2 Tezz OFFLINE  

Tezz

    River Patroller

  • 2,260 posts
  • Location:Manchester, England

Posted Fri Apr 10, 2009 4:56 PM

:D Yes please! put me down for one

#3 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,460 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Fri Apr 10, 2009 4:58 PM

Hello Candle

I want one.

Greetings

Mathy

PS "new production run"? As far as I know, the VBXE hasn't been available to the public yet.

#4 candle OFFLINE  

candle

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,793 posts
  • Location:Lublin, Poland

Posted Fri Apr 10, 2009 5:02 PM

it was avaivable, but this was short run - only 20 boards were made, and awarness of general public was poor, since all documentation was in Polish only
this time will be diffrent

#5 Tezz OFFLINE  

Tezz

    River Patroller

  • 2,260 posts
  • Location:Manchester, England

Posted Fri Apr 10, 2009 5:07 PM

The revision makes significant improvements .. Couple of questions Candle... How many will be produced? Do we need to preorder?

#6 candle OFFLINE  

candle

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,793 posts
  • Location:Lublin, Poland

Posted Fri Apr 10, 2009 5:41 PM

i'll talk about this with Electron, i'm just the guy responsible for new board and faster loader, all hard work was done by Electron
all parts are buyable, so no problem there (v1.2 parts - video DAC from intersil is now obsolete)
i just hope there will be more production for VBXE than it was in last year
i have the feeling that those 20 boards were misplaced, and except for few people (Tebe, Drac030, Trub, Laoo and some i would not know of) didn't bother to do anything with it

#7 Larry OFFLINE  

Larry

    River Patroller

  • 3,893 posts
  • Location:U.S. -- Midwest

Posted Fri Apr 10, 2009 5:48 PM

I wonder if there is need for another production run of VBXE graphics adapter for 8 bit atari
Although names says XE it can be used in any atari having ANTIC/GTIA and FREDDY chips on board
for FREDDY-less machines clock divider must me used
(snip...)
prototype should be ready till 25 of april, and production run should start by the end of april
cost of ready board is not know yet, but should be under $100 (this is rought estimate, more exact price should be know till 25 of april)


If it will work with NTSC, and around $100 -- I'm in.

-Larry

#8 candle OFFLINE  

candle

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,793 posts
  • Location:Lublin, Poland

Posted Fri Apr 10, 2009 5:53 PM

ntsc or pal is just 14.18mhz versus 14.31mhz - and it can work with pixel clock up to 21mhz, so should work, but Electron should have the last word here

#9 sl0re OFFLINE  

sl0re

    Moonsweeper

  • 257 posts

Posted Fri Apr 10, 2009 11:08 PM

Please put me down for one.

Thanks

#10 Heaven/TQA OFFLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • 10,359 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Fri Apr 10, 2009 11:25 PM

I would like to buy one, too.... in a perfect world I would buy a complete system (65xe,stereo pokey, 320kb,vbexe2).

please make a preorder list like for carts...

ps. oh, just went through the doc.... ram expansion not required as the VBXE2 is already a 320kb one...

Edited by Heaven/TQA, Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:58 AM.


#11 Standard User OFFLINE  

Standard User

    Dragonstomper

  • 918 posts
  • Redundant

Posted Fri Apr 10, 2009 11:49 PM

Ooooh, i'd buy one! ;)

#12 Heaven/TQA OFFLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • 10,359 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:42 AM

thx Draco030 for the english translation... now I can understand more of the features... cool stuff!

the dynamic display list reminds me sony psx, Amiga or 7800... ;) now I am at the color attribute section of the pdf... hehe... do we really get a color map??? :)

Edited by Heaven/TQA, Sat Apr 11, 2009 12:54 AM.


#13 drac030 OFFLINE  

drac030

    Stargunner

  • 1,832 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Sat Apr 11, 2009 1:33 AM

do we really get a color map???


Yes. And note that it works in "old" display modes, i.e. you can setup it for the ANTIC/GTIA display (in fact, the "new" VBXE display modes do not need the color map so much).

#14 Heaven/TQA OFFLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • 10,359 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Sat Apr 11, 2009 1:39 AM

draco...that's exactly what I ment with "do we really get..." in the old modes... :)

only issue what I do have not a fealing for is the speed to setup everything...

and maybe I have overread it...but how do I pass over commands to the VBX? or do I write into the $4000 window?

#15 Heaven/TQA OFFLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • 10,359 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Sat Apr 11, 2009 1:40 AM

do we really get a color map???


Yes. And note that it works in "old" display modes, i.e. you can setup it for the ANTIC/GTIA display (in fact, the "new" VBXE display modes do not need the color map so much).


so...in theory I could detect the VBX via software (or by user) and add the color map to my software as "bonus" like the stereo msx or extra ram?

#16 drac030 OFFLINE  

drac030

    Stargunner

  • 1,832 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:03 AM

You setup the color map by writing it to the VRAM using the MEMAC window (A or B, this does not matter), and defining XDL appropriately. And yes, you can detect the presence of the VBXE in software and add colors via color map.

#17 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 6,506 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Sat Apr 11, 2009 7:11 AM

Put me down for one as well!

Stephen Anderson

#18 Rybags ONLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 15,227 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sat Apr 11, 2009 7:45 AM

I'm going to have to seriously look into getting this.

So much for any planned upgrade to SLI'd 9800GTs on the main machine... this looks to be where the action's at.

Also, have to get someone who's already got one to see if we can get interlace going on the thing.

#19 bf2k+ OFFLINE  

bf2k+

    Stargunner

  • 1,752 posts
  • Location:Boot Factory BBS 2k+

Posted Sat Apr 11, 2009 7:59 AM

I want one too.

#20 candle OFFLINE  

candle

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,793 posts
  • Location:Lublin, Poland

Posted Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:20 AM

Rybags: provide the code to test, and i'll test it on v 1.2

#21 rdea6 ONLINE  

rdea6

    River Patroller

  • 2,571 posts
  • Location:Arizona USA

Posted Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:04 AM

If this is the sign up list? I buy one also. :lust:

#22 zaxon OFFLINE  

zaxon

    Chopper Commander

  • 233 posts
  • Location:London ,UK

Posted Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:40 AM

Two short movies ,my VBXE in action

,VBXE palette in turbobasic, (few lines code , Drac030 driver S2:) and amazing color effect.


blitter and scroll.

I also order one more.

Edited by zaxon, Sat Apr 11, 2009 11:24 AM.


#23 Shawn Jefferson OFFLINE  

Shawn Jefferson

    Stargunner

  • 1,986 posts
  • Location:Victoria, Canada

Posted Sat Apr 11, 2009 11:26 AM

I'd like one, definitely!

#24 Defender II OFFLINE  

Defender II

    Stargunner

  • 1,150 posts
  • Location:Traveling through space & time

Posted Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:36 PM

I'd like one NTSC version possibly two if the price is right. Has anyone been writing any programs that take advantage of it?

#25 Allas OFFLINE  

Allas

    Stargunner

  • 1,103 posts
  • Location:Lima - Perú

Posted Sat Apr 11, 2009 2:45 PM

Is there any distinctive serial number that could read on Atari memory from VBXE. As a programmer I interested in develop exclusive software on VBXE, but it could be a good idea if there is a way to avoid the illegal copies.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users