Jump to content

Photo

Perfect all-in-one monitor for Ataris and PCs


87 replies to this topic

#1 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 13,558 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Mon Jun 1, 2009 2:23 PM

Yes, I finally found it. It's the LG M227WD.

This 22" full HD (1920x1080) Freeview TV monitor represents a superb bargain for the Atari enthusiast who's pushed for desk space. The monitor supports s-video input from an XL/XE, and VGA from an ST. I haven't yet tried composite from the XL/XE or RGB Scart from the ST, but if results so far are anything to go by, I can expect success. The aspect ratio can be independently set for all sources (my biggest worry was that the ST's hi-res picture would be streched), so you can have the Ataris at 4:3, and when you swicth back to DVI input from your PC, everything is back to normal.

The set is also a freeview TV, games console display... the list goes on. The picture is superb, the OSD brilliant and intuitive, and everything just WORKS. I had good feeling about this set before I went off track and bought the Samsung... I'm glad it didn't work or I would never have had the pleasure of owning this terrific monitor.

Pics:

DSCF2233.jpg

DSCF2232.jpg

DSCF2230.jpg

DSCF2229.jpg

Note the s-video cable needs modification to overcome vertical banding. There's a topic about it here. My cable had a diode in it when I purchased it and I can confirm it did suppress the chroma problems.

#2 nonner242 OFFLINE  

nonner242

    River Patroller

  • 3,664 posts
  • ALL your base ALL belong to us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Location:OHIO

Posted Mon Jun 1, 2009 2:27 PM

Looks nice!
I'll have to check it out.

#3 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,558 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Mon Jun 1, 2009 2:30 PM

Looks nice!
I'll have to check it out.

Do - it's 189 at Richer Sounds here in Britain, and this is a LOT of screen for the price. :)

#4 mimo OFFLINE  

mimo

    Preppie!

  • 6,813 posts
  • It's easy living in a bubble

Posted Mon Jun 1, 2009 5:24 PM

It may be that the XE needs a video mod rather than the cable, most XL/XE machines have the vertical banding unfotunately

#5 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,558 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Mon Jun 1, 2009 5:40 PM

It may be that the XE needs a video mod rather than the cable, most XL/XE machines have the vertical banding unfotunately

I've attempted to rejuvenate this topic I referred to earlier about modded s-video cables. I had one of the "lifetime guarantee" ebay s-video cables which actually produced a perfect picture with this XE (which has been super-video modded). Unfortunately it developed a break in the chroma line somewhere along its 6 foot length so I've had to make my own cable while I wait for a replacement to arrive. I've saved the diode that was in the ebay cable and if I can figure out how to wire it back into my own cable I can virtually guarantee an excellent picture.

Edited by flashjazzcat, Mon Jun 1, 2009 5:42 PM.


#6 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,558 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Fri Jun 5, 2009 1:22 PM

Nearly perfect...

Put the diode back in the s-video cable and the vertical banding is almost gone:

svideo1.jpg

svideo2.jpg

With a few tweaks to the chroma signal, this is going to look crystal clear. Note that the Atari has the SuperVideo mod.

Edited by flashjazzcat, Fri Jun 5, 2009 1:23 PM.


#7 tuf OFFLINE  

tuf

    Chopper Commander

  • 233 posts

Posted Fri Jun 5, 2009 1:32 PM

Nearly perfect...

Put the diode back in the s-video cable and the vertical banding is almost gone:

svideo1.jpg

svideo2.jpg

With a few tweaks to the chroma signal, this is going to look crystal clear. Note that the Atari has the SuperVideo mod.


Looks great. Be sure to post details of that cable so we can order/build one ourselves :)

#8 ClausB OFFLINE  

ClausB

    Stargunner

  • 1,491 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted Fri Jun 5, 2009 1:50 PM

Yes, I finally found it. It's the LG M227WD.

Has anyone found a North American version of this monitor yet? I searched for an hour and the best I could find had component and composite but no s-video. Anyone?

#9 emkay OFFLINE  

emkay

    Quadrunner

  • 9,341 posts
  • What's up?
  • Location:Holy Grail ;)

Posted Fri Jun 5, 2009 2:35 PM

It may be that the XE needs a video mod rather than the cable, most XL/XE machines have the vertical banding unfotunately

This "vertical banding" is a result of "voltage reducing" when the DMA is done-> the brightness gets lower during those events. Most of the ST Computers from the same time have this too. Good Tramiels ;)

#10 JR> OFFLINE  

JR>

    Moonsweeper

  • 251 posts

Posted Fri Jun 5, 2009 5:40 PM

Yes, I finally found it. It's the LG M227WD.

Has anyone found a North American version of this monitor yet? I searched for an hour and the best I could find had component and composite but no s-video. Anyone?


look here

http://www.lge.com/u...itors/index.jsp

First one I looked at had s-video. Look at the pdf spec sheets to see all the inputs. They don't list everything on the web page specs.

#11 JonnyBritish OFFLINE  

JonnyBritish

    Moonsweeper

  • 425 posts
  • Location:Montgomery, IL

Posted Fri Jun 5, 2009 8:25 PM

Yes, I finally found it. It's the LG M227WD.

Has anyone found a North American version of this monitor yet? I searched for an hour and the best I could find had component and composite but no s-video. Anyone?


look here

http://www.lge.com/u...itors/index.jsp

First one I looked at had s-video. Look at the pdf spec sheets to see all the inputs. They don't list everything on the web page specs.


THis one looks good

http://www.lge.com/u...237wdpmSpec.PDF

As i have multiple retro consoles I think its time to replace my 19inch dell monitor...

#12 JonnyBritish OFFLINE  

JonnyBritish

    Moonsweeper

  • 425 posts
  • Location:Montgomery, IL

Posted Fri Jun 5, 2009 8:34 PM

Yes, I finally found it. It's the LG M227WD.

Has anyone found a North American version of this monitor yet? I searched for an hour and the best I could find had component and composite but no s-video. Anyone?


look here

http://www.lge.com/u...itors/index.jsp

First one I looked at had s-video. Look at the pdf spec sheets to see all the inputs. They don't list everything on the web page specs.


THis one looks good

http://www.lge.com/u...237wdpmSpec.PDF

As i have multiple retro consoles I think its time to replace my 19inch dell monitor...



Fry's are selling this for 299

#13 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,558 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Sat Jun 6, 2009 1:42 AM

Looks great. Be sure to post details of that cable so we can order/build one ourselves :)

First post in this topic describes exactly the same cable. A better one, however, is described here, towards the bottom of the first page. I'm still trying to figure out the wiring for this one, though, since I don't understand the diagram. :ponder:

Anyway, as promised earlier, some tests of various interlaced modes:

Interlace doesn't work properly on the Memo Pad demo:

DSCF2254.jpg

DSCF2255.jpg

However, it seems to be working here. Or is it just my eyes? Selecting Interlace ON/OFF makes no visible difference.

DSCF2259.jpg

DSCF2260.jpg

DSCF2261.jpg

DSCF2258.jpg

DSCF2262.jpg

Edited by flashjazzcat, Sat Jun 6, 2009 2:42 AM.


#14 ClausB OFFLINE  

ClausB

    Stargunner

  • 1,491 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted Sat Jun 6, 2009 7:01 AM

Yes, I finally found it. It's the LG M227WD.

Has anyone found a North American version of this monitor yet? I searched for an hour and the best I could find had component and composite but no s-video. Anyone?


look here

http://www.lge.com/u...itors/index.jsp

First one I looked at had s-video. Look at the pdf spec sheets to see all the inputs. They don't list everything on the web page specs.


THis one looks good

http://www.lge.com/u...237wdpmSpec.PDF

As i have multiple retro consoles I think its time to replace my 19inch dell monitor...

Thanks!

#15 JonnyBritish OFFLINE  

JonnyBritish

    Moonsweeper

  • 425 posts
  • Location:Montgomery, IL

Posted Sun Jun 7, 2009 10:01 PM

Yes, I finally found it. It's the LG M227WD.

Has anyone found a North American version of this monitor yet? I searched for an hour and the best I could find had component and composite but no s-video. Anyone?


look here

http://www.lge.com/u...itors/index.jsp

First one I looked at had s-video. Look at the pdf spec sheets to see all the inputs. They don't list everything on the web page specs.


THis one looks good

http://www.lge.com/u...237wdpmSpec.PDF

As i have multiple retro consoles I think its time to replace my 19inch dell monitor...

Thanks!


Found this link which indeed shows the number of inputs this LCD supports

http://www.newegg.co...s...rs - Retail

#16 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,558 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Tue Aug 4, 2009 1:46 AM

I'm wondering if the vertical banding problem would still be there when using a Scart input. Anyone any experience of this?

#17 Jetboot Jack OFFLINE  

Jetboot Jack

    Stargunner

  • 1,788 posts
  • Making Games
  • Location:Disconnected

Posted Tue Aug 4, 2009 4:26 AM

I doubt it - it's just a different signal path to the same electronics...

sTeVE

#18 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,558 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Sat Aug 8, 2009 10:36 AM

Well, my 130XE arrived today and the picture is PERFECT through the LG TV with a standard s-video cable. I think it's the SuperVideo mod on the other machine which has caused the vertical banding. The unmodded machine gives a brilliant picture with no vertical interference.

I'd reverse the Super-Video mod on the main machine if it weren't for the fact that VBXE is going in there anyway.

#19 candle OFFLINE  

candle

    River Patroller

  • 2,793 posts
  • Location:Lublin, Poland

Posted Sat Aug 8, 2009 1:30 PM

fjc: so you have blurry picture that mask the effect ;) same thing if you add few pf cap to the lumination output on modded board - not the way to go

in the meanwhile, i've bought few of these:

http://cgi.ebay.pl/w...em=170364030676

hopefully it will be mine ultimate solution for atari and amiga computers

need to get rid of that 1084 ;)

#20 LoTonah OFFLINE  

LoTonah

    Dragonstomper

  • 520 posts
  • Location:Penticton, BC Canada

Posted Sun Aug 9, 2009 2:21 AM

fjc: so you have blurry picture that mask the effect ;) same thing if you add few pf cap to the lumination output on modded board - not the way to go

in the meanwhile, i've bought few of these:

http://cgi.ebay.pl/w...em=170364030676

hopefully it will be mine ultimate solution for atari and amiga computers

need to get rid of that 1084 ;)


I took a look at that... maybe I'm missing something. I have the following systems that I'd like to hook up to an LCD:
- Atari 800XL
- Atari 1040STe
- C128D
- Amiga 2000HD

So the Amiga is easy: RGB input. Where would I get the other cables I would need?

#21 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,558 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Sun Aug 9, 2009 3:11 AM

fjc: so you have blurry picture that mask the effect ;) same thing if you add few pf cap to the lumination output on modded board - not the way to go

Actually, on comparing the output of the two Ataris, the Supervideo modded machine's sharpness and colour isn't noticeably better than that of the stock machine. I'll take some comparison photos later today and post them.

in the meanwhile, i've bought few of these:

http://cgi.ebay.pl/w...em=170364030676

hopefully it will be mine ultimate solution for atari and amiga computers

need to get rid of that 1084 ;)

Looks interesting. This was the direction I was heading in a while ago until I got the LG TV. It has component, s-video, scart, HDMI, DVI and VGA inputs. The picture from the stock machine is nice, as you'll see later.

#22 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,558 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Sun Aug 9, 2009 4:35 AM

A couple of photos of the stock 130XE. Slightly "grainy" with the ebay cable, but overall it's very acceptable:

LCD2.jpg

LCD1.jpg

Compare this with the best I managed to achieve with the Supervideo machine:

svideo2.jpg

svideo1.jpg

Edited by flashjazzcat, Sun Aug 9, 2009 4:38 AM.


#23 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,558 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Sat Sep 19, 2009 10:22 AM

I'm wondering if anyone else bought one of these TVs, especially in the US (where I understand there was no exactly equivalent model).

#24 mimo OFFLINE  

mimo

    Preppie!

  • 6,813 posts
  • It's easy living in a bubble

Posted Sun Oct 4, 2009 3:29 PM

Just placed an order for a M197WD, not sure if it will sync down to the ST requirements, but hopefully it will be ok with s-video for my 2600/7800/XL/XE etc etc
and rgb for the vbxe2

#25 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,558 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:23 PM

Finally got around to making a SCART cable for the ST: not 8-bit related, I know, but shows that the M227WD can handle the whole gamut of Atari sources:

Low res:

DSCF2701.JPG

Medium res:

DSCF2704.JPG

So, the LG will handle 8-bit composite and s-video (brilliantly from the XL), RGB from VBXE (with sync tweaks), ST hi-res via VGA, and ST low and med res via SCART. Plus a full 1080p PC desktop and a freeview tuner to boot. Hard to beat.

...oh, and it also handles 400 line 8-bit interlacing modes correctly. Nearly forgot that.

Edited by flashjazzcat, Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:26 PM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users