IGNORED

What to do with a 600XL?

Asaki

Don't know for how long I'll have it, but I'm currently borrowing a 600XL, and I'm just wondering what kind of fun stuff I can do with it. I'm new to 8-bits, so you'll have to forgive me here.

I already found an "upgrade to 64k" mod, I'm assuming there are probably all sorts of storage device alternatives for it, but I'm still looking for them...plus the fact that I wouldn't know what games to check out anyway.

For now it looks like I'm stuck with BASIC and Centipede ¬_¬

Don't know for how long I'll have it, but I'm currently borrowing a 600XL, and I'm just wondering what kind of fun stuff I can do with it. I'm new to 8-bits, so you'll have to forgive me here.

I already found an "upgrade to 64k" mod, I'm assuming there are probably all sorts of storage device alternatives for it, but I'm still looking for them...

On ebay.co.uk SIO2SD devices are quite regularly offered, and these are great storage/PC data transfer devices. atarimania.com is a great place to look for games, as there are many games already rated by several other users.

Other than that, if you have an NTSC 600XL (without the monitor jack), you might consider to add composite or even s-video to it.

Or you could turn a 600XL into something like this:

Thorsten

Hmm, those SIO things are a bit more expensive than I thought they would be =/

You can build your own SIO2PC for less than $10.00 especially as you can get the MAX233 chip free as a sample from MAXIM, all you need is the chip, a resistor, a capacitor, and a serial connector

Edited by orpheuswaking

If you're just borrowing it, then of course you don't want to put any money into it.

You should just get a couple cartridges, say "Star Raiders" and "Donkey Kong" and an Atari joystick, and play with it. If you like it, then when you give it back, get yourself an 800XL, or any other Atari computer with 64K. If you don't like it (can't imagine you would not), no big expense.