Jump to content

Photo

Atari 2600 Video-Out modification


108 replies to this topic

#1 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Rarity 11

  • 27,732 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Thu Oct 3, 2002 1:06 PM

Hey guys,

who would be interested in mod-kits for the 2600 video-out modification ? Simply respond with 'Me' ! If you are not interested - don't post. It will make it easier for me to figure out if it would be worth the trouble.

Thanks
-R

#2 atarian1 OFFLINE  

atarian1

    Moonsweeper

  • 464 posts
  • Location:Northern California

Posted Thu Oct 3, 2002 8:46 PM

Me. Especially if it can fit into a Junior case.

#3 Viso OFFLINE  

Viso

    Chopper Commander

  • 121 posts
  • Location:Central Florida

Posted Fri Oct 4, 2002 2:55 AM

I made an S-video output board for my 7800 only to find that my soldering skills woefully lacking when I attempted to make connections to the 7800's PCB. How are you planning on making the connections? I'd like to learn about a better way.

As for interest in the kit, the only Atari system I have is an Atari 7800.

#4 Paul Slocum OFFLINE  

Paul Slocum

    Stargunner

  • 1,620 posts
  • Location:Dallas, TX

Posted Fri Oct 4, 2002 8:56 AM

I'd be interested.

-Paul

#5 CrazyImpmon OFFLINE  

CrazyImpmon

    Moonsweeper

  • 254 posts

Posted Fri Oct 4, 2002 12:42 PM

It's really simple to mod either 2600 or 7800 with a few pieces of wires, some resistors, a couple pots for fine adjustment. And for even better video quality and you're sure you never want to use RF modulator again, snip the connection from the mainboard to RF box.

#6 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Rarity 11

  • Topic Starter
  • 27,732 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Fri Oct 4, 2002 12:44 PM

Hey guys (and girls),

I am planning on making PCB's for the 5200 and 7800 as well, the 2600 PCB is done and I have 10 at hand, I finished the design for the 7800 last night and the 5200 is next.

As for making connections to the motherboard, there is no easy way to make a kit that just clips on, they will have to be soldered and some drilling will have to be done (if you care about a tidy look).

I suppose I could offer this service for a small group of people but not without charging for it because it takes time and I don't have too much of it. One thing I can assure you is that it won't be a situation where you send me your MB and you'll wait for months to get it back.

#7 jsoper OFFLINE  

jsoper

    Stargunner

  • 1,526 posts
  • Location:San Jose Ca

Posted Fri Oct 4, 2002 2:53 PM

Hope this isn't like the 2600 AV add-on board that was on display for the 2001 CGE then just kind of disappeared.

#8 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Rarity 11

  • Topic Starter
  • 27,732 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Fri Oct 4, 2002 3:20 PM

I haven't seen that, neither have I heard of it. This is what it looks like, small and simple.



The 5200 and 7800 versions will be more complicated and they will contain more components.

#9 CrazyImpmon OFFLINE  

CrazyImpmon

    Moonsweeper

  • 254 posts

Posted Fri Oct 4, 2002 6:01 PM

That board sure looks very neat and should be simple for electronic clueless. Maybe I should hold off my 7800 AV mod for a little while for your PCB.

#10 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash

  • 18,588 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Sat Oct 5, 2002 3:28 AM

Any idea if those will work with PAL systems too :?: :?: :?:

If the answer is yes, I'm very interested.

#11 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Rarity 11

  • Topic Starter
  • 27,732 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Sat Oct 5, 2002 12:09 PM

Thomas:

Hmm, vielleicht schicke Ich Dir mal einfach ein Kit und Du kannst das fuer mich testen ?

-R

#12 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash

  • 18,588 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Sun Oct 6, 2002 1:56 AM

Hmm, vielleicht schicke Ich Dir mal einfach ein Kit und Du kannst das fuer mich testen ?

Klingt gut. :)

Nur löten etc. kann ich nicht. Falls man sowas dafür braucht, dann würde ich jemand anderes vorschlagen (z.B. Eckhard Stolberg).

#13 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Rarity 11

  • Topic Starter
  • 27,732 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Sun Oct 6, 2002 2:55 AM

Cool, maybe if Eckhard doesn't mind ripping a 2600 apart, we can find out if this thing works on a PAL unit or not.

Hey Thomas,

wie weit ist Nordhorn von Hamburg ?

#14 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash

  • 18,588 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Sun Oct 6, 2002 3:46 AM

Cool, maybe if Eckhard doesn't mind ripping a 2600 apart, we can find out if this thing works on a PAL unit or not.

And maybe he can tell you before.


Hey Thomas,

wie weit ist Nordhorn von Hamburg ?

Gut 200km (direkt an der niederländischen Grenze), wieso?

Aber ich wohne hier nur vorübergehend. Spätestens zum Januar ziehe ich wieder um (neuer Job). Wohin weiß ich aber noch nicht, ich suche noch.

#15 Eckhard Stolberg OFFLINE  

Eckhard Stolberg

    Dragonstomper

  • 942 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Oct 6, 2002 5:56 AM

What kind of VCS are we talking about here, the old one or the Jr? Anyway, I think the board design of the VCS board and the pinout of the PAL TIA are a bit different from the NTSC version. IIRC there was someone in this forum who has successfully done a video mod for the PAL Jr. Maybe we should ask him for details first.


Ciao, Eckhard Stolberg

#16 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Rarity 11

  • Topic Starter
  • 27,732 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Sun Oct 6, 2002 11:30 AM

Thomas:

Habe mich nur gewundert wie weit das ist weil Ich aus Hamburg bin.

Eckhard:

Ideally I would like to come up with instructions for all the variations of systems. Do you remember who it was that did the mod on a PAL unit ?

#17 Eckhard Stolberg OFFLINE  

Eckhard Stolberg

    Dragonstomper

  • 942 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Oct 7, 2002 6:24 AM

Have a look at this discussion. It seems that the pinout of the PAL and NTSC TIA might still be the same. There seem to be better ways to connect the composite circuit though.

Oh, und wie kommt man bloß auf die Idee Hamburg gegen Kalifornien tauschen zu wollen? Das ausgezeichnete Wetter hier kann ja wohl kaum das Problem gewesen sein, oder? ;)


Ciao, Eckhard Stolberg

#18 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash

  • 18,588 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Mon Oct 7, 2002 6:35 AM

Oh, und wie kommt man bloß auf die Idee Hamburg gegen Kalifornien tauschen zu wollen? Das ausgezeichnete Wetter hier kann ja wohl kaum das Problem gewesen sein, oder?  ;)

Kann ich mir auch nicht vorstellen. Viel zu langweilig das Wetter in Kalifornien. Da regnet's ja angeblich (Albert Hammond!) niemals. Wo bleibt denn da die Überaschung? :)

BTW: Die Eskimos haben angeblich über 100 Begriffe für Schnee. Wieviel Begriffe für Regen gibt's denn eigentlich in Hamburg? ;)

#19 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Rarity 11

  • Topic Starter
  • 27,732 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Mon Oct 7, 2002 11:37 AM

There is too many words for rain in Hamburg, that's why I split. :D

Little did I know that Chicago wasn't all that much better, that's where I lived for 7 years before I moved to Cali.

I think I might just buy a PAL unit from eHell and mess with it. I have a multi-norm TV at work so I could try it there.

#20 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash

  • 18,588 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Mon Oct 7, 2002 1:19 PM

Little did I know that Chicago wasn't all that much better...

IIRC that's also called "Windy Town", right? :)

I think I might just buy a PAL unit from eHell and mess with it. I have a multi-norm TV at work so I could try it there.

That might be the easiest solution, though I don't know if there are any differences between the various PAL versions. Are the NTSC version all the same?

#21 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Rarity 11

  • Topic Starter
  • 27,732 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Mon Oct 7, 2002 1:31 PM

Yep, Windy City, the only place where I have seen someone's coffee freeze right in front of me.

I bet they are all different just like the NTSC ones, I am only really concerned with the 4 switch, 6 switch and the Jr. !

#22 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Rarity 11

  • Topic Starter
  • 27,732 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Sat Oct 12, 2002 10:02 PM

Oh well, I guess there isn't much interest so I won't make a real production run.

The people that did show interest can contact me via PM and we'll work something out.

#23 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash

  • 18,588 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Sun Oct 13, 2002 1:54 AM

Oh well, I guess there isn't much interest so I won't make a real production run.

Did you annonce this at the 2600 forum too?

#24 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Rarity 11

  • Topic Starter
  • 27,732 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Sun Oct 13, 2002 10:59 AM

Yeah I did but people probably overlooked it or think it's not worth it because the 2600 mod is really not that hard if you have decent experience with a soldering iron.

#25 herr professor OFFLINE  

herr professor

    Chopper Commander

  • 146 posts
  • Location:Jersey City, Nj

Posted Sun Oct 13, 2002 10:35 PM

Sorry to hear that we couldn't get you enough interest for a prod. run.

I'd love to get any ones you make yourself, they seem very cool!




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users