IGNORED

Side deal...

CPUWIZ

I'm new to ebay but WTF !!!!!!!!!!!! I had the high bid and they can just cancel a auction anytime they want?????? There is no rules against this??? and I can't even leave a bad rating ????

granted I'm sure I would have been outbid because I wouldn't have gone much higher but the whole point of the thing bugs me.

I'm new to ebay but WTF !!!!!!!!!!!! I had the high bid and they can just cancel a auction anytime they want?????? There is no rules against this??? and I can't even leave a bad rating ????

granted I'm sure I would have been outbid because I wouldn't have gone much higher but the whole point of the thing bugs me.

There are rules against it. Unfortunately, unscrupulous ebayers out there will pull this from time to time. Quite possibly the same types of people who piss and moan about ebay's fees and profess to not understand why they keep increasing.

You have a few choices when ending an auction. I haven't done that in a while but I remember one of them being, "Item is no longer available" or something like that. Well, if a side deal was made, that's certainly true! ;) I suppose if eBay was truly nefarious they could look through your PayPal history (if you made a side deal and the buyer paid using it) and see if you're selling items you had listed on eBay "on the side". However, I can't imagine they could seriously do anything about it. eBay got your listing fees when you started the auction and they got money from you via PayPal. I've never heard them take action on someone because they had a history of ending auctions early. Surely this is part of the reason they have listing fees (as opposed to just fees when an item actually sells).

..Al

This happened to me once when I finally came across the legendary Master System 'blue Rambo' complete. eBay just told me that a seller is essentially free to do what they want provided the auction hasn't ended yet.