IGNORED

Vectrex: Creating your own overlays? Flash vs multi-cart?

tremoloman2006

Hello everyone!

I'm new to the Vectrex. After wanting one since it first came out in 1982 I finally scored one. As many of you know finding oerlays in good condition is always a bitch. I searched around youtube and found this awesome video that demonstrates how to create your own custom overlays that look just like the originals. I'd follow the instructions but I don't any language other than English.

See for yourself:

Is there an english version a similar video out there?

Is there anyone here capable of reproducing overlays?

I'd love to get all the overlays at an affordable price if possible.

Also... Vecflash vs. 72-in-1: Which is the better deal?

Both seem like awesome carts. I like the idea of having a cart that never needs to be worked on. Then again, the reset button and ability to add ROMs at will really appeals to me. I'd like to support both programmers to help further development in the Vecrex but right now my financial situation keeps me from doing so. I'm going to throw some stuff up in the marketplace to pay for one of these two carts. Your thoughts on both of these would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks for all the help... I'm in love with this crazy thing! icon_smile.gif

Edited by tremoloman2006

I've gone back and forth with the overlay thing myself.

I printed one of my own, and it was OK. I tried the "liquid paper" on the back for the white backmasking, but I can't do straight lines so that isn't too great.

I have an old printer that actually prints white (ALPS MD1000) and I was always planning on trying to set up a stencil to try it, but I haven't gotten around to it.

I'm not even sure I can still get ink (well, it's a tape actually) for it, so I might have waited too long for that option.

As for the cart, I have an SK multicart, and I think it's great.