Jump to content

Photo

Closed

2600 NES Genesis N64 ColecoVision SNES 5200

186 replies to this topic

#101 jetset OFFLINE  

jetset

    Quadrunner

  • 11,286 posts
  • Location:5200 Island

Posted Fri Feb 17, 2012 7:02 AM

When are you going to do 7800 composite/av mods?

#102 ApolloBoy OFFLINE  

ApolloBoy

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,336 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted Fri Feb 17, 2012 12:41 PM

When are you going to do 7800 composite/av mods?

I can't seem to find a good mod for the 7800 that offers good results. I have the Longhorn board in my 7800, but I had to a few extra mods to keep interference out of the 7800's chroma signal and boost the external audio volume so it wasn't so quiet. I also tried the simple composite mod but for some reason it caused Ballblazer to crash.

#103 ApolloBoy OFFLINE  

ApolloBoy

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,336 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted Sat Feb 18, 2012 8:57 PM

Here's a C64 I did for a customer on Famicom World! The JiffyDOS installation you see on the screen was performed by a previous modder.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

#104 ApolloBoy OFFLINE  

ApolloBoy

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,336 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted Mon Feb 20, 2012 2:39 PM

Bump!

#105 ApolloBoy OFFLINE  

ApolloBoy

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,336 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted Tue Mar 6, 2012 12:39 AM

Bump.

#106 ApolloBoy OFFLINE  

ApolloBoy

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,336 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted Thu Mar 8, 2012 3:04 PM

Another bump. I also wanted to add that I can now perform Odyssey 2 AV mods and cooling fixes for the Astrocade. I'd add them to the list but the damn post editor won't let me...

#107 CastleofIllusion OFFLINE  

CastleofIllusion

    Star Raider

  • 70 posts
  • #include <boredom>
  • Location:Poughkeepsie, NY

Posted Thu Mar 8, 2012 6:49 PM

Would you be able to fix my 2600 light six-er? Its got something wrong where the power cable inserts.

#108 ApolloBoy OFFLINE  

ApolloBoy

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,336 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted Thu Mar 8, 2012 7:47 PM

Sounds like the solder joints on the power jack need reflowing, it's a very common problem with six-switch systems and it's definitely something I can fix.

#109 CastleofIllusion OFFLINE  

CastleofIllusion

    Star Raider

  • 70 posts
  • #include <boredom>
  • Location:Poughkeepsie, NY

Posted Thu Mar 8, 2012 8:05 PM

How much would that run?

#110 ApolloBoy OFFLINE  

ApolloBoy

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,336 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted Thu Mar 8, 2012 11:26 PM

Just $5, not including return shipping.

Edited by ApolloBoy, Thu Mar 8, 2012 11:26 PM.


#111 godsey1 OFFLINE  

godsey1

    Dragonstomper

  • 653 posts
  • Location:TENNESSEE

Posted Sun Mar 11, 2012 11:27 AM

PM sent to ya. thanks,

Tony

#112 starpath gamer OFFLINE  

starpath gamer

    Combat Commando

  • 1 posts
  • Location:Illinois

Posted Tue Mar 27, 2012 6:08 PM

Do you still do the Odyssey 2 AV mod? When I googled around to see what others have done in modding the AV of their O2, many mention that the picture ended up being darker than they liked, especially on newer TVs. Have you encountered this? Just wondering if you have had success and if you are still doing the mod for people. Thanks.

#113 ApolloBoy OFFLINE  

ApolloBoy

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,336 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted Wed Apr 4, 2012 3:00 PM

Do you still do the Odyssey 2 AV mod? When I googled around to see what others have done in modding the AV of their O2, many mention that the picture ended up being darker than they liked, especially on newer TVs. Have you encountered this? Just wondering if you have had success and if you are still doing the mod for people. Thanks.

I haven't actually performed the mod myself, but I still offer it regardless as it's a very simple mod. The method I use is supposed to work pretty well and is a little different than most of the mods I've seen.

#114 ApolloBoy OFFLINE  

ApolloBoy

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,336 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted Fri Apr 6, 2012 1:10 PM

Here's a Neo Geo AES I finished recently for a customer on Famicom World. This one has S-video, stereo audio, power LED and a Unibios install:

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

#115 Austin OFFLINE  

Austin

    Quadrunner

  • 8,892 posts
  • Location:Fairfax, VA

Posted Wed Jul 25, 2012 3:21 AM

I don't know if you are still around and doing these mods, but if so, I might need a full cap replacement on my Turbo DUO..

#116 AtariorDie OFFLINE  

AtariorDie

    Star Raider

  • 95 posts

Posted Wed Jul 25, 2012 3:05 PM

I have JVC X'Eye that doesn't read discs, how much? :)

#117 ApolloBoy OFFLINE  

ApolloBoy

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,336 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted Thu Jul 26, 2012 6:31 PM

I don't know if you are still around and doing these mods, but if so, I might need a full cap replacement on my Turbo DUO..

I certainly am! I can still do a recap on your Duo, although I'm thinking of discontinuing work on the Duos because I've had problems with the past couple I've worked on. PM me if you're interested.

I have JVC X'Eye that doesn't read discs, how much? :)

Does it attempt to read the disc at all or does it think that the disc door is open? If it's the latter, that's definitely something I can look at. Otherwise I'm not too good with adjusting disc drives and I don't have the proper equipment for it yet.

Edited by ApolloBoy, Thu Jul 26, 2012 6:32 PM.


#118 Austin OFFLINE  

Austin

    Quadrunner

  • 8,892 posts
  • Location:Fairfax, VA

Posted Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:28 PM

I certainly am! I can still do a recap on your Duo, although I'm thinking of discontinuing work on the Duos because I've had problems with the past couple I've worked on. PM me if you're interested.


Nice, I will keep you posted if I need it. I contacted the owner of the shop I bought it from and he let me drop it off today for repair (hopefully free of charge since I shelled out some good money for it already). I'll let you know what happens. :)

Just out of curiosity, what went wrong with the last few DUOs you attempted to repair?

#119 ApolloBoy OFFLINE  

ApolloBoy

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,336 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:36 PM

Well, I've got one with a disc drive that needs a calibration in the worst way and had the PCM chip replaced as the PCM sound didn't work at all. The other one I have still has major problems with the CD audio even though it's been totally recapped.

#120 Austin OFFLINE  

Austin

    Quadrunner

  • 8,892 posts
  • Location:Fairfax, VA

Posted Fri Jul 27, 2012 1:19 AM

Well, I've got one with a disc drive that needs a calibration in the worst way and had the PCM chip replaced as the PCM sound didn't work at all. The other one I have still has major problems with the CD audio even though it's been totally recapped.


Oh man, that sucks.. I thought a total recap was supposed to fix it? Any other issue that could be causing the problem?

#121 ApolloBoy OFFLINE  

ApolloBoy

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,336 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted Fri Jul 27, 2012 1:50 AM


Well, I've got one with a disc drive that needs a calibration in the worst way and had the PCM chip replaced as the PCM sound didn't work at all. The other one I have still has major problems with the CD audio even though it's been totally recapped.


Oh man, that sucks.. I thought a total recap was supposed to fix it? Any other issue that could be causing the problem?

My guess is that there's a bad trace or two somewhere. Sometimes when the caps leak they can cause damage to the motherboard that's difficult to detect.

#122 nj7 OFFLINE  

nj7

    Combat Commando

  • 1 posts

Posted Fri Nov 2, 2012 4:55 PM

Apolloboy, was wondering if you could do a possible nes audio fix on a Retro Duo 3.0 Mascot Edition sometime, $5 is great, just need to know more information, just PM me or reply to a message I sent to you through you ebay account, also installed AIM hoping you'd be on but I never see you there....

#123 AtariBrian ONLINE  

AtariBrian

    Stargunner

  • 1,892 posts
  • Location:Toledo, Ohio

Posted Fri Nov 2, 2012 10:18 PM

Have you ever done composite mods for the 2600,5200 and 7800?

Edited by AtariBrian, Fri Nov 2, 2012 10:19 PM.


#124 ApolloBoy OFFLINE  

ApolloBoy

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,336 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted Mon Nov 19, 2012 5:42 PM

Apolloboy, was wondering if you could do a possible nes audio fix on a Retro Duo 3.0 Mascot Edition sometime, $5 is great, just need to know more information, just PM me or reply to a message I sent to you through you ebay account, also installed AIM hoping you'd be on but I never see you there....

Oh, sorry I didn't catch your eBay message, I can totally do that audio fix for you and I'll send you a PM in just a second.

#125 ApolloBoy OFFLINE  

ApolloBoy

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,336 posts
  • Location:San Jose, CA

Posted Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:19 PM

Updated! Due to school and work, I'll be indefinitely limiting my services only to systems I'm intimately familiar with like the NES top loader and SNES mini.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: 2600, NES, Genesis, N64, ColecoVision, SNES, 5200

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users