Jump to content

Photo

Prince of Persia


581 replies to this topic

#1 José Pereira ONLINE  

José Pereira

    River Patroller

  • 3,980 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:38 AM

Hello.

As I said yesterday, no C64 or A8 versions of this one.

This is a traditional Jordan Mechner game... Just see the players movement on this and on Karateka.


About C64 and with it 16 colour map it could be a simple one to do. Also the Sprites to the Man/Enemy.

On A8 the things are a little bit more harder.
On a first view, it have to be in Antic4 5colour mode. If you see, most of the versions use 4/5 blue/white colours for the ground/walls. Untill here O.K. But how will you get yellow/Red colours for the Torches. The windows can be done with PMs. underlays, because they are on top of the screen and it is possible that Players don't reac there, but another ones are the Columms that support some ground floors.
The Players must/have to be PMs...




This is by now the first major problems I see on an A8 version. Another problem, not probably and if some of the coderrs here wants to explain is how the Players passes in front and behind some walls/collumms, because they use the same 2/3 colours. And this because you are using all PMs. for Players.



But it is not all bad things for A8. One thing that I am 100% sure is that C64 can not reproduce faithfully the Blue/white and yellow colours and we can.



I've been seeing all the Level stages of it on YouTube - CPC version. I think it can be a good example/hard work to port/convert this one to A8/C64.


If someone interested in discuss here how it would turn on A8, solve this and/or other problems it would be great.
This is one of the games I always llike to see on my small/GREAT Arari 800XL.
I also have the complete game Maps from Prince1 & 2, but I don't rremember where and from what computer.

Feel free to sen your suggestions/comments/ideas...

Greetintings,
José Pereira.

#2 GroovyBee OFFLINE  

GroovyBee

    Games Developer

  • 9,706 posts
  • Busy bee!
  • Location:North, England

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 9:43 AM

Theres a 2600 version in development :-

http://www.atariage....post__p__798763

#3 Philsan ONLINE  

Philsan

    River Patroller

  • 3,260 posts
  • New Orleans Saints Super Bowl XLIV Champions
  • Location:Switzerland

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:10 AM

Theres a 2600 version in development :-
http://www.atariage....post__p__798763

Very nice!
OT question:
is there an Sdrive or SIO2SD device for VCS?

#4 GroovyBee OFFLINE  

GroovyBee

    Games Developer

  • 9,706 posts
  • Busy bee!
  • Location:North, England

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:19 AM

OT question:
is there an Sdrive or SIO2SD device for VCS?

The VCS doesn't have a SIO interface. If you want to develop for it you are better off ordering a Harmony Cart. See :-

http://www.atariage....the-atari-2600/

Basically its a cart with USB and SD interfaces that allows you to develop games with up to 32K of bank switching.

#5 Philsan ONLINE  

Philsan

    River Patroller

  • 3,260 posts
  • New Orleans Saints Super Bowl XLIV Champions
  • Location:Switzerland

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:33 AM

OT question:
is there an Sdrive or SIO2SD device for VCS?

The VCS doesn't have a SIO interface. If you want to develop for it you are better off ordering a Harmony Cart. See :-

http://www.atariage....the-atari-2600/

Basically its a cart with USB and SD interfaces that allows you to develop games with up to 32K of bank switching.


Thank you very much!
I have missed this thread.
I will definitely buy this cart.
(I know VCS doesn't have a SIO interface, I have written SIO2SD meaning a device for SD cards) Posted Image

#6 José Pereira ONLINE  

José Pereira

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,980 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:46 AM

Probably with this we can talk better:

Here's the Maps, I don't know from wich version (It was some years ago), it's a 16bit one:

Plans du jeu Prince of Persia - Prince of persia\'s maps.gif

Plans du jeu Prince of Persia - Prince of persia\'s maps (2).gif
Plans du jeu Prince of Persia - Prince of persia\'s maps(3).gif
Plans du jeu Prince of Persia - Prince of persia\'s maps(4).gif
Plans du jeu Prince of Persia - Prince of persia\'s maps(5).gif
Plans du jeu Prince of Persia - Prince of persia\'s maps(6).gif
Plans du jeu Prince of Persia - Prince of persia\'s maps(7).gif
Plans du jeu Prince of Persia - Prince of persia\'s maps(8).gif
Plans du jeu Prince of Persia - Prince of persia\'s maps(9).gif
Plans du jeu Prince of Persia - Prince of persia\'s maps(10).gif
Plans du jeu Prince of Persia - Prince of persia\'s maps(11).gif
Plans du jeu Prince of Persia - Prince of persia\'s maps(12).gif
Plans du jeu Prince of Persia - Prince of persia\'s maps(13).gif
Plans du jeu Prince of Persia - Prince of persia\'s maps(14).gif



And also, the YouTube videos from the CPC version (Complete game - 1 to 5):
Attached File  results.html   91.97KB   454 downloads


José Pereira

#7 Heaven/TQA ONLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • 9,997 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:49 AM

xxl should take the bbc or apple2 version... ;)

#8 miker OFFLINE  

miker

    Stargunner

  • 1,764 posts
  • Stay Atari!
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 10:54 AM

Don't look at Xxl now. His game-queue is long enough already...

#9 José Pereira ONLINE  

José Pereira

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,980 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 11:04 AM

xxl should take the bbc or apple2 version... ;)



What a shame for me. And I think I know all computer games versions from the80s.!...

BBC version? I'm looking know for it.
But without great expectations... I always remember their totally unremarkable/awnfull/unplayable Last Ninja I/II conversion...

José Pereira.

#10 José Pereira ONLINE  

José Pereira

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,980 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 11:18 AM

xxl should take the bbc or apple2 version... ;)


I went in many of the BBC/Electron Sites and none have Prince. One of them also have the complete games download files. As I said I never heard about a "Beeb" version.

Where do you get that?
If this exists, some screenshots, please?

Thanks,
José Pereira.


(P.S. Benfica scores 1 goal to Everton right now for Europa League. I'm not Benfica, I'm Sporting, but I'm always for Portuguese teams on foreigner games).

#11 tebe OFFLINE  

tebe

    Dragonstomper

  • 613 posts
  • Location:Poznań - Poland

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 11:41 AM

pop level maps - cpc, st, zx

Attached Files



#12 Tezz OFFLINE  

Tezz

    River Patroller

  • 2,260 posts
  • Location:Manchester, England

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:03 PM

I recall I mentioned recently here on AA that the AppleII PoP would be a good one to port. I didn't know that there was a BBC version too.
PS. José: Benfica should easily take Everton :)

#13 José Pereira ONLINE  

José Pereira

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,980 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:19 PM

Tezz, 4-0 to Benfica. And more than 30minutes to play.

José Pereira.

#14 José Pereira ONLINE  

José Pereira

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,980 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:39 PM

Apple2 version: Not a good one graphically as I suspect. 4 colour mode+torches/skin colour.

Probably using White as PF and more PMs to screen colours enhancements. In some levels its possible to put some DLIs.

Some shots:
1197316255-00.jpg 1197316255-01.jpg 1197316256-00.jpg 1197316256-01.jpg 1197316256-02.jpg
1197316257-00.jpg 1197316257-01.jpg


And YouTube video:
Attached File  prince_apple2.html   140.51KB   725 downloads

I have to go. Bye now.
José Pereira

#15 José Pereira ONLINE  

José Pereira

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,980 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 12:43 PM

BENFICA 5 - Everton 0.
84minutes.

#16 Heaven/TQA ONLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • 9,997 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 2:02 PM

not sure regarding bbc either... could be wrong memory... ;)

#17 PeteD OFFLINE  

PeteD

    Stargunner

  • 1,747 posts
  • Location:Wales

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 2:09 PM

Apple II, MS-DOS, Amstrad CPC, GB, GBC, NES, Commodore Amiga, Atari ST, ZX Spectrum, Mac OS, SNES, Mega-CD, Mega Drive, Nintendo GameCube (as a feature in Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time), XBLA, PSN


According to wikipedia anyway... I certainly don't remember a beeb version.


Pete

#18 TMR OFFLINE  

TMR

    River Patroller

  • 3,293 posts
  • Beeping the horn on the data bus
  • Location:Leeds, U.K.

Posted Thu Oct 22, 2009 2:10 PM

not sure regarding bbc either... could be wrong memory... ;)


i wasn't aware of one and Stairway to Hell isn't listing it; that's not totally definitive but as close as any Beeb site gets. There's a (relatively) recent Spectrum version, though...

Edited by TMR, Thu Oct 22, 2009 2:10 PM.


#19 José Pereira ONLINE  

José Pereira

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,980 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:38 AM

I recall I mentioned recently here on AA that the AppleII PoP would be a good one to port. I didn't know that there was a BBC version too.
PS. José: Benfica should easily take Everton :)


Hello all, here I am again.

No, the Apple2 isn't a good port. We don't need that lot of dithering.

I tried this picture today. It can be a good 1st try concept:
PrinceOfPersia-Level09_recorte.png


I done it using G2F. I used priority 8 and PM0 to our man and PM1 to enemy's clothe.
PF0/1 for the walls in front of Players.
PF2/3 & Backgr. for back walls.
PM2/3 to other screen objects:
-Razors on the Floor.
-Candles- You see two colours on the two candles, but can be only 1PM, one shines first then off and shines the other.
Or, You can use, for example M2&M3 (Yellow/Red) for one and then off and turn the other on. Just on/off the candles.


Other Screen Objects/other Levels - PM2/3 to some walls/Windows and yellowish pillars.

Enemy's Clothe is PM1 and our man's bODY it's PM0 as I said. The other parts of the Body and Weapon can be PF0-Lightest Gray/White (what you see on Enemy's Clothe). I simulate our man on that large cell as PM0 using Priority8 and the only major problem is that you see a little part of it on some lines of front walls, as you can see. But here, I think it's time to some coders here say something.


Just a little play with this one.


Greetings,
José Pereira.

#20 José Pereira ONLINE  

José Pereira

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,980 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Fri Oct 23, 2009 10:43 AM

Just another thing I forgot: You can use some dithering with the other PFs. to enhance walls colour.


(P.S. - I want to say PF0 to enemy body(not clothe, as you can see from the picture))

José Pereira.

#21 Sikor OFFLINE  

Sikor

    Stargunner

  • 1,286 posts
  • Location:Warsaw/Poland

Posted Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:05 AM

Jose, If I remember - You tried write LN II. Any progres of it? Or other project.
Wish list of conversions for Atari is long, belive me.

#22 tebe OFFLINE  

tebe

    Dragonstomper

  • 613 posts
  • Location:Poznań - Poland

Posted Fri Oct 23, 2009 11:06 AM

most difficult thing in POP - fight sequence, AI opponet, graphics above underground level

solution, remove all opponents, create own Atari 8-bit POP version, only jump, walk, collect energy, keys, switch on/off gate etc. create new 8-bit POP with new idea, if you want play original POP play on PC,ST,Amiga etc.

#23 Tezz OFFLINE  

Tezz

    River Patroller

  • 2,260 posts
  • Location:Manchester, England

Posted Fri Oct 23, 2009 12:08 PM

I should really have a look at the Apple II version under emulation, I've only seen the AppleII game very briefly on YouTube clips which graphically it didn't look un-doable however that's only a small part of the task, if the logic is a particularly difficult one as suggested with the AI, that's the big question. I had a look at Jordan Mechner's website last night where he's included his notes from the original Apple II game in a pdf which I've attached. He's open to questions so you might be able to quiz him further about it.

Attached Files


Edited by Tezz, Fri Oct 23, 2009 1:00 PM.


#24 José Pereira ONLINE  

José Pereira

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,980 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Fri Oct 23, 2009 12:46 PM

Jose, If I remember - You tried write LN II. Any progres of it? Or other project.
Wish list of conversions for Atari is long, belive me.


The Last Ninja idea is not lost. I'm still with it (not LN2, 1 first, but also seen 2).
The major problem is to get the priorities between walking of Player and Enemy).
My idea is based on a thing I've put on another Thread some days ago: "Designing a Sotware Sprite". If you can go there and understand what I'm saying about that PF2 thing, and if that work, then, the Players movement is now O.K. And I know wich colours and how many PMs. I can use to screen colour enhancements.
I can start converting some screens, having PM0/1 for Players, and 2static colours(PF0/1) for Players (in all the Game), and I saw and tried and it will work with DLIs./PM2&3/PM0/1 in lines when Players don't get into.
I have been also with problems on the right Status Panel and have not decide: How will I put the Objects on the "Found/Using & Holding" Area because I cannot waste here any PMs., but once more I get 2solutions(one use this side to this with a little trick and the other use this right side to other things).


The screens translated are simple, just time needed (and I am with some problems on my life now...). But, first I have to get 100% the right way to do Players movement, because in my idea I think I'll have to use 1P(M) for our Ninja and other P(M) for Enemy clothe. It's here the big problem, how one sometime has priority and other time don't. I've tried and thinked with all priorities/5th Player and the only thing that can work is like I say on that other Thread. If this idea work than all Players for LN1/2/3/... are O.K. If you want to help, please go there.



Greetings.
José Pereira.

#25 Sikor OFFLINE  

Sikor

    Stargunner

  • 1,286 posts
  • Location:Warsaw/Poland

Posted Fri Oct 23, 2009 1:45 PM

O.K. So, we wait for it.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users