Jump to content

Photo

"Kolony 2106" premiere


36 replies to this topic

#26 spookt OFFLINE  

spookt

    Stargunner

  • 1,815 posts
  • This is SPARTA(DOS)
  • Location:Sunderland, UK

Posted Tue Nov 24, 2009 4:16 PM

I'd like to try this out, but something strange happens when I download it! My Mac (OS10.4.11) wants to append the .txt designation after the .atr and I cannot for the life of me prohibit this from happening! If I simply rename the file and chop off the .txt part - the game will not load. Can someone help me out here? Why does my Mac 'force' an .atr download to be a .txt file?


I does that to me too. Try Ctrl+Click->Save Linked File As... then change the filename to something.atr. Then when it asks if you want to append .txt say no. Seems to work for me.


Thanks for the tip. Simply hitting CTRL while trying to download it doesn't work for me, BUT... if I simply click on the link and load the entire thing into my browser and *then* go to 'save as', it gives me the option to append or not. Thanks, will have to give it a try later now!


Not sure if you need to have right clicks turned on in Preferences. If I hold the control key down and click the download link I get a context menu from which I can select the "Save Linked File As..." option.

#27 UNIXcoffee928 OFFLINE  

UNIXcoffee928

    Stargunner

  • 1,177 posts
  • Location:Sosaria, USA

Posted Tue Nov 24, 2009 5:20 PM

What does RTFM acronym stand for?

"read the fucking manual"


Yea, I know it, but thought is something else :)
...
;)


Yes, it's also, "Read the FINE Manual", but only when speaking to management.


= )

#28 spookt OFFLINE  

spookt

    Stargunner

  • 1,815 posts
  • This is SPARTA(DOS)
  • Location:Sunderland, UK

Posted Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:08 AM

Well I managed to break 1,000,000 for the 1st time today. Now I just need to be 5 times better :roll:

#29 Thorsten GŁnther OFFLINE  

Thorsten GŁnther

    Stargunner

  • 1,159 posts
  • Location:Wedel, Germany

Posted Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:43 AM

What does RTFM acronym stand for?

"read the fucking manual"

Gosh! Americans really need a manual for that?


Thorsten

#30 Velcro_SP OFFLINE  

Velcro_SP

    Chopper Commander

  • 132 posts
  • Location:Universe

Posted Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:10 AM

What does RTFM acronym stand for?

"read the fucking manual"

Gosh! Americans really need a manual for that?


Thorsten


Why do you call out Americans, and why bring nationality into it at all, Thorsten?

#31 urborg OFFLINE  

urborg

    Chopper Commander

  • 155 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:32 AM

Well I managed to break 1,000,000 for the 1st time today. Now I just need to be 5 times better :roll:


You have to collect at least 500,000,000 to win, so 500 times more. I know that it seems to be impossible for beginners, but when you get some practice you can earn even few times more than that.

#32 spookt OFFLINE  

spookt

    Stargunner

  • 1,815 posts
  • This is SPARTA(DOS)
  • Location:Sunderland, UK

Posted Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:33 AM

What ??? 500,000,000 ??? How is it possible ??? Hmm, I guess I need a MUCH bigger colony :)

#33 Jmk OFFLINE  

Jmk

    Combat Commando

  • 8 posts

Posted Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:48 AM

My top score is about 53,000,000 now. That includes having thousands of workers, the maximum number of fields and huge amounts of goods being shipped.

It just seems to take too long to get a good factory setup before you run out of time. :(

#34 spookt OFFLINE  

spookt

    Stargunner

  • 1,815 posts
  • This is SPARTA(DOS)
  • Location:Sunderland, UK

Posted Thu Nov 26, 2009 12:45 PM

My top score is about 53,000,000 now. That includes having thousands of workers, the maximum number of fields and huge amounts of goods being shipped.

It just seems to take too long to get a good factory setup before you run out of time. :(


Yes. To be honest when I started playing I was neglecting the manufacture side of things. I'm going to have another game tonight and go for bigger is better :)

BTW - I'm guessing more landing strips equal more ship visits right?

Edited by spookt, Thu Nov 26, 2009 12:46 PM.


#35 urborg OFFLINE  

urborg

    Chopper Commander

  • 155 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:33 AM

My top score is about 53,000,000 now. That includes having thousands of workers, the maximum number of fields and huge amounts of goods being shipped.

It just seems to take too long to get a good factory setup before you run out of time. :(


Yes. To be honest when I started playing I was neglecting the manufacture side of things. I'm going to have another game tonight and go for bigger is better :)

BTW - I'm guessing more landing strips equal more ship visits right?


More strips means higher possibility that ship will land, and of course bigger ships can visit your colony. When I play, usually at the end of the game, crops from all the fields could't feed all people that I have, so I must buy some part of it. I have to buy materials also, because factories consumes few times more that I am able to extract. I build plenty warehouses and airstripes. Then I buy all resources that is available to buy in order to keep production on full power, without stops due to lack of materials. Plenty of airstripes are also necessary to be able to sell your production.

I recommend you not to try earning money in the begining, but concentrate on developing your colony. Do not sell robots at the begining, unless you are on the debt and you have to. In first year I recommend to buy few more Lynx, Hades, Jaguars, and Generators. Lynx robots allows you to build more and faster, Hades robots allow you to extract more materials, Generators are needed to all activities, Jaguars are necessary to protect your colony. Good advise is to have all the time more people than you currently need. Because when your colony lacks of people it takes sometimes few months to get enough people. Even when ship will cary new poeple, you have to wait one month after hiring them until they pass a quarntine.

Time to earn a money will be at the end of game, when you develop technologies on high levels, because for more advanced robots, ship will pay more.

Edited by urborg, Fri Nov 27, 2009 1:53 AM.


#36 spookt OFFLINE  

spookt

    Stargunner

  • 1,815 posts
  • This is SPARTA(DOS)
  • Location:Sunderland, UK

Posted Fri Nov 27, 2009 4:10 AM

Thanks for the tips! Time for another try :) I'm really enjoying the challenge. Thanks again for a cool game :)

#37 spookt OFFLINE  

spookt

    Stargunner

  • 1,815 posts
  • This is SPARTA(DOS)
  • Location:Sunderland, UK

Posted Thu Dec 3, 2009 4:59 AM

My copy arrived in the UK yesterday. Very cool production. There was a very small amount of damage to the box, nothing to worry about though. I wonder if in future it would be worth shipping the box flat (since it does collapse easily) ?

Excellent professional manual and I love the bonus "photon emitter" :) Thanks guys!




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users