Jump to content

Photo

AspeQt: Yet another SIO2PC/APE clone


869 replies to this topic

#851 HiassofT OFFLINE  

HiassofT

    Dragonstomper

  • 826 posts
  • Location:Salzburg, Austria

Posted Tue Aug 19, 2014 3:24 AM

New error: Cannot not set serial port speed to 19200. Input/Output error.  I get this with ttyS0 and ttyS1.

Could you run the following command:
dmesg | grep ttyS
If this doesn't work try
sudo grep ttyS /var/log/kern.log
You should then see something like this:
[    0.218044] 00:02: ttyS0 at I/O 0x3f8 (irq = 4, base_baud = 115200) is a 16550A
[    0.218836] ttyS4: detected caps 00000700 should be 00000500
[    0.218839] 0000:05:00.0: ttyS4 at I/O 0xd000 (irq = 20, base_baud = 921600) is a 16C950/954
[    0.218965] ttyS5: detected caps 00000700 should be 00000500
[    0.218968] 0000:05:00.0: ttyS5 at I/O 0xd100 (irq = 20, base_baud = 921600) is a 16C950/954
[   21.974463] 0000:05:01.0: ttyS6 at I/O 0xd800 (irq = 19, base_baud = 115200) is a 16550A
[   21.994939] 0000:05:01.0: ttyS7 at I/O 0xd900 (irq = 19, base_baud = 115200) is a 16550A
The "ttySx" are the device nodes under dev, the output above is from my Debian PC with one onboard RS232 interface (/dev/ttyS0) and 2 2-port serial cards - an Oxford 16C950 based card (/dev/ttyS4 and /dev/ttyS5) and an el-cheapo NetMos based card (/dev/ttyS6 and /dev/ttyS7).

Addon cards usually get numbers 4 and up, onboard ports have numbers 0-3.

so long,

Hias

#852 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Your Imperious Leader

  • 22,981 posts
  • Location:The Ethereal Plane of Atrii

Posted Tue Aug 19, 2014 6:54 PM

Ok it's either 4 or 5 but I can't get anything to load.  I mount a disk image and turn the system on but it just goes to Basic.  Holding down Option doesn't seem to do anything either.



#853 atarixle OFFLINE  

atarixle

    Moonsweeper

  • 250 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Aug 23, 2014 9:35 AM

I just tried to compile the AspeQt ... but there is a problem I have ... Where are the sources????

#854 atari8warez OFFLINE  

atari8warez

    River Patroller

  • 2,354 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sat Aug 23, 2014 9:56 PM

Here. Current release is r77, just click on "Download snapshut" and SF will create an archive and let you download it. If you want an earlier release just walk down the release three; click "History" and then select a release from the displayed list, (for example r74), then click "Browse code at this revision". Once you are at the new release level you can click "Download snapshut" to download code.

 

I no longer provide a separate source archive along with the binary, as this would be an unnecessary duplication and sometimes maybe out of sync with the source code maintained by SF.


Edited by atari8warez, Sat Aug 23, 2014 10:11 PM.


#855 starwindz OFFLINE  

starwindz

    Moonsweeper

  • 301 posts
  • Location:South Korea

Posted Mon Sep 15, 2014 3:33 AM

When I run aspeqt.exe via command line as follows, .atr file could not be mounted properly as the attached screenshot.

d:\aspe>"d:\aspeqt.exe" "c1.aspeqt" [enter]

 

c1.aspeqt has some information about disk mounting shown as follows.

...

[MountedImageSettings]
1\FileName=D:/aspe/Crossfire (19xx)(Sierra).atr
1\IsWriteProtected=false
...
 
What is the cause of this problem?

Attached Thumbnails

  • aspe1.PNG


#856 resetreboot OFFLINE  

resetreboot

    Combat Commando

  • 3 posts

Posted Mon Sep 15, 2014 3:33 PM

Hey, atari8warez

 

New user here! I'm enjoying AspeQt so far, but noticed it doesn't have the modem emulation working yet. I tried downloading the APE trial to see if I could get online but the version at the site is 3.0.2 so it won't work, and I can't shell out fifty bucks without any warranties it'll work. Anyway, I saw you've started a bit of work regarding the modem emulation and I'd be willing to help make it happen. I just need some information, documentation, on how SIO cables and Atari modems work so I can start puttings things there.

 

I was looking to try to merge Atari800 R: device emulation code, which makes it simple to connect, using two commands; "ATDL" deactivates linefeeds and "ATDI host port" makes the modem connect to the host to the wanted port. I feel like it makes more sense than making a full AT commands set and faking calls, right?

 

So, I'm here looking and studying your code, I hope I can give something back to this wonderful community!



#857 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    River Patroller

  • 2,425 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Tue Sep 16, 2014 4:39 AM

Hi there Atari8warez,

 

Starwindz who made the gamepack front end and to a large extent myself are keen to add the ability to the Best Atari Gamepack frontend to send from it to a real machine, is there a command line interface other than the one for the Atari side, if not would you best interested in adding a simple command line to just mount disks?

 

People are really liking the gamepack that Starwindz has created and as part of the team I'd also love to be able to use it to send files to the hardware for testing, it would just be nice to do it from inside the GB and other users have asked also if it would be something Starwindz could add.

 

Hoping to hear kind words but whatever the answer let me thank you for Aspeqt, I use it a lot myself when testing stuff via Phaerons wonderful Altirra and real hardware.


Edited by Mclaneinc, Tue Sep 16, 2014 4:40 AM.


#858 JAC! OFFLINE  

JAC!

    Stargunner

  • 1,110 posts
  • Always looking for GFX and MSX for my demos
  • Location:Lebach, Germany

Posted Wed Sep 17, 2014 3:58 AM

Adding to the post above: It would be great if AspecQt could be associated with the ".atr" file file extension (and mount it in D1:). Current I already have it associated, so at least is starts, but since it thinks the ATR is a session file, I have to manually select the ATR again then. I just his very often to extract DOS files via the nice explorer window.



#859 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    Stargunner

  • 1,773 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Mon Sep 22, 2014 5:00 PM

Hello guys

 

Flashjazzcat mentioned three versions of Aspeqt earlier on in this thread.  Unfortunately, I could only get Frederick's "77" version to work (Mavericks 5).  The other two give me the famous "...suddenly stopped" message.

 

When I try to drop an XEX of ATR file, I often have to try that more then ones, before it sticks.  ATR's show up, XEX's don't show up.  But the real problems start when I try to load the file (boot the Atari).  Loading is SLOW and often, it stops before the end of the file is reached.  Just like when a floppy disk goes back.  What's going on here?  (Remember, this is a Mac.  The last time a Mac was sold with a floppy drive was when the Sovjet Union still existed.  I'm using atariwarez' SIO2PC/10502PC)

 

Sincerely

 

Mathy



#860 atari8warez OFFLINE  

atari8warez

    River Patroller

  • 2,354 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sat Sep 27, 2014 12:10 PM

Hey guys I am currently away from home, overseas and having an excellent time without thinking Atari and/or computers. I didn't have an opportunity to log-in to Atariage since Sept 11. I will return home on Sept 30th and will resume my Atari hobby and will respond to your requests. Until then this is what I am doing..... :ahoy:

 

10422923_10152445065688790_3198387857743003997_n.jpg    481250_10152442883513790_2454955653702480023_n.jpg


Edited by atari8warez, Sat Sep 27, 2014 12:33 PM.


#861 JAC! OFFLINE  

JAC!

    Stargunner

  • 1,110 posts
  • Always looking for GFX and MSX for my demos
  • Location:Lebach, Germany

Posted Sat Sep 27, 2014 1:39 PM

Excellent choice. Looks like your rank should be updated from River Patroller to Sea Patroller by then :-)



#862 Stephen ONLINE  

Stephen

    River Patroller

  • 4,776 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:Akron, Ohio

Posted Sat Sep 27, 2014 5:18 PM

Enjoy the time away - looks like a blast!



#863 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 8,543 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Sat Sep 27, 2014 7:55 PM

I'm certainly enjoying it.

#864 atari8warez OFFLINE  

atari8warez

    River Patroller

  • 2,354 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Sep 28, 2014 1:44 AM

Thank you folks, i love sailing the seas and then stop over on little cows, anchor and drink ourselves into oblivion for the rest of the day, then repeat this the next day...and of course meeting my old school friend (who now lives in Aussieland) with whom I designed and implemented our school's first computerized transcription system, and founded the country's first computer club  almost half a century ago is the icing on the cake. I can certainly get used to this  :)

Attached Thumbnails

  • 20140919_185607.jpg

Edited by atari8warez, Sun Sep 28, 2014 2:01 AM.


#865 130XE OFFLINE  

130XE

    Moonsweeper

  • 293 posts
  • Location:Moscow, Russia

Posted Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:03 AM

As far as it's concerned RUM, I'm with you!!!

 

Vodka - intimate... Sea Patroller is evident choice. :thumbsup: 

Bad luck. I'm only overterranials sailor  :D 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • 3bears.JPG


#866 130XE OFFLINE  

130XE

    Moonsweeper

  • 293 posts
  • Location:Moscow, Russia

Posted Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:11 AM

What's about AspeQt for Android?

Modern phones can do all things.



#867 atari8warez OFFLINE  

atari8warez

    River Patroller

  • 2,354 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:22 AM

it's already in future plans, all i need is time and motivation   ;)


Edited by atari8warez, Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:24 AM.


#868 atari8warez OFFLINE  

atari8warez

    River Patroller

  • 2,354 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Sep 28, 2014 4:39 AM

Hey, atari8warez

 

New user here! I'm enjoying AspeQt so far, but noticed it doesn't have the modem emulation working yet.

hi resetreboot, the networking functionality was never added to AspeQt, whatever little code relating to networking that is in the source was my attempt to learn networking in Qt, but I was sidetracked by other mods so networking didn't go any further than recognizing and connecting to the network adapter. The rest will come eventually however I more than appreciate any and all contributions by community members like yourselves.



#869 TheMontezuma OFFLINE  

TheMontezuma

    Star Raider

  • 58 posts
  • Location:Hildesheim, Germany

Posted Thu Oct 2, 2014 2:51 AM

What's about AspeQt for Android?

Modern phones can do all things.

 

I have submited to the Abbuc Contest 2014 a project using Android for floppy emulation:

http://atariage.com/.../228860-sio2bt/

It is not as powerfull as AspeQt and emulates floppy disks with normal speed only.

It will be officially released on 25.10.2014.

 

hi resetreboot, the networking functionality was never added to AspeQt, whatever little code relating to networking that is in the source was my attempt to learn networking in Qt, but I was sidetracked by other mods so networking didn't go any further than recognizing and connecting to the network adapter. The rest will come eventually however I more than appreciate any and all contributions by community members like yourselves.

 

To be honest long time ago I contacted atari8warez and proposed my contribution in this area, but have never found time for it.

Networking is still on my list (for SIO2BT and for AspeQt), but I mean with that something else than "R" device (or APE "Internet Modem").

So if anybody is interested to add support for "R" device, the community would really appreciate it :)



#870 130XE OFFLINE  

130XE

    Moonsweeper

  • 293 posts
  • Location:Moscow, Russia

Posted Thu Oct 2, 2014 3:04 AM

It's really interesting to see file transfer from mobile phone to Atari.  :)

I hope my attempts to make something like this with WiFi give us a new possibility.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users