Jump to content

Photo

TI-99/4a Data Transfer Using Serial Cable


7 replies to this topic

#1 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Fallen Moderator

  • 27,124 posts
  • Location:Dark Places

Posted Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:25 AM

How easy is it to transfer files from a PC to a TI using a serial cable? I thought this might be easier than installing a 3.5" drive. I found these instructions, are they still accurate? http://www.vintage-c...r-what-s-needed

It's a little bit of work but it doesn't seem too hard.

Tempest

#2 oracle_jedi OFFLINE  

oracle_jedi

    Dragonstomper

  • 512 posts
  • Nothing to Declare
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Thu Jan 21, 2010 1:11 PM

Unless you have a specific desire to use the PEB, the simplest method is the CF7 - this great little device plugs into your console, provides 32K of CPU RAM, a CF card reader that emulates all three disk drives, and a parallel port.

You just copy your PC99 or TIDisk images onto the CF card on the PC, plug the card into the CF7 and away you go.

eBay Auction -- Item Number: 200422616560

#3 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Fallen Moderator

  • Topic Starter
  • 27,124 posts
  • Location:Dark Places

Posted Thu Jan 21, 2010 1:14 PM

Yeah that would be best, but you need to get a hold of one first. I need to watch ebay when they show up.

Tempest

#4 S1500 OFFLINE  

S1500

    River Patroller

  • 4,825 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities

Posted Thu Jan 21, 2010 1:39 PM

The hardest part for me is to lug around the whole system, PEB & television to get it next to a computer. That is, UNLESS I have a laptop with serial port laying around. Hmmm...

#5 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Fallen Moderator

  • Topic Starter
  • 27,124 posts
  • Location:Dark Places

Posted Thu Jan 21, 2010 1:56 PM

The hardest part for me is to lug around the whole system, PEB & television to get it next to a computer. That is, UNLESS I have a laptop with serial port laying around. Hmmm...

I will once I get my mother in-laws old laptop (we got her a new one for Christmas). My current computer doesn't have any, but the laptop is over four years old so it must.

Tempest

#6 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 10,734 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:15 PM

No no no.... You don't need a serial port on your laptop. Check out YouTube.... I posted a series of videos on serial XModem transfers betweel pc and TI. You can use a USB port---as I show in my video. Good luck!!! Serial transfer is one of my favorite things to do--- how cool is it to make a 30 year old
computer "talk" to a Dell? :)

#7 GratedTopping OFFLINE  

GratedTopping

    Chopper Commander

  • 165 posts

Posted Mon Jun 7, 2010 11:15 PM

I had it done easy with a serial cable from the TI's port (in my Peripheral Expansion Box) to the old laptop. Correct terminal emulator programs running on both ends and saving to the laptop's 3.5; then from the 3.5 on my old PC to the folder on the hard drive the the "Classic99" emulator was using. It was easy and very cool to "back up" some 1980's games that would have been lost forever.

#8 madmax2069 OFFLINE  

madmax2069

    Dragonstomper

  • 808 posts

Posted Mon Jun 7, 2010 11:36 PM

http://retrofloppy.com/products.html scroll down to the USB adapter, you can find something like that (for allot less on ebay) to get what you want done without needing a older computer with a RS-232 port.

OMG i got tricked into posting in a zombie topic.

Edited by madmax2069, Mon Jun 7, 2010 11:42 PM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users