Jump to content

Photo

Flashback 2+ for preorder on Atari.com, get a free T-shirt


387 replies to this topic

#51 wccw mark OFFLINE  

wccw mark

    Stargunner

  • 1,353 posts
  • Location:elkhart indiana

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:02 PM

gonna get one of these as soon as they show up at target.

#52 Herbarius OFFLINE  

Herbarius

    Dragonstomper

  • 757 posts
  • Location:~50 N, ~7.5E (PAL)

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:14 PM

Well, the logo is hardly an improvement... ;)


I'll take the actual Atari logo over the infogrames logo any day...

Maybe I didn't get that right, I'd been looking at the pictures here...

So that's actually the old Flashback 2, and the 2+ has got the classic Atari logo?

#53 Wickeycolumbus OFFLINE  

Wickeycolumbus

    Red Sea Crosser

  • 5,162 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:19 PM

Well, the logo is hardly an improvement... ;)


I'll take the actual Atari logo over the infogrames logo any day...

Maybe I didn't get that right, I'd been looking at the pictures here...

So that's actually the old Flashback 2, and the 2+ has got the classic Atari logo?


Yeah, that must be a reused picture of the FB2. See Curt's post for a picture of the actual thing :)

#54 Herbarius OFFLINE  

Herbarius

    Dragonstomper

  • 757 posts
  • Location:~50 N, ~7.5E (PAL)

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:21 PM

Okay, then I take back my previous statement... the logo actually IS an improvement.

#55 oldric OFFLINE  

oldric

    Chopper Commander

  • 115 posts
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:09 PM

As usual, it can't be ordered from France... Boring....
I've had to buy my FB 2 from US on ebay last time...

:( :(

#56 holygrailvideogames.com OFFLINE  

holygrailvideogames.com

    Quadrunner

  • 5,778 posts

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 5:59 PM

Is it possible to buy the Flashback joysticks separate from the system? I once had 100+ Flashback joysticks but I had to buy a 50+ Flashback units to get them.

#57 Retro Rogue OFFLINE  

Retro Rogue

    River Patroller

  • 3,442 posts
  • Location:Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:32 PM

Well, the logo is hardly an improvement... ;)


I'll take the actual Atari logo over the infogrames logo any day...

Maybe I didn't get that right, I'd been looking at the pictures here...

So that's actually the old Flashback 2, and the 2+ has got the classic Atari logo?


Yeah, that must be a reused picture of the FB2. See Curt's post for a picture of the actual thing :)


Glad to know you guy actually read through our posts -

http://www.atariage....ost__p__1924478

#58 pboland OFFLINE  

pboland

    Stargunner

  • 1,609 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 6:34 PM

This is great news. I'm definitely going to get one. Thanks Atari for giving the go ahead for this product (and hopefully future hardware products) and thanks Legacy Engineering for making it happen. You guys are the best.

#59 cybercylon OFFLINE  

cybercylon

    River Patroller

  • 2,653 posts
  • Location:SW PA

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 8:52 PM

What's the Adventure II on here? I assume it is a hack of Adventure, and not the homebrew game for the 5200.

#60 MattelAquarius OFFLINE  

MattelAquarius

    Moonsweeper

  • 479 posts
  • Location:Washington D.C.

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 9:19 PM

I pre-ordered two last night.

Postage stayed the same for two units, if that's any consolation.

#61 toymailman OFFLINE  

toymailman

    River Patroller

  • 2,193 posts

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 9:32 PM

Is it possible to buy the Flashback joysticks separate from the system? I once had 100+ Flashback joysticks but I had to buy a 50+ Flashback units to get them.

Agreed, I use the FB2 stick for all my game playing! I too would like to be able to get them separately. :)

They're pretty rugged, but I have broken one so far. The inner plastic part that keeps the joystick aligned in the left/right-up/down direction is the weak link in the current design. If this could be beefed up or some perpendicular cross bracing (as in an "I" beam) then they'd be perfect.

#62 Atari Dogs OFFLINE  

Atari Dogs

    Stargunner

  • 1,673 posts
  • Location:ohio

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:00 PM

Here's the game listing as posted on the site:



Overall a nice selection of games and variety of genres.

OK, so I'm going to guess that the omission of some of the brighter moments of the Silver and Red series is because of legalities associated with the Williams, Midways and Taitos et al?

Omissions like:
Ms. Pac-Man
Crystal Castles
Jr. Pac-Man
Stargate
Joust
Jungle Hunt
BerZerk
Dig Dug
Galaxian
Space Invaders
Moon Patrol
Phoenix
Midnight Magic
Mario Bros.

Crystal Castles and (to the best of my knowledge) Midnight Magic are both Atari games.

All of these are dogs, in my opinion:
3D Tic Tac Toe
Hangman
Human Cannonball
Space War
Video Checkers
Video Chess

Possibly replace with:
Pole Position
Crystal Castles
Midnight Magic
and three other games you can think of...

Just for conversation...it's not like their going to change the lineup...


Nice list of games that could have been added. They are really a major part of the Atari line up, especially when Activision games are taken out. Why did they leave out Real Sports Tennis? Track and field should have been there too. Bowling is dud, but I would have thrown it in. They mystery game that could have made this fly off the shelf...SiniStar.

#63 Curt Vendel OFFLINE  

Curt Vendel

    River Patroller

  • 4,862 posts
  • Location:Carmel, New York

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:15 PM

Licensing means $$$$

Atari went with only its owned assets on this project. No licenses.

Also Midnight Magic and Dark Chambers are no wholey owned by Atari, so they aren't used.



Curt

Here's the game listing as posted on the site:



Overall a nice selection of games and variety of genres.

OK, so I'm going to guess that the omission of some of the brighter moments of the Silver and Red series is because of legalities associated with the Williams, Midways and Taitos et al?

Omissions like:
Ms. Pac-Man
Crystal Castles
Jr. Pac-Man
Stargate
Joust
Jungle Hunt
BerZerk
Dig Dug
Galaxian
Space Invaders
Moon Patrol
Phoenix
Midnight Magic
Mario Bros.

Crystal Castles and (to the best of my knowledge) Midnight Magic are both Atari games.

All of these are dogs, in my opinion:
3D Tic Tac Toe
Hangman
Human Cannonball
Space War
Video Checkers
Video Chess

Possibly replace with:
Pole Position
Crystal Castles
Midnight Magic
and three other games you can think of...

Just for conversation...it's not like their going to change the lineup...


Nice list of games that could have been added. They are really a major part of the Atari line up, especially when Activision games are taken out. Why did they leave out Real Sports Tennis? Track and field should have been there too. Bowling is dud, but I would have thrown it in. They mystery game that could have made this fly off the shelf...SiniStar.



#64 jaybird3rd OFFLINE  

jaybird3rd

    Quadrunner

  • 9,190 posts
  • "Excuse me, sir? I have a question ..."
  • Location:806.4616.0110

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:18 PM

Nice list of games that could have been added. They are really a major part of the Atari line up, especially when Activision games are taken out. Why did they leave out Real Sports Tennis? Track and field should have been there too. Bowling is dud, but I would have thrown it in. They mystery game that could have made this fly off the shelf...SiniStar.

Unfortunately, Track and Field and Sinistar would have required new licenses (from Konami and Williams, respectively).

EDIT: Curt beat me to it. Also, I don't think it's especially productive for us to engage in idle speculation about which games woulda/coulda/shoulda been included. Atari wanted to limit itself to its own assets to save money while establishing a unique "theme" for the FB2+, and using the sports titles was the most logical way to achieve both goals, so I don't have any problem with the game lineup. I'm just delighted to see a new iteration of the FB2 coming out. Think about it: the FB2+ coming out in 2010 makes the Atari 2600 the only game console to be commercially sold over four consecutive decades!

#65 ls650 OFFLINE  

ls650

    Quadrunner

  • 7,440 posts
  • Atari rocks!
  • Location:British Columbia

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:30 PM

This is awesome news! I still have my FB2 with box, and hook it up for play every now and then...

LATER: aw, only available in the US... :-(

Edited by ls650, Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:46 PM.


#66 Cafeman OFFLINE  

Cafeman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,877 posts
  • Location:PA

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:42 PM

What's the Adventure II on here? I assume it is a hack of Adventure, and not the homebrew game for the 5200.


The last Flashback 2 had AdvII on it as well - it is the Atari 2600 "version" of Adventure II. It uses some of the maps and ideas from 5200 AdvII but is actually a memory-enhanced reprogramming of 2600 Adventure. (right Curt?)

My question: Atari Climber was removed ... for LEGAL REASONS? Atari Climber was a renaming of Debro's game Climber 5. Care to explain the legal reasons?

#67 Atari Dogs OFFLINE  

Atari Dogs

    Stargunner

  • 1,673 posts
  • Location:ohio

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 11:10 PM

I understand about the cost of licensing the games especially when you are trying to hit price point. I was just into a woulda coulda shoulda mood.

I never understood why Atari left out the sports games out of the Flashback 2. Now I only wonder why no love for tennis or volleyball?

#68 Retro Rogue OFFLINE  

Retro Rogue

    River Patroller

  • 3,442 posts
  • Location:Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Posted Fri Jan 22, 2010 11:41 PM

My question: Atari Climber was removed ... for LEGAL REASONS? Atari Climber was a renaming of Debro's game Climber 5. Care to explain the legal reasons?


Which was not Debro's game. He ported it from a game that appeared in Compute! magazine. There were licensing issues with the Compute! owners. This is one of the prime reasons I keep warning authors and others on here about not working with properties you don't own, or getting permission first. It always come back to bite you. In this case, it also bit us.
Hence, no Atari Climber.

#69 batari OFFLINE  

batari

    )66]U('=I;B$*

  • 6,680 posts
  • begin 644 contest

Posted Sat Jan 23, 2010 1:23 AM

So if these are modded with the cartridge slot, will they work with the Harmony? I believe it was the Illegal Opcode support that caused the issue, right? And that these may have that support now?

It was write timing that caused the issue. The Harmony menu relies on SARA chip style writes, and SARA games on cart do not work on FB2s.

The incomplete illegal opcode support prevents it from working with some homebrew games (and particularly, batari Basic games.)

We have discussed some ways where it might be possible to work around the write timing issue with the Harmony menu but that is low priority right now.

#70 batari OFFLINE  

batari

    )66]U('=I;B$*

  • 6,680 posts
  • begin 644 contest

Posted Sat Jan 23, 2010 1:31 AM

I just ordered two. The Atari T-shirt was a nice bonus I suppose, but there was no way to select the size.

#71 atwwong OFFLINE  

atwwong

    Stargunner

  • 1,177 posts
  • Haunted Adventurer
  • Location:Vancouver

Posted Sat Jan 23, 2010 1:56 AM

This is awesome news! I still have my FB2 with box, and hook it up for play every now and then...

LATER: aw, only available in the US... :-(

Awww... craptacular! Posted Image (We Canadians always get the shaft for these special releases.)

Edited by atwwong, Sat Jan 23, 2010 2:14 AM.


#72 batari OFFLINE  

batari

    )66]U('=I;B$*

  • 6,680 posts
  • begin 644 contest

Posted Sat Jan 23, 2010 2:13 AM

This is awesome news! I still have my FB2 with box, and hook it up for play every now and then...

LATER: aw, only available in the US... :-(

Awww... craptacular! Posted Image

When I ordered, there was a shipping option called "Canada" for $34.29. Why would they have it if they don't ship there?

#73 atari_envy OFFLINE  

atari_envy

    Dragonstomper

  • 646 posts
  • Location:Arizona

Posted Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:48 AM

4. Wizard was pulled because it really has no play value to it.


Wow, based on this and a couple other comments, I guess I am the only person who owns a Flashback 2 and actually likes/plays Wizard. It is in the top 5 games I play on the system.

I am glad to see the Flashback going to market again and happy that so many AA members like what they see. Unfortunately I am not a fan of the Atari sports games and my favorite 4 games are no longer included. So for me it is a non-starter.

I do think this is a good opportunity for those people who don't have a Flashback 2.

#74 Curt Vendel OFFLINE  

Curt Vendel

    River Patroller

  • 4,862 posts
  • Location:Carmel, New York

Posted Sat Jan 23, 2010 9:52 AM

That is correct.

I had a lot of issues tracking all of the objects in the larger amount of rooms in ADV II and occassionally you'll see a "hiccup" in the game - the screen will bounce, its the bat moving from one location to another and it always caused me problems.

I tried to implement as much of the "feel" of 5200 ADV II into the game and used all of the same kingdoms, the hidden mazes, the dark hedge maze and such, so its a mini version of Cafeman's 5200 ADV II.

I've actually started working on ADV III and hopefully by Summer it'll be ready, I learned a LOT from reading the 2600 programming section and I think I know how to fix the issues with the larger amount of rooms and I think I'll be able to add more objects and enemies, we'll see...


Curt

What's the Adventure II on here? I assume it is a hack of Adventure, and not the homebrew game for the 5200.


The last Flashback 2 had AdvII on it as well - it is the Atari 2600 "version" of Adventure II. It uses some of the maps and ideas from 5200 AdvII but is actually a memory-enhanced reprogramming of 2600 Adventure. (right Curt?)

My question: Atari Climber was removed ... for LEGAL REASONS? Atari Climber was a renaming of Debro's game Climber 5. Care to explain the legal reasons?



#75 ls650 OFFLINE  

ls650

    Quadrunner

  • 7,440 posts
  • Atari rocks!
  • Location:British Columbia

Posted Sat Jan 23, 2010 10:03 AM

Batari wrote that he can see an option for Canada shipping, but when I look at the web page from here in BC, all I see is a message stating "This offer is not available in your area".
Perhaps they will add foreign orders in the future but I won't hold my breath...




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users