Jump to content

Photo

Astrosmash Remake


29 replies to this topic

#1 Ophelius OFFLINE  

Ophelius

    Space Invader

  • 18 posts

Posted Fri Feb 26, 2010 3:10 PM

Hey fellows,
first I'd like to introduce myself. My name is Justin and I am new to this forum. I'm a computer programmer, musician and I love old video games.

Anyways, I thought I can start by showcasing my newest creation. It's a remake of the classic intellivision game astrosmash. I kept the same feel, but added some new elements and made it more arcade-like. There's a leaderboard at the site, so if you beat a highscore, follow the instructions to submit your score. Here's the link:

www.astrosmashproject.com

Feedback is always appreciated!

Hope you enjoy it!

Edited by Ophelius, Tue Mar 2, 2010 3:03 PM.


#2 ls650 OFFLINE  

ls650

    Quadrunner

  • 6,585 posts
  • Atari rocks!
  • Location:British Columbia

Posted Fri Feb 26, 2010 3:41 PM

www.astrosmashproject.com

Looks great! I will check it out later tonight....

#3 Cebus Capucinis OFFLINE  

Cebus Capucinis

    Not-so-secretly Trolling

  • 8,013 posts
  • Wiseass Extraordinaire
  • Location:Ellensburg, WA

Posted Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:14 PM

Looks cool! When can we expect it on a cart for our real INTVs? :D

#4 Ophelius OFFLINE  

Ophelius

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts

Posted Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:19 PM

Looks cool! When can we expect it on a cart for our real INTVs? :D


ummmm...never ;) The hardware would never be able to run it. I am building an arcade to house it though. As soon as I could afford it that is.

#5 Cebus Capucinis OFFLINE  

Cebus Capucinis

    Not-so-secretly Trolling

  • 8,013 posts
  • Wiseass Extraordinaire
  • Location:Ellensburg, WA

Posted Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:24 PM

Dang! That would be the coolest, playing a homebrew Astrosmash update on an actual INTV. :D

I downloaded it and played, it's a lot of fun! Very good work!

#6 jsmith73 OFFLINE  

jsmith73

    Moonsweeper

  • 325 posts
  • Location:Needville,Texas

Posted Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:57 PM

That looks very cool! I will download it and play it tonight...
Well, maybe tomorrow night, I got plans with the wife!!! :evil: No kids tonight!!!!

Nice site! Can't wait to play! :thumbsup:

+1 to you sir!

Edited by jsmith73, Fri Feb 26, 2010 5:59 PM.


#7 unhuman OFFLINE  

unhuman

    Stargunner

  • 1,139 posts
  • Location:Vienna, VA

Posted Mon Mar 1, 2010 9:46 PM

This game rocks! Pun not intended, but... appropriate.

#8 Ophelius OFFLINE  

Ophelius

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts

Posted Tue Mar 2, 2010 10:35 PM

Version 0.9.3 is out:

New updates like Shield Upgrade, Auto-fire option and more.

www.astrosmashproject.com

#9 radiohead OFFLINE  

radiohead

    Space Invader

  • 36 posts
  • Location:Martian Landing Site, Grover's Mill, NJ

Posted Wed Mar 3, 2010 8:03 PM

That's just too damn cool!

I'm almost afraid to ask if that can be ported to some emulator, or as a stand alone so that I can play it on my 42" HDTV with Wii Homebrew Channel.

That arcade action is really slick!

Well Done!

Edited by radiohead, Wed Mar 3, 2010 8:03 PM.


#10 Ophelius OFFLINE  

Ophelius

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts

Posted Wed Mar 3, 2010 8:39 PM

radiohead: I'm glad you enjoy it ;)

I'm not sure how porting it to the wii is done, but I'm sure it's possible. Just connect your computer to your tv. I know that's a pain, but less a pain than porting it to a console haha.

Edited by Ophelius, Wed Mar 3, 2010 8:39 PM.


#11 jetset OFFLINE  

jetset

    Quadrunner

  • 11,701 posts
  • Location:5200 Island

Posted Wed Mar 3, 2010 9:19 PM

Very awesome, great work! Shame it could never run on the real thing. :sad:

#12 unhuman OFFLINE  

unhuman

    Stargunner

  • 1,139 posts
  • Location:Vienna, VA

Posted Wed Mar 3, 2010 9:39 PM

Games written in SDL are "easy" to port. Other stuff, probably not so much.

That's just too damn cool!

I'm almost afraid to ask if that can be ported to some emulator, or as a stand alone so that I can play it on my 42" HDTV with Wii Homebrew Channel.

That arcade action is really slick!

Well Done!



#13 Ophelius OFFLINE  

Ophelius

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts

Posted Wed Mar 3, 2010 10:09 PM

Bug alert: If anyone is still playing version 0.9.3 which they downloaded before this post on March 3, 2010, please re-download. The bug is that the UFO never appears again if it shoots you. To get him back you have to reset the game. This bug is now fixed in the current version. I didn't want to wait until the next release.

#14 radiohead OFFLINE  

radiohead

    Space Invader

  • 36 posts
  • Location:Martian Landing Site, Grover's Mill, NJ

Posted Thu Mar 4, 2010 8:56 AM

Games written in SDL are "easy" to port. Other stuff, probably not so much.

That's just too damn cool!

I'm almost afraid to ask if that can be ported to some emulator, or as a stand alone so that I can play it on my 42" HDTV with Wii Homebrew Channel.

That arcade action is really slick!

Well Done!


It wouldn't have to be ported specifically to the Wii. Just port it to an exisiting PC emulator (Atari 2600/7800/NES/Coleco, etc - oddly, there's no Intellivison Wii emulator yet that I'm aware of.) Wii homebrewers have already converted the emulators, so as long as your rom image works on a PC emulator, it' work on the Wii.

Or how 'bout configuring optional joystick controls for the PC?

But I'm no programmer, so I can't imagine the amount of work this might require.

Anyway, whatever you decide, keep up the good work!!

Edited by radiohead, Thu Mar 4, 2010 9:03 AM.


#15 unhuman OFFLINE  

unhuman

    Stargunner

  • 1,139 posts
  • Location:Vienna, VA

Posted Thu Mar 4, 2010 9:24 AM

Right - well that's where you sort of lose track. Porting to another emulator (system) is probably just as hard if not harder - basically you're asking him to convert it to an old platform, which wouldn't have the feature sets he uses in the game.

That's why I mentioned SDL - if you look carefully at the emulators supported on the Wii, a vast majority of them leverage SDL. Someone wrote the original emulator with SDL, and then porting to other systems is far easier than writing to the base platform. It's sort of a common functionality layer that manages graphics and sounds.

-H

Games written in SDL are "easy" to port. Other stuff, probably not so much.

That's just too damn cool!

I'm almost afraid to ask if that can be ported to some emulator, or as a stand alone so that I can play it on my 42" HDTV with Wii Homebrew Channel.

That arcade action is really slick!

Well Done!


It wouldn't have to be ported specifically to the Wii. Just port it to an exisiting PC emulator (Atari 2600/7800/NES/Coleco, etc - oddly, there's no Intellivison Wii emulator yet that I'm aware of.) Wii homebrewers have already converted the emulators, so as long as your rom image works on a PC emulator, it' work on the Wii.

Or how 'bout configuring optional joystick controls for the PC?

But I'm no programmer, so I can't imagine the amount of work this might require.

Anyway, whatever you decide, keep up the good work!!



#16 mckafka99 OFFLINE  

mckafka99

    Stargunner

  • 1,004 posts

Posted Thu Mar 4, 2010 7:06 PM

I think this rocks! The one thing I will mention that I miss...the'whine'/'cry' of the falling spinners. I dont know why, but that sound added some atmosphere to the game.

#17 Ophelius OFFLINE  

Ophelius

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts

Posted Thu Mar 4, 2010 7:37 PM

I think this rocks! The one thing I will mention that I miss...the'whine'/'cry' of the falling spinners. I dont know why, but that sound added some atmosphere to the game.


I thought about adding it, but I for one found it annoying hahaha.

#18 Ophelius OFFLINE  

Ophelius

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts

Posted Fri Mar 12, 2010 11:30 PM

Version 0.9.4 is out.
It now has Joystick support and a new configuration application to tweak your game settings the way you want.

www.astrosmashproject.com

#19 unhuman OFFLINE  

unhuman

    Stargunner

  • 1,139 posts
  • Location:Vienna, VA

Posted Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:37 PM

BTW - you should get this pushed up on http://retroremakes.com/ and http://retrospec.sgn.net/

#20 Rev OFFLINE  

Rev

    A.K.A. Revolutionika

  • 15,296 posts
  • Location:NC

Posted Sat Mar 13, 2010 9:42 PM

why dont you remake of your remake and put it on a cart dude!

#21 Ophelius OFFLINE  

Ophelius

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts

Posted Sun Mar 14, 2010 4:53 PM

why dont you remake of your remake and put it on a cart dude!


An atari cart? That would be impossible without completely remaking it into something less than what it is.

#22 radiohead OFFLINE  

radiohead

    Space Invader

  • 36 posts
  • Location:Martian Landing Site, Grover's Mill, NJ

Posted Sun Mar 14, 2010 6:45 PM

You're pegging the "Coolness" meter with the joystick action! (P.S. Thanks for using my "too damn cool" quote on your website!)

I see in your readme file that:
Joystick [if enabled]
B1: Shoot
B2: Deploy Squadron
B3: Autofire On/Off

This being an Atari forum, I'm playing your game using the USB classic Atari Joystick from Legacy Engineering (D pad joystick, 1 fire "B" button). Autofire and Deploy Squadron are still controled via keyboard.

Joystick movement works "left" and "right" well enough. Is there anyway to configure so that autofire can be activiated by pointing the joystick "up" (or just holding down the fire button) and deploy squadron by pointing "down" or some similar control? It's hard to use keyboard once the game starts and your using a joystick like this.

But I fully understand this is a multibutton arcade game, so what you're doing is rockin'!

If I'm asking too much, I'll just shut up now and keep playing.

------
EDIT - My son is learning to program simple video games using a program called "Scratch". But Scratch doesn't support joystick input. So he found a program called "JoyToKey" (maybe everyone has heard about this except for me) that maps joystick positions to key strokes.

Well, I just installed/configured that program to work with Astrosmash as I suggested above and it works.

So if you decide against any special Atari joystick configuring, I'll happily play this way.

Edited by radiohead, Sun Mar 14, 2010 7:48 PM.


#23 Ophelius OFFLINE  

Ophelius

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts

Posted Sun Mar 14, 2010 11:05 PM

radiohead: Thanks for the feedback and the interest. About the joystick, I guess I never thought anyone these days would have a joystick with less than 3 buttons haha(even the nes controllers had 4 including the start/select). What I'm going to add in the next release is the ability to switch to auto-fire by holding down the fire button for a second. But I can't do much more. I think that if you could push up or down to trigger the squadrons, it would be too easy to accidentally push those directions when not intended. This way, at least everybody with 2-button joysticks can now have full control. What I'll do about all of you 1-button joystick gamers is to add a link to this JoytoKey utility so you can configure it that way if you want. Anyways, always glad to hear someone's enjoying this game. Remember to submit those high scores ;)

#24 cmart604 OFFLINE  

cmart604

    Quadrunner

  • 11,257 posts
  • Location:Vancouver

Posted Sun Mar 14, 2010 11:09 PM

why dont you remake of your remake and put it on a cart dude!


An atari cart? That would be impossible without completely remaking it into something less than what it is.



I'm pretty sure Rev was looking for an INTV cart, not 2600. He's a fellow INTV nut. Posted Image By the way, if it's possible to come up with a cart version for INTV, you have my $$$.Posted Image

#25 Ophelius OFFLINE  

Ophelius

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts

Posted Sun Mar 14, 2010 11:19 PM

cmart604:
Any cart from any console from that period would not be able to handle this game. Perhaps the minimum would be an 8-bit console like NES. SNES for sure.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users