Jump to content

Photo

SimpleStereo v3 and IO-Board


138 replies to this topic

#26 candle OFFLINE  

candle

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,759 posts
  • Location:Lublin, Poland

Posted Tue Mar 23, 2010 5:58 PM

basic setup requires 2 wires to be soldered to the main board (a4 and a7 lines), configuration of board will toggle to default (covox at d280, stereo enabled, no vbxe mode for covox (in vbxe mode covox is using external address decoder))
aki part will require another 4 wires (start, select, option and reset)

io-board will require 5 wires from motherboard (sio data in, data out, command, ground and vcc)

other wires will be required for interconnections between these two boards (aki clock, data, ground, audio_left, audio_right)

there was question about if any modification to the os is required for aki to work - the answer is no - it emulates real atari keyboard, and provides key buffering as we know from pc

#27 Sheddy OFFLINE  

Sheddy

    Dragonstomper

  • 601 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:27 PM

Candle, what is the best way to detect whether stereo pokey is installed?
I read some instructions on building others from Internet that the extra POTs and KBCODE should read zero if installed? I haven't treated myself to stereo yet, but checking for zero on POTs didn't seem to work on a friends stereo machine in a prog I sent them. Some Emulators seem to return zero on POTs, others not. So, I'm not sure. Hopefully you or someone knows a sure fire way to detect a stereo set up? thanks

#28 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 12,569 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:43 PM

We had a thread about Stereo Pokey detection some time back.

I think the Pots will return 228 if not attached. Second Pokey should be as per Pot4-7 on XL/XE since they're not normally attached.

IIRC, the method I put forward was: start a Pot scan, then read POT4 at $D204 and POT4 at $D214. If you have two Pokeys installed, then one should be counting upwards, the other should remain static.

Another method which probably would be easier:

Set second Pokey's SKCTL to 3, then first Pokey's SKCTL to zero. set Wait a little bit, then read RANDOM from $D21A. Or it with same address once or twice. RANDOM should read zero if Pokey is in an init state.
Zero from second Pokey's address will mean that you have a mono machine since mappings repeat each 16 bytes. Stereo machine, mappings normally repeat each 32 bytes for each Pokey.

Edited by Rybags, Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:49 PM.


#29 atariksi OFFLINE  

atariksi

    Quadrunner

  • 5,337 posts

Posted Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:47 PM

We had a thread about Stereo Pokey detection some time back.

I think the Pots will return 228 if not attached. Second Pokey should be as per Pot4-7 on XL/XE since they're not normally attached.

IIRC, the method I put forward was: start a Pot scan, then read POT4 at $D204 and POT4 at $D214. If you have two Pokeys installed, then one should be counting upwards, the other should remain static.


That would be more useful if the 2nd POKEY counted to 228 since then they can be used for timers in fast pot scan or slow pot scan modes without affecting the other POKEY. If they did a +5v pullup on the POT lines, they would read close to 0 and then can't be used a timers.

#30 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 12,569 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Tue Mar 23, 2010 6:53 PM

Normally, I don't think people bother attaching the Pots on second Pokeys.

I think method two should be a better detection method anyway.

#31 Shawn Jefferson OFFLINE  

Shawn Jefferson

    Stargunner

  • 1,707 posts
  • Location:Victoria, Canada

Posted Wed Mar 24, 2010 12:08 AM

I'd be interested in a SimpleStereo board as well.

#32 DamageX OFFLINE  

DamageX

    Chopper Commander

  • 243 posts

Posted Wed Mar 24, 2010 1:12 AM

Nice... I'll take one of each board, please.

#33 pajero_pn ONLINE  

pajero_pn

    Space Invader

  • 40 posts
  • Location:Poland (Europe) / Swarzedz_City

Posted Wed Mar 24, 2010 5:55 AM

I also have a huge request to the Candle.

I hope my voice in support of the general.

AKI can control 5 atari upgrade, on a signal 0/1
See page 7 of the manual (polish): ftp://ftp.pigwa.net/projects/aki/source/AKI_opis_funkcji_v1.0.doc

These signals RA0, 1,2,6 and RB7 of the PIC system (see JPG).
AKI RAx.jpg

Unfortunately, only brought SSv2 Candle RB7.
It's only 4 lines on the plate (and pins)

#34 Sheddy OFFLINE  

Sheddy

    Dragonstomper

  • 601 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Wed Mar 24, 2010 6:24 AM

We had a thread about Stereo Pokey detection some time back.

I think the Pots will return 228 if not attached. Second Pokey should be as per Pot4-7 on XL/XE since they're not normally attached.

IIRC, the method I put forward was: start a Pot scan, then read POT4 at $D204 and POT4 at $D214. If you have two Pokeys installed, then one should be counting upwards, the other should remain static.

Another method which probably would be easier:

Set second Pokey's SKCTL to 3, then first Pokey's SKCTL to zero. set Wait a little bit, then read RANDOM from $D21A. Or it with same address once or twice. RANDOM should read zero if Pokey is in an init state.
Zero from second Pokey's address will mean that you have a mono machine since mappings repeat each 16 bytes. Stereo machine, mappings normally repeat each 32 bytes for each Pokey.


thanks for the info Rybags, surprised I missed that thread

#35 atariksi OFFLINE  

atariksi

    Quadrunner

  • 5,337 posts

Posted Thu Mar 25, 2010 6:34 AM

Normally, I don't think people bother attaching the Pots on second Pokeys.

I think method two should be a better detection method anyway.


They may be internally stable to 228 without any connection.

#36 StaxX28 OFFLINE  

StaxX28

    Chopper Commander

  • 166 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Fri Mar 26, 2010 11:12 AM

basic setup requires 2 wires to be soldered to the main board (a4 and a7 lines), configuration of board will toggle to default (covox at d280, stereo enabled, no vbxe mode for covox (in vbxe mode covox is using external address decoder))

Sorry, I'm not expert to read electronic schemes... :/

both soldered to the OS ROM... A4 on pin 3 and A7 on pin 6, that's right ?

same thing on 800XL NTSC ?


thanks :)

#37 candle OFFLINE  

candle

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,759 posts
  • Location:Lublin, Poland

Posted Fri Mar 26, 2010 3:38 PM

here is sample setup on XL machine (this is PAL unit, but it doesn't mater)

Posted Image

this one belongs to OrpheusWalking

Edited by candle, Fri Mar 26, 2010 3:39 PM.


#38 StaxX28 OFFLINE  

StaxX28

    Chopper Commander

  • 166 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Fri Mar 26, 2010 5:50 PM

Ok, thanks

Apparently works perfectly ! Posted Image

22.jpg
23.jpg
Waiting the I/O Board... Posted Image

#39 rdemming OFFLINE  

rdemming

    Dragonstomper

  • 941 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands, Amstelveen

Posted Thu Apr 8, 2010 1:02 AM

Isn't the 12V connected in reverse here?
Pin 1 of J22 on the IO board is +12V. I measured it and it is the bottom pin (the white wire here). On the simple stereo board, the +12V connection is pin 8 on J3 and ground is pin 10 on J3. But here the +12V of the IO board seems to be connected to pin 10 (ground) and IO board ground is connected to pin 8 (+12 V).
Or does the polarity not matter for the Covox DA converter?

What is the purpose of all the wires on IO board J7?

Robert



here is sample setup on XL machine (this is PAL unit, but it doesn't mater)

Posted Image

this one belongs to OrpheusWalking



#40 candle OFFLINE  

candle

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,759 posts
  • Location:Lublin, Poland

Posted Thu Apr 8, 2010 4:49 AM

well yes it is ;) my fault - i should never publish such picture
those wires on io-board are for SIO2PC (running uder AspeQT) - pokey dividor 0 was reached ;)

#41 rdemming OFFLINE  

rdemming

    Dragonstomper

  • 941 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands, Amstelveen

Posted Thu Apr 8, 2010 5:07 AM

well yes it is ;) my fault - i should never publish such picture
those wires on io-board are for SIO2PC (running uder AspeQT) - pokey dividor 0 was reached ;)


I thought J4 was for the SIO. But I measured the connections and it seems J4-J7 are wired together. So it doesn't matter if you use J4, J5, J6 or J7. Is this correct?

Robert

#42 orpheuswaking OFFLINE  

orpheuswaking

    River Patroller

  • 4,736 posts
  • Lone Raider Time!
  • Location:Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Posted Thu Apr 8, 2010 10:23 AM

Isn't the 12V connected in reverse here?
Pin 1 of J22 on the IO board is +12V. I measured it and it is the bottom pin (the white wire here). On the simple stereo board, the +12V connection is pin 8 on J3 and ground is pin 10 on J3. But here the +12V of the IO board seems to be connected to pin 10 (ground) and IO board ground is connected to pin 8 (+12 V).
Or does the polarity not matter for the Covox DA converter?

What is the purpose of all the wires on IO board J7?

Robert




here is sample setup on XL machine (this is PAL unit, but it doesn't mater)

Posted Image

this one belongs to OrpheusWalking


That's a pretty setup ;-) can't wait to get it back :P

#43 Guitarman OFFLINE  

Guitarman

    Stargunner

  • 1,414 posts
  • Atari Is Golden
  • Location:Carson City, NV

Posted Thu Apr 8, 2010 2:47 PM

Count me in for 1ea of Simple Stereo and I/O board

#44 Marc Oberhäuser ONLINE  

Marc Oberhäuser

    Stargunner

  • 1,353 posts
  • Location:Düren, Germany

Posted Thu Apr 8, 2010 2:51 PM

I'll take 2 Simple Stereo:)

#45 serg89 OFFLINE  

serg89

    Combat Commando

  • 7 posts

Posted Fri Apr 9, 2010 8:33 PM

Hi Candle, I'll have 1 SimpleStereo and 1 IOBoard

Sergey

#46 SuperSparky OFFLINE  

SuperSparky

    Space Invader

  • 22 posts
  • Location:San Diego, CA

Posted Wed Apr 14, 2010 6:32 PM

Put me on the list for two of each.

#47 pinkstone OFFLINE  

pinkstone

    Space Invader

  • 40 posts
  • Location:Buenos Aires

Posted Sat Apr 17, 2010 12:18 PM

What the hell, put me one of each please.

Thank you.

;)

#48 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 8,167 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Sun Apr 18, 2010 9:10 AM

Can't decide between the two, so one of each for me please. :)




#49 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 8,167 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Mon Apr 19, 2010 2:10 AM

EDIT: Have decided. Just the I/O board for me please. I don't need the features of the stereo board. Sorry about that. Posted Image

#50 BillC OFFLINE  

BillC

    Stargunner

  • 1,098 posts
  • Location:BC Canada

Posted Mon May 3, 2010 11:49 PM

If these are still available for ordering, please put me down for 2 of each.

Thank you




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users