IGNORED

Need my code scrutinized >.>

I have no doubt that I'm making all sorts of careless mistakes, but seeing as I'm new to this, and I took the first step into actually coding something, I figured I'd inquire about it.

Okay, so my code is doing horrible things to me. Currently, this is what happens:

whalesmashscrewup.png

I think the problem currently lies in my horrible math skills and not being able to get the TIM64T calculations correct, so it's messing with the vertical blank period and everything else, as well.

However, I could be being careless and using waayyyyy too many cycles or jumping page boundaries, thus effectively ruining the entire code.

Then again, I could just simply not get it and have screwed the entire thing up.

I just need it checked. I'm not exactly sure what I'm doing wrong.

Code is attached.

EDIT: If there are too many things wrong, just tell me and I'll start over or something, lol

NOTE: The rabbit graphics are completely left out currently. They're sitting there waiting for use.

whaleman.zip

Edited by johnon

You're doing way to many scanlines. After your Vsync, load TIM64T with a value to do 37 scanlines. After that expires draw your visible screen. This is the part where you added a ton more lines. When you load the color for the background, you put that in a loop that did almost 176 lines alone.

You're doing way to many scanlines. After your Vsync, load TIM64T with a value to do 37 scanlines. After that expires draw your visible screen. This is the part where you added a ton more lines. When you load the color for the background, you put that in a loop that did almost 176 lines alone.

Ah, aight...eehhhh, yeah. Here's the part where I don't really get how to do this. I'd been doing that loop to change the background at that scanline. I'm not sure how to change it, otherwise. Any insight on that?