IGNORED

LGB

Bones-69

I was invited to start a thread on a game that I have been working on now for about 2-3 years. I find that my interest in this project comes and goes as I seem to work on it for a few months then take a few months off…. This approach has not resulted in quick progress as it is difficult to pick-up where I left off upon each return. I also seem to return with “better ideas” after a break – maybe that part is good, but if I never get it finished all the good ideas in the world won’t count for anything.

I was a little reluctant to start this thread because realistically my game is probably still at least 12 months from completion and several aspects of the idea are still very much in development. However, after finding the AtariAge TI forum I have been infected with new motivation after seeing just how active the TI community still is (which is so great to see).

Basically, my game known as LGB (Little Green Bastard), will be a text adventure game written with the Win994a Simulator and Rich Extended Basic. For a long time I contemplated what version of BASIC I should write it in before finally deciding that RXB was the most suitable. Now after using RXB for some time I am left wondering how I could ever return to XB as some of the RXB features are fantastic and I think compliment the standard XB language very well.

Like most adventure games, your task is to save the world (or the entire universe in this instance). You as the player are awaken from a deep space sleep aboard your spacecraft to the sound of your ships security siren. Suffering hibernation sickness you stumble around to discover that while you slept your spacecraft has been boarded by aliens (hence the title Little Green Bastard). Your spaceships computer shows that the hyperdrive fuel source (an incredibly rare material that has not been manufactured for over 1000 years), has been removed leaving your ship without light speed engines.