Jump to content

Photo

"His Dark Majesty"


118 replies to this topic

#26 dwhyte OFFLINE  

dwhyte

    Dragonstomper

  • 863 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun May 2, 2010 11:25 PM

Excellent work on the translation, Mr. Jefferson! :thumbsup: :)

Who was the original writer for the game's text?

#27 Godzilla OFFLINE  

Godzilla

    Quadrunner

  • 6,794 posts
  • Location:Jacksonville, Fl

Posted Mon May 3, 2010 3:46 PM

wow, that looks great!

#28 MrFish ONLINE  

MrFish

    River Patroller

  • 4,215 posts
  • Location:1010-1010

Posted Mon May 3, 2010 11:34 PM

Possible to add the ability to select and move multiple units as a group?

#29 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 15,228 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Tue May 4, 2010 9:21 PM

Finally got through, up to the town you have to lay under seige.

Lost my lord unit though.

I'm starting to think that a more defensive strategy might be the way to get ahead in this game.

#30 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • 10,732 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Thu May 6, 2010 4:00 PM

New Video



Edited by Bryan, Thu May 6, 2010 4:11 PM.


#31 Shawn Jefferson OFFLINE  

Shawn Jefferson

    Stargunner

  • 1,986 posts
  • Location:Victoria, Canada

Posted Thu May 6, 2010 8:08 PM

Excellent work on the translation, Mr. Jefferson! :thumbsup: :)

Who was the original writer for the game's text?


I believe it was Ilmenit-the basic story and dialog is mostly his, I just translated it and tried to keep the general feeling. I was playing through it a bit last night and of course, I have buyer's remorse about the introductory story... it could be better.

@Ilmenit: Also, I noticed an error that I thought I fixed in level 3: It should read "Why should we let..." rather than "Why we should let...". There's probably more too later on, so I'll try to play through the levels and see what the English looks like. Oh, and I noticed that it doesn't load with the MyIDE OS (v4.4) for some reason, even when loading from APE... chokes after reading sector 834. Works fine with stock 800XL NTSC OS.

Anyway, playing it now on real hardware, it also seems a bit faster than the demo versions I saw early on, too!

Edited by Shawn Jefferson, Thu May 6, 2010 8:11 PM.


#32 Syfo-Dyas OFFLINE  

Syfo-Dyas

    Dragonstomper

  • 563 posts
  • Location:NW Ohio

Posted Thu May 6, 2010 9:54 PM

The pics look great, I mean really great! It's nice to see an RPG on the Atari that can hold a match to C64 RPG's graphically. Once I have my Atari back I'll certainly give it a go!

#33 Trooper OFFLINE  

Trooper

    Dragonstomper

  • 983 posts
  • Location:Sweden

Posted Fri May 7, 2010 2:39 AM

Tried this last night and I'm loving it! Great game!

#34 ilmenit ONLINE  

ilmenit

    Moonsweeper

  • 402 posts

Posted Tue May 11, 2010 2:19 AM

It was a really hard and time consuming to create the game and I'm really happy reading all your positive comments! :)
All known bugs will be fixed in the next release (version 1.1). The problem mentioned above (with Altirra emulator) is solved, however there is another one (the game crashes after a few levels). We will have to investigate it more.

Did anyone win the game? :)

#35 ilmenit ONLINE  

ilmenit

    Moonsweeper

  • 402 posts

Posted Wed May 12, 2010 8:01 AM

The new version 1.01 (attached) should work fine under the newest Altirra emulator.
Remember to change the disk drive to R/W to make saving progress possible. SIO Patch + Burst transfer will make the disk operations faster.

Phaeron, could you add a command line option to make the disk-drive R/W? I could prepare then a pack to play the game with Altirra easily.

Attached Files


Edited by ilmenit, Wed May 12, 2010 8:08 AM.


#36 Shawn Jefferson OFFLINE  

Shawn Jefferson

    Stargunner

  • 1,986 posts
  • Location:Victoria, Canada

Posted Wed May 12, 2010 10:05 PM

I'm currently at the Circle of Power level.

Is it possible to transfer your saved game from v1.0 to v1.01?

#37 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • 2,279 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Wed May 12, 2010 11:02 PM

The new version 1.01 (attached) should work fine under the newest Altirra emulator.
Remember to change the disk drive to R/W to make saving progress possible. SIO Patch + Burst transfer will make the disk operations faster.

Phaeron, could you add a command line option to make the disk-drive R/W? I could prepare then a pack to play the game with Altirra easily.


Yup, use /bootrw or /bootvrw with this version:

http://www.virtualdu...a-1.7-test4.zip
http://www.virtualdu...7-test4-src.zip

It appears that the remaining issues of unaccelerated disk load and not working with the HLE kernel are due to HDM copying portions of kernel ROM to RAM -- the HLE kernel has its routines at different addresses and Altirra does not allow SIO acceleration in RAM since it cannot tell whether it is safe to do so (it uses address hooks rather than patching). I can't solve the kernel incompatibility realistically, but I might be able to make accelerated load work by adding a virtual PBI device.

#38 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,757 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Fri May 14, 2010 3:32 AM

UK readers: check out Shaun's column in Micro Mart, 13 May, for a nice write-up of this splendid looking game.

#39 ilmenit ONLINE  

ilmenit

    Moonsweeper

  • 402 posts

Posted Fri May 14, 2010 4:17 AM

UK readers: check out Shaun's column in Micro Mart, 13 May, for a nice write-up of this splendid looking game.


Could you send me a scan of this column? :)

#40 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,757 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Fri May 14, 2010 4:18 AM

UK readers: check out Shaun's column in Micro Mart, 13 May, for a nice write-up of this splendid looking game.


Could you send me a scan of this column? Posted Image

Will do as soon as I get home this afternoon.

Edited by flashjazzcat, Fri May 14, 2010 4:18 AM.


#41 ilmenit ONLINE  

ilmenit

    Moonsweeper

  • 402 posts

Posted Fri May 14, 2010 6:04 AM

Will do as soon as I get home this afternoon.


Thanks.

I have done a Windows installer that configures the Altirra emulator to play the game.
It should attract more people :)

Edited by ilmenit, Fri May 14, 2010 6:05 AM.


#42 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 15,228 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Fri May 14, 2010 6:16 AM

As someone asked earlier... is it possible to just copy a range of sectors to transfer your savegame over, or do you need to start again?

#43 ilmenit ONLINE  

ilmenit

    Moonsweeper

  • 402 posts

Posted Fri May 14, 2010 6:27 AM

As someone asked earlier... is it possible to just copy a range of sectors to transfer your savegame over, or do you need to start again?


The current level number is saved to a file 'L' on disk.

#44 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,018 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Fri May 14, 2010 6:42 AM

I've Just tried this game out it seem run just fine on a NTSC Atari :thumbsup: :thumbsup: the games is awesome!

#45 ilmenit ONLINE  

ilmenit

    Moonsweeper

  • 402 posts

Posted Fri May 14, 2010 6:47 AM

On the NTSC Atari the music is probably too fast and the game will probably crash during the outro :(

#46 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,757 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Fri May 14, 2010 12:00 PM

Scan as requested:

Dark Majesty.jpg

#47 Shawn Jefferson OFFLINE  

Shawn Jefferson

    Stargunner

  • 1,986 posts
  • Location:Victoria, Canada

Posted Fri May 14, 2010 11:15 PM

I've seen the screenshots with the pictures with the white background in various places, but I never see these in the actual game itself?

#48 MrFish ONLINE  

MrFish

    River Patroller

  • 4,215 posts
  • Location:1010-1010

Posted Sat May 15, 2010 1:10 AM

This is version 1.0 without some gfx and with some known bugs - Ilmenit will fix in next version.

I've seen the screenshots with the pictures with the white background in various places, but I never see these in the actual game itself?

According to the original post...

#49 matosimi OFFLINE  

matosimi

    Moonsweeper

  • 326 posts
  • Location:Slovakia - Bratislava http://matosimi.atari.org

Posted Mon May 17, 2010 3:34 PM

Damn, this game is f**king awesome!
It does not interest me much on Forever, but it is piece of great work.

Well done.. :)

#50 ilmenit ONLINE  

ilmenit

    Moonsweeper

  • 402 posts

Posted Tue May 18, 2010 10:20 AM

Thanks in the name of the HDM team :)




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users