Jump to content

Photo

The hidden "heart" stage in Arkanoid


11 replies to this topic

#1 e1will OFFLINE  

e1will

    Moonsweeper

  • 347 posts

Posted Mon May 3, 2010 6:17 PM

Arkanoid fans might find this mildly interesting. I came across a screen that was coded, but never actually appears in the game:

Posted Image

More details here:
http://willnicholes.com/arkanoid.htm

--Will

Edited by e1will, Mon May 3, 2010 6:17 PM.


#2 Pyromaniac605 OFFLINE  

Pyromaniac605

    Dragonstomper

  • 541 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted Mon May 3, 2010 10:50 PM

Strange. Wouldn't have thought there would be any intentionally developed levels hidden. Maybe the bytes it is read just happen to make it that way. But that would be a 1 in 999,999,999,999,999 chance. :lol: Nice find!

Darren

#3 A.J. Franzman OFFLINE  

A.J. Franzman

    River Patroller

  • 4,327 posts
  • Syzygyst
  • Location:U.S.A. - See Map

Posted Thu May 6, 2010 11:23 PM

Will, did you happen to read down the third-to-last and second-to-last characters of each row beginning with level 100 in your LEVEL - DISPLAY table?:

GAMEOVERROUND_PLAYERREADY_

(note that the blanks only appear following the last letter of the words with an odd number of letters)

#4 e1will OFFLINE  

e1will

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 347 posts

Posted Fri May 7, 2010 8:01 AM

Will, did you happen to read down the third-to-last and second-to-last characters of each row beginning with level 100 in your LEVEL - DISPLAY table?:

GAMEOVERROUND_PLAYERREADY_

(note that the blanks only appear following the last letter of the words with an odd number of letters)


Very interesting! I didn't notice that. I guess that would explain where those letters came from.

--Will

#5 Crazy Climber OFFLINE  

Crazy Climber

    Crazy Climberer

  • 12,174 posts
  • Metamuciler
  • Location:NICHIBUTSU DELUXE

Posted Sat May 15, 2010 10:23 AM

Nice! I have never even made it close to the end of Arkanoid though, that game is brutally hard for me. I owned a Cocktail version for a year or so but if I was lucky made it to the 20's (stages)

#6 HFK OFFLINE  

HFK

    Moonsweeper

  • 445 posts
  • Location:Nokomis, Florida

Posted Sun May 16, 2010 9:31 PM

Wow, it is amazing to me what people will find sometimes. Very nice work.

#7 yuppicide OFFLINE  

yuppicide

    I am the Black Knight. Give me your money!

  • 6,933 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:01 PM

Nice work. Interesting find.

#8 Justin De Lucia OFFLINE  

Justin De Lucia

    Star Raider

  • 80 posts

Posted Sat Sep 8, 2012 2:45 PM

I am terribly sorry for the two-year-long bump, but I'd absolutely love to go and create new Arkanoid levels to replace the 222 glitch and replica levels, since you do mention a part about "level creation".

#9 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • 21,637 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Sat Sep 8, 2012 8:52 PM

"Never actually appears"? Are you sure of that? Easter eggs often depend on a specific set of circumstances to play out in order to be revealed.

#10 Justin De Lucia OFFLINE  

Justin De Lucia

    Star Raider

  • 80 posts

Posted Sat Sep 8, 2012 11:31 PM

I believe by "Never actually appearing", Moonsweeper meant not seen in normal gameplay. Since there's no way to advance beyond DOH's board without cheats, you'd never encounter the heart board. Maybe the heart wasn't an easter egg; it was an intentially-designed level that got scrapped when Taito decided to add a final boss, thus DOH was present instead. And even if the heart was an E-Egg, it'd couldn't really be since you cannot pull off a tricky tactic to see the heart board.

#11 Nukey Shay OFFLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • 21,637 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Sun Sep 9, 2012 8:39 AM

Somebody has looked though the program code to verify this?

#12 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    River Patroller

  • 3,822 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:15 AM

As my latest act of threadcromancy, I was wondering if there is any information on how the play screens are encoded either in the arcade ROM or on any other platform.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users