Jump to content

Photo

RXB - Rich Extended Basic


95 replies to this topic

#76 jacquesg OFFLINE  

jacquesg

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts

Posted Fri Nov 18, 2011 9:50 AM

I have continued to run each of the demo disks. I have RXB installed in the second bank of my HSGPL card and REA2012 installed in bank 10.

The RXB XB Programs files runs OK from DSK1.LOAD

The RXB BATCH DEMO eventually ran OK from DSK1.BATCH. After I corrected the FCOPY item for reasons unknown I had to split the BATCH file into two parts. Then BATCH ran to its completion and then I ran BATCH1.

Initially i could not run any of the 3 programs on the RXB AMS DEMO disk from DSK1. The TI would either indicate file not found or lock up the computer. I tried this from RXB and from both REA . I added LOAD to this disk by using the LOADER program and now I can run the AMSTEST and the AMSLDRDEMO programs. However I cannot run the BLOADDEMO program. The program loads but it seems it cannot find the SCRN1 etc files.

In what may be a related problem choosing 7 DIRECTORY from either REA modules will not read the two floppy drives DSK1 and DSK2 but will read all the other HRD drives from DSK3 to DSK9 and DSKA. I have a BwG disk controller.

#77 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    Stargunner

  • 1,085 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Fri Nov 18, 2011 2:46 PM

I had a disk controller long ago that I borrowed for testing and I think it was the BwG Disk Controller. It did have some very odd behaviour.

But it did work. So looking at RXB 2112 I found I made a bad copy of BLOADDEMO somehow and it is a bad file?

Here is the Bload program you can type in:
100 FOR Z=1 TO 20
110 CALL BLOAD("DSK#.SCRN"&STR$(Z))
120 CALL MOVES("RV",2079,8192,0)
130 NEXT Z
140 GOTO 100

The # means any disk will work or you could use "SCS1.XB.RXB.DEMO.SCRN"&STR$(Z)

So the meat of the program is the BLOAD and MOVES as you need to move the loaded lower 8K copy from RAM to VDP screen.

Here is a much faster AMS version:
100 CALL AMSINIT
110 FOR Z=1 TO 20
120 CALL BLOAD("DSK#.SCRN"&STR$(Z))
130 CALL AMSBANK(Z,Z+20)
140 NEXT Z
150 FOR Z=1 TO 20
160 CALL AMSBANK(Z,Z+20)
170 CALL MOVES("RV",2079,8192,0)
180 NEXT Z
190 GOTO 150


(I am noting errors you find and will fix them in a update to RXB 2012A as soon as I am sure that is the end of my screwups)

Edited by RXB, Fri Nov 18, 2011 3:00 PM.


#78 jacquesg OFFLINE  

jacquesg

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts

Posted Fri Nov 18, 2011 6:12 PM

I entered your BLOAD program and it ran as expected. Earlier I had run the AMS version and it was much faster. There is another difference between the two BLOAD demos. In some screens the AMS version shows a black background that prevents some of the text from showing.This was most apparent in the bones display. I found this puzzling because neither of the BLOAD demo programs contain anything that would change screen colour and both programs use the same set of SCRN# programs.

My problem with accessing floppy drives from my BwG DC seems to go away provided I enter a space after entering a 1 to catalog DSK1.

After I entered the changed BLOAD program I did a SAVE and the program was saved as an XB and not as a IV254 program. I think that I would have gotten a IV254 program had I first run the IV254ONLY program.

Would you explain the rationale for having a IV254 style XB program file. Perhaps then I will be able to decide which format I want to use with RXB. I sure do not want to be switching back and forth.

BTW for anyone who likes to use Funnelweb (like I do) and who also has a HSGPL card, there is a nice little program named GL (for gram loader) on Thierry's site. I have this GL program on my FW menu and from it I can access any of the modules on my HSGPL card including RXB and REA.

I still am not yet comfortable with all the options of RXB but slowly I feel that I am getting there. My main interest is to use BATCH files and to access the SAMS memory card.

#79 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    Stargunner

  • 1,085 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Fri Nov 18, 2011 7:06 PM

You know you can from REA just type 1 in Directory and it knows you mean DSK1.?
Or in RXB if you Type: CALL CAT(1) it will catalog DSK1. as it knows what you mean.
Or Type: CALL CAT(49) and it knows that is also DSK1. as it knows what you mean.

If you have a black screen then put a CALL SCREEN(color) to fix it.
The RXB command CALL MOVES copies then entire VDP memory from 0 to 2079 (0 to >081F)

All my XB programs are saved as Internal Variable 254 as when I catalog a drive I can instantly tell what is XB and what is EA.
Except for my BSAVE programs but they are all 32 sector files.

As for options the whole point of RXB was to add as many options as could fit into XB.

An example is I can write stuff in RXB that would required Assembly or C to pull off. XB is much more easy to write in and debug then these.

Edited by RXB, Fri Nov 18, 2011 7:10 PM.


#80 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    Stargunner

  • 1,085 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:20 PM

I thought another RXB demo was due and it seems to apply to some peoples problems with space, memory and speed.



#81 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    Stargunner

  • 1,085 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:20 PM

RXBDEMOA features demo on GKXB and all the features it added including the GKXB Editor features.



#82 TEXAS_JOE OFFLINE  

TEXAS_JOE

    Chopper Commander

  • 179 posts
  • Currently working on Final Furlong

Posted Tue Apr 3, 2012 4:00 AM

I've just started using RXB 2012 this morning (UK) and I must say, it's put a big smile on my face! I love this!

Why did TI not make XB like this, I mean, a CALL COINC command really should have been multiple parenthesis from the get-go.
I think the speed increase in the CALL MOTION as well as other commands is astounding, and kind of almost makes you forget the TI is bottlenecked.

Fun question: If TI made a V8 saloon car, would they bottleneck the engine to run on 4 cylinders?! ;)

I love this program Rich, I've just been through the demo's , it's excellent.

#83 TEXAS_JOE OFFLINE  

TEXAS_JOE

    Chopper Commander

  • 179 posts
  • Currently working on Final Furlong

Posted Tue Apr 3, 2012 4:01 AM

YES you've included character sets 15 & 16! :D


The missus just rang, she's coming home in 5 minutes ... but I swear to God as soon as she pisses off to bed I'm making an RXB game!

Edited by TEXAS_JOE, Tue Apr 3, 2012 4:17 AM.


#84 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    Stargunner

  • 1,085 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Wed Apr 4, 2012 4:46 AM

YES you've included character sets 15 & 16! :D


The missus just rang, she's coming home in 5 minutes ... but I swear to God as soon as she pisses off to bed I'm making an RXB game!


Thanks, not much talk of RXB with everyone focused on Forth lately.

#85 TEXAS_JOE OFFLINE  

TEXAS_JOE

    Chopper Commander

  • 179 posts
  • Currently working on Final Furlong

Posted Wed Apr 4, 2012 6:22 AM

Well, I've given Forth a try .... and I failed. It completely discombobulated me.

So I wanted to stick to familiar grounds but try something new too, and you're Extended Basic is just the thing I needed.

Now, unfortunately my time is a little compromised with the woman ... but I've got so many ideas spinning around in my head for new games based around RXB.

One thing I do want to do is re-write Arlington Horse Racing. The sprite motion in RXB is the main reason, I want to make the horses move in 2-cell animation like before, with they're drop shadows included, and also this time have something scrolling at the bottom of the screen, like a fence or maybe advertising boards, just to make the animation look a little more awesome. All of this is possible in RXB. I have to bear in mind the 4-sprite glitch so people with the real metal can play it too.

See, the way I see it , I like to use Harry Wilhelm's compiler but we can't do sprites, there's another compiler out there that does sprites but doesn't do sound. RXB is going to give me an edge because of the improvements. It's doing for XB for XB did for TI Basic. It's going to take me a while to get to grips with different methods of coding, but I'll get there and eventually there's gonna be a good few games getting put out that are RXB specific.

Good work man. :thumbsup: I'm going to enjoy using this new programming environment.

#86 rocky007 OFFLINE  

rocky007

    Moonsweeper

  • 386 posts
  • Location:Belgium

Posted Wed Apr 4, 2012 11:15 AM

...

See, the way I see it , I like to use Harry Wilhelm's compiler but we can't do sprites, there's another compiler out there that does sprites but doesn't do sound. RXB is going to give me an edge because of the improvements.


i vote for a RXB compiler :P

#87 TEXAS_JOE OFFLINE  

TEXAS_JOE

    Chopper Commander

  • 179 posts
  • Currently working on Final Furlong

Posted Wed Apr 4, 2012 12:31 PM

Agreed. That get's my vote too. :)

#88 slinkeey OFFLINE  

slinkeey

    Chopper Commander

  • 242 posts
  • Not a Gamer
  • Location:Racine, WI

Posted Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:08 PM

Anyone running RXB 2012 in MESS?  I need an RPK file, right?


Edited by slinkeey, Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:08 PM.


#89 RobertLM78 OFFLINE  

RobertLM78

    Moonsweeper

  • 496 posts
  • Physics Undergrad
  • Location:Albuquerque, NM

Posted Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:20 PM

Anyone running RXB 2012 in MESS?  I need an RPK file, right?

Yep - I've attached a zip of rpks for you :).

 

Edit: These are, of course, from whtech, BTW.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  RXB.zip   155.25KB   13 downloads

Edited by RobertLM78, Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:21 PM.


#90 slinkeey OFFLINE  

slinkeey

    Chopper Commander

  • 242 posts
  • Not a Gamer
  • Location:Racine, WI

Posted Thu Apr 10, 2014 8:30 PM

Thanks for the help.

Alright..  I was on whtech,

I didn't think to look in:
ftp://ftp.whtech.com/emulators/cartridges/zip/

I was hanging out in:
ftp://ftp.whtech.com/emulators/cartridges/rpk/

I never loaded a cartridge in MESS.  I figured RXB would be a fun start.  Awesome... It started up with RXB.

 

[mess ti99_4a -cart1 rxb_2012.rpk -natural]


Edited by slinkeey, Thu Apr 10, 2014 9:15 PM.


#91 Lee Stewart OFFLINE  

Lee Stewart

    Stargunner

  • 1,229 posts
  • Location:Maryland

Posted Thu Apr 10, 2014 9:09 PM

Thanks for the help.

Alright..  I was on whtech,

I didn't think to look in:
ftp://ftp.whtech.com/emulators/cartridges/zip/

I was hanging out in:
ftp://ftp.whtech.com/emulators/cartridges/rpk/

I never loaded a cartridge in MESS.  I figured RXB would be a fun start.

 

You should always look first in sitelist.txt, which is in the whtech top-level directory.

 

...lee



#92 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    Moonsweeper

  • 410 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Apr 11, 2014 4:52 AM

Some explanations:

 

The RPK files are cartridges which contain the memory dumps as files and another file (layout.xml) which informs the emulation which file belongs to which part of memory. This was designed mainly by me at times where the user had to install the dumps at the proper locations himself.

 

RPK cartridges have to be installed by giving the path name of the file. That is, you would have to specify /home/michael/mess/carts/editor_assembler.rpk, just like a disk image file.

 

The ZIP files are a more recent format (and have become the standard MAME/MESS cartridge format) which merely differ from the RPK files by not including the XML file, but only the dump files. The layout is defined inside MAME/MESS. The file name is also defined in that file, so the name of the cartridge zip file must exactly match the name in the internal file.

 

Both formats have their pros and cons.

 

RPK: You can have several different instances of a cartridges. For example, you could have two different MiniMemories. Since the memory contents are stored in a file in the nvram folder and not in the RPK, you could modify the layout.xml of one cartridge and change the backup file name. That way, either cartridge has its own saved memory without overwriting one another. Also, you can easily change the cartridge contents, in particular when there are new releases. RXB is such a case. Also, not all RPK features have been included in the zip file handling, in particular we do not have NVRAM definitions, which are required by cartridges like MiniMemory or SuperSpace. Finally, the names for RPKs are completely free to choose, while the zip files must not have names longer than 8 characters plus ".zip". Yes, I complained about that one, with minor success (actually, none).

 

ZIP: The zip format is directly supported by the MAME core. In order to plug in a cartridge you have to specify the name of the cartridge, not the path name of the file. This may be more comfortable in many occasions (much less typing). For Editor/Assembler, the name is "editass". The good thing is that the MAME core can look up the cartridge in case you do not know the exact name, and it tries some fuzzy search:

 

./ti99 -cart edit

"edit" approximately matches the following
supported software items (best match first):

* Software list "ti99_cart" (TI-99/4A cartridges) matches:
editass           Editor/Assembler
edasseb           Editor Assembler 1987 / Easy Debugger 2.1
speeched          Speech Editor
edupack           Edu-Pack
pertest           Peripheral Diagnostic Module
alienadd          Alien Addition
earlyrd           Early Reading
addseq            Milliken Math Sequences - Addition
perrecdi          Personal Record Keeping (German/Italian)
readadv           Reading Adventures
readflt           Reading Flight
readtrl           Reading Trail
centipd           Centipede
escape            Escape
blackhl           Black Hole
burgerbd          Burger Builder

FATALERROR: Device TI-99 cartridge load (edit) failed: File not found

 

One of the most important features of zip files are that you can verify the ROM contents. That is, the MAME core rejects cartridges that have modified contents, compared to the fingerprints inside the emulation. Of course, this is only an advantage from the conservation viewpoint; in case of "homebrew" software that is currently still being developed, some devs have proposed to be able to add the definitions as a separate XML file. Maybe I can convince them to use the RPK format for that. At least they seem to have understood my point that I do not plan to remove the RPK support now or in foreseeable future, since it does well what it is intended for.

 

(I confess that I use the zip format increasingly often if the cartridge is actually supported by the zip format ... just for the sake of less typing.)



#93 jacquesg OFFLINE  

jacquesg

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts

Posted Fri Apr 11, 2014 5:54 AM

For those of us who prefer to use QM2C will selecting the zip file act in the same manner as selecting the rpk file?

Jacques

#94 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    Moonsweeper

  • 410 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Apr 11, 2014 7:49 AM

On the right part of the QMC2 screen, right at the top there is a field with a row of tabs (starts with "Preview", "Flyer", "Machine Info". Go to the tab "Software list" (you may need to use the arrow buttons on the right).

#95 jacquesg OFFLINE  

jacquesg

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts

Posted Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:20 AM

On the right part of the QMC2 screen, right at the top there is a field with a row of tabs (starts with "Preview", "Flyer", "Machine Info". Go to the tab "Software list" (you may need to use the arrow buttons on the right).

BIG WARNING

Going to "Software list" wiped out all the Device file information that my MESS configurations contained. My nvrom file and its backup are still there but do not seem to load.

The above reply does not really answer my question. Up to now I have been putting a .rpk as the file to go to for a cartridge selection. My question was simply to find out if a .zip file will react in the same way as a .rpk file when entered when using QM2C.

I hope that there is a simple solution to recover my 4 MESS configurations.

 

On a second look it has only wiped out  the TI-99/4A (US) which contained simple FWB configuration with 4 carts and also a similar configuration that added a HSGPL emulation. This HSGPL configuration was a near clone of my real TI-99/4A set up. I still have the MESS TI-99/4A setup with EVPC..

Jacques
 


Edited by jacquesg, Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:36 AM.


#96 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    Moonsweeper

  • 410 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Apr 11, 2014 8:47 AM

Hmmm ... sorry if that does wipe out anything; I'm not aware of any such side-effect of QMC2. I can check that and give feedback to the QMC2 author.

What was actually lost - the QMC2 configuration or the NVRAM files? You should try to run the emulation outside of QMC2 to check whether the NVRAM is still OK.

It was actually intended as a reply to your question. The zip files are only selectable via the software list. Actually, as I wrote in my long description above, you do not provide a file name but the name of the cartridge. Within QMC2 this is done in the section for software list. You cannot put the zip file in the place of the RPK file.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users