Jump to content

Photo

Sinistar in Cartridge Form!


90 replies to this topic

#51 Coleco OFFLINE  

Coleco

    Chopper Commander

  • 104 posts

Posted Thu Jun 24, 2010 5:04 PM

Got my copy today. Thanks for the quick service.
This is not a game I played much in the arcades, so I'm a bit lost. Figured out how to gather up bombs and whatnot.

Dumb question: How does one shoot sinibombs? Second fire button? Or do they just come out when you fire at Sinistar?

#52 VectorGamer OFFLINE  

VectorGamer

    Quadrunner

  • 8,454 posts
  • \m/
  • Location:Harrisburg

Posted Thu Jun 24, 2010 8:39 PM

Got my copy today. Thanks for the quick service.
This is not a game I played much in the arcades, so I'm a bit lost. Figured out how to gather up bombs and whatnot.

Dumb question: How does one shoot sinibombs? Second fire button? Or do they just come out when you fire at Sinistar?


Use the bottom button (assuming your using the stock 5200 controllers)

#53 Coleco OFFLINE  

Coleco

    Chopper Commander

  • 104 posts

Posted Fri Jun 25, 2010 8:54 AM


Got my copy today. Thanks for the quick service.
This is not a game I played much in the arcades, so I'm a bit lost. Figured out how to gather up bombs and whatnot.

Dumb question: How does one shoot sinibombs? Second fire button? Or do they just come out when you fire at Sinistar?


Use the bottom button (assuming your using the stock 5200 controllers)


Yes, but that's the same button you use to make regular shots. Does it shoot the bombs when you point it at Sinistar?
Sorry to sound so moronic here. I'm sure I'll figure it out given a bit more time playing the game.

#54 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,269 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Fri Jun 25, 2010 9:00 AM



Got my copy today. Thanks for the quick service.
This is not a game I played much in the arcades, so I'm a bit lost. Figured out how to gather up bombs and whatnot.

Dumb question: How does one shoot sinibombs? Second fire button? Or do they just come out when you fire at Sinistar?


Use the bottom button (assuming your using the stock 5200 controllers)


Yes, but that's the same button you use to make regular shots. Does it shoot the bombs when you point it at Sinistar?
Sorry to sound so moronic here. I'm sure I'll figure it out given a bit more time playing the game.

When you have automatic fire on, the bottom button shoots the sinibombs. When the auto-fire is shut off, the bottom button is your laser, the top one is the sinibombs.

Allan

#55 NoahsMyBro OFFLINE  

NoahsMyBro

    Dragonstomper

  • 551 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted Fri Jun 25, 2010 10:40 AM

<Homer>

Uuuuuummmmmmmmmmmm, Cinnabuns...........

</Homer>

Oh, Sin-a-bombs, you say?
Posted Image

#56 Akidagain OFFLINE  

Akidagain

    Space Invader

  • 12 posts
  • Location:Mt Dora, FL

Posted Fri Jun 25, 2010 3:58 PM

Great game!!! Great service!!! If anyone is thinking about getting Sinistar, do it. It's a lot of fun and very challenging.
Al, thank you for all you do.

Best,

Eric

#57 JohnnyBlaze OFFLINE  

JohnnyBlaze

    Stargunner

  • 1,887 posts
  • JTG: Employed by WWE for 7 Years and 30 Days
  • Location:Elizabeth,New Jersey,U.S.A.

Posted Sun Jun 27, 2010 8:53 PM

DAMN! I wish I still had my 5200. But, the controller kept pissing me off and I was worried about breaking it from playing so much. Anyways, is it just me or is the collision detection a little off? That could be what wasn't finished on the cart.

#58 Albert OFFLINE  

Albert

    Greetings, Avatar!

  • Topic Starter
  • 30,078 posts
  • Location:Sosaria

Posted Sun Jun 27, 2010 9:02 PM

DAMN! I wish I still had my 5200. But, the controller kept pissing me off and I was worried about breaking it from playing so much. Anyways, is it just me or is the collision detection a little off? That could be what wasn't finished on the cart.

Seemed fine to me when I played it on real hardware.

..Al

#59 VectorGamer OFFLINE  

VectorGamer

    Quadrunner

  • 8,454 posts
  • \m/
  • Location:Harrisburg

Posted Sun Jun 27, 2010 9:33 PM


DAMN! I wish I still had my 5200. But, the controller kept pissing me off and I was worried about breaking it from playing so much. Anyways, is it just me or is the collision detection a little off? That could be what wasn't finished on the cart.

Seemed fine to me when I played it on real hardware.

..Al


I disagree - the collision detection is off a bit. I have to be on top of the warriors in order to kill them off.

As I said in the other thread: the collision detection in arcade Sinistar is "spot on" but this version is not.

#60 ledzep OFFLINE  

ledzep

    Dragonstomper

  • 603 posts
  • Location:Los Angeles

Posted Mon Jun 28, 2010 4:15 AM

I disagree - the collision detection is off a bit. I have to be on top of the warriors in order to kill them off.

As I said in the other thread: the collision detection in arcade Sinistar is "spot on" but this version is not.


This brings up a question I wanted to ask about this game. Before I go any further, this is not a complaint! I appreciate all that's gone into even getting this out to people at all, to say nothing about what it bear it must have been to convert it to 5200 cart form. But this (barely) incomplete version of a popular arcade game can't help but remind me of the ongoing efforts to get a complete Tempest out for the 5200.

So my question is (having nothing to do with this current prototype release), would it be possible in the future for Sinistar to be "finished"? I know, easy thing to ask, I certainly am not implying that it would be simple or take only a couple of days. I'm just curious if whoever has been dealing with the conversion has become familiar enough with the code to make the leap towards fixing the apparently few issues with the game (such as the collision detection, the color changes, corrupted text, etc.) that people have noticed, if the original programmer would even mind. Just wondering out loud, I'm happy enough to have been able to get any version of this for the 5200, especially one so close to being a complete version (compared to some unplayable protos).

#61 Greg2600 OFFLINE  

Greg2600

    Stargunner

  • 1,635 posts
  • Location:NJ

Posted Thu Jul 1, 2010 5:52 PM

This maybe should go to Wrathchild, who did the conversion, but does the 5200 version use special bank switching like BBSB?

#62 Albert OFFLINE  

Albert

    Greetings, Avatar!

  • Topic Starter
  • 30,078 posts
  • Location:Sosaria

Posted Thu Jul 1, 2010 5:58 PM

This maybe should go to Wrathchild, who did the conversion, but does the 5200 version use special bank switching like BBSB?

No, it does not.

..Al

#63 Wrathchild OFFLINE  

Wrathchild

    Stargunner

  • 1,521 posts
  • Location:Reading, UK.

Posted Fri Jul 2, 2010 1:04 AM

I'm just curious if whoever has been dealing with the conversion has become familiar enough with the code to make the leap towards fixing the apparently few issues with the game

Sort-of familar :D

In doing the 5200 port first, this was done with the approach of leaving everything in its original prototype state, therefore the code and data lay at the same addresses and are padded or call extra routines to handle the differences between the A8 and 5200 (joystick mapping/key reading etc). Hence its <24K fitted onto a 32K cart.

Since then I have played with moving the A8 version onto FlashCart and have correct all tables etc so that the code/data can be relocated anywhere and so in doing so a bit more understanding has been made. However I haven't attempted to track down and fix any of the bugs.

Mark

#64 BydoEmpire OFFLINE  

BydoEmpire

    River Patroller

  • 2,237 posts
  • Location:Orlando, FL USA

Posted Mon Jul 5, 2010 8:46 AM

I played a lot of this over the weekend and I just couldn't be more impressed with the sound - it's pretty spot-on to the arcade game. And just having a Sinistar cartridge plugged into my 5200 just makes me smile. Thanks to everyone who worked on this and helped get it out there. Very much appreciated.

#65 ledzep OFFLINE  

ledzep

    Dragonstomper

  • 603 posts
  • Location:Los Angeles

Posted Mon Jul 5, 2010 9:55 PM

Sort-of familar :D

In doing the 5200 port first, this was done with the approach of leaving everything in its original prototype state, therefore the code and data lay at the same addresses and are padded or call extra routines to handle the differences between the A8 and 5200 (joystick mapping/key reading etc). Hence its <24K fitted onto a 32K cart.

Since then I have played with moving the A8 version onto FlashCart and have correct all tables etc so that the code/data can be relocated anywhere and so in doing so a bit more understanding has been made. However I haven't attempted to track down and fix any of the bugs.

Mark


That's good to hear. I have no expectations and you're not obligated to deal with a game you didn't even start, I just think it would be cool to eventually get a "complete" version. I'm thinking like the ongoing efforts to finish Tempest and Cloak & Dagger. I guess it's the old-school fanboy in me that thinks it would be sssssooooooooo cool to have those (now) three games in complete form for the 5200, this is better than when the system was new!

#66 bohoki OFFLINE  

bohoki

    Stargunner

  • 1,080 posts

Posted Mon Jul 5, 2010 11:47 PM


Sort-of familar :D

In doing the 5200 port first, this was done with the approach of leaving everything in its original prototype state, therefore the code and data lay at the same addresses and are padded or call extra routines to handle the differences between the A8 and 5200 (joystick mapping/key reading etc). Hence its <24K fitted onto a 32K cart.

Since then I have played with moving the A8 version onto FlashCart and have correct all tables etc so that the code/data can be relocated anywhere and so in doing so a bit more understanding has been made. However I haven't attempted to track down and fix any of the bugs.

Mark



That's good to hear. I have no expectations and you're not obligated to deal with a game you didn't even start, I just think it would be cool to eventually get a "complete" version. I'm thinking like the ongoing efforts to finish Tempest and Cloak & Dagger. I guess it's the old-school fanboy in me that thinks it would be sssssooooooooo cool to have those (now) three games in complete form for the 5200, this is better than when the system was new!



i applaud the maker of the sinistar cart it is very decent although it is my most hated arcade game

but i'd much rather have say bump and jump/burnin rubber whatever its supposed to be called

#67 Official Ninja OFFLINE  

Official Ninja

    River Patroller

  • 2,600 posts
  • Location:NJ, USA

Posted Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:10 PM

Ive been playing my cart and notice that sometimes letters are missing from the text in the game.
Is this normal or my cart?

Besides that, I've really been enjoying the game. Its lots of fun!

#68 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,269 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:31 PM

Ive been playing my cart and notice that sometimes letters are missing from the text in the game.
Is this normal or my cart?

Besides that, I've really been enjoying the game. Its lots of fun!

This is a bug in the game. It pretty much happens every time. It takes a bit to start in the game but so far for me it eventually happens in every game.

Allan

#69 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Your snarky overlord

  • 22,641 posts
  • Location:ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Posted Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:36 PM

hmm... Perhaps someone can investigate this bug? I noticed this as well when I was doing my review.

Tempest

#70 atari-dna OFFLINE  

atari-dna

    Combat Commando

  • 5 posts
  • Location:Richmond, VA

Posted Sun Jul 25, 2010 6:33 PM

Hi Albert,

This looks exquisite. Despite a few bugs, I could not resist. Payment has been sent!

Looking forward to Tempest, Keithen is my hero for completing this! Will there be trakball compatibility?

Jeff

#71 gHan2000 OFFLINE  

gHan2000

    Space Invader

  • 41 posts

Posted Wed Sep 15, 2010 4:18 PM

At 2:41 it's funny how the 8-bit voice makes him sound bored!

#72 BIGHMW OFFLINE  

BIGHMW

    Space Invader

  • 27 posts
  • Location:Port Townsend, WA, USA

Posted Mon Sep 27, 2010 11:18 AM

Got mine just a couple of weeks ago, I can't wait to play it, but my beloved 5200 (that I have owned since my 17th birthday, which was on 5/19/83, a 4-port, U.S.A.-made unit, Serial No. 141101) is currently on the DL with powering up issues. Once those are taken care of, as well as my taking delivery on a new (but still Windows XP Pro) PC, I will re-acquire both Meteorites and Bounty Bob Strikes Back for my AT52. I was forced to sell them both on eBay a couple of years back due to mounting financial issues as well as being unemployed at the time.

"BEWARE..... I LIVE!!!"

-the immortal words of Sinistar himself

#73 Official Ninja OFFLINE  

Official Ninja

    River Patroller

  • 2,600 posts
  • Location:NJ, USA

Posted Sat Oct 2, 2010 7:40 PM

Before someone asks, I will release the binary soon. :)

..Al


Al, was the binary ever released?

#74 segagamer OFFLINE  

segagamer

    Space Invader

  • 14 posts
  • Location:Streamwood, IL

Posted Wed Feb 9, 2011 12:42 PM


Before someone asks, I will release the binary soon. :)

..Al


Al, was the binary ever released?

I would like to know as well...

#75 Wayne2072 OFFLINE  

Wayne2072

    Star Raider

  • 69 posts

Posted Fri Aug 5, 2011 9:18 AM

Is this cart still available? It's not on the AtariAge store link. It's definitely one I would like to get.

Wayne




1 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users