Jump to content

Photo

looking for a CF7


37 replies to this topic

#1 lucifershalo OFFLINE  

lucifershalo

    River Patroller

  • 3,059 posts
  • Location:Belgium

Posted Mon Aug 9, 2010 10:04 AM

I wonder if there are any projects of flashcart or similar?

like atari 8 bit : atarimax cart
c64: MMCreplay
vic20: megacart
spectrum: divIDE

I have about 20 carts
but it would be better to have one cart

I am not looking for a cable transfer, that is too complicated

thanks

#2 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 10,735 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Mon Aug 9, 2010 10:20 AM

I'm thinking your best bet would be a CF7 device with 2 carts--- EA and XB. The large majority of TI programs are not written to run from cartridge, so it would be just about impossible to run them from the cartridge port. With the CF7 device, you can run DSK versions (Kracked carts) of cartridge games as well as all disk-based games. This would be easy--- as you simply load up your CF card with all the stuff you have/want and go to town. They are currently 40-50 bucks on eBay if you can find them--- great device and just as easy to load with programs as any USB flashcart. Meanwhile, Jon's 64k boards can be hacked up to 512k--- I have one of these large multi-carts and it has about 60 cartridges on it. The documentation on how to do this can be found on http://www.hexbus.com

happy hunting!!

#3 lucifershalo OFFLINE  

lucifershalo

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,059 posts
  • Location:Belgium

Posted Mon Aug 9, 2010 12:40 PM

ok I saw pictures of that CF7 device
is it plugging to the computer via the expansion port?

what are the 2 carts EA and XB , that you are talking about?

#4 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 4,225 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Mon Aug 9, 2010 12:56 PM

ok I saw pictures of that CF7 device
is it plugging to the computer via the expansion port?

what are the 2 carts EA and XB , that you are talking about?

Yes.

The majority of existing TI software will run in either TI Basic (built into the console), using the TI Extended Basic (XB) cartridge or the Editor/Assembler (EA) cartridge.

:)

#5 lucifershalo OFFLINE  

lucifershalo

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,059 posts
  • Location:Belgium

Posted Mon Aug 9, 2010 1:10 PM

so you need those 2 carts to make the CF7 work....

how do you know which one to plug?
you try one and if it doesnt work, you try the other one? :ponder:

#6 retroclouds OFFLINE  

retroclouds

    Stargunner

  • 1,698 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Aug 9, 2010 1:18 PM

Yep, the CF7+ is the best you can get. Unfortunately we don't have a menu software similar to the atarimax cartridge.

I've been thinking about building something like that. I mean a 8K or 16K ROM image that we can put on a Jon Guidry cart.
This ROM image would act as the menu software. We've got plenty of space on the CF7+ flashcard, combined with 32K of RAM
we could have many features like game selection via screenshots, manuals, etc.

The actual games or programs would be on the flash card. Combine that with a PC software for generating
the flashcard DISK images, screenshots, manuals and we would really be rolling :D

#7 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 4,225 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Mon Aug 9, 2010 1:58 PM

so you need those 2 carts to make the CF7 work....

how do you know which one to plug?
you try one and if it doesnt work, you try the other one? :ponder:

Well, even if the majority of TI software runs in Basic, XB or EA, it not necessarily the most popular software. The game cartridges has an advantage of loading almost instantly. I believe many cartridges have been made as EA programs to fit on disk and therefore also working when stored in the CF7. There will be a loading time though.

If you get a bunch of disks (or just one disk with many games/programs), there might be readme file on there. A file called load indicates XB (either for one of the games, or hopefully a menu system for the disk).

:)

#8 retroclouds OFFLINE  

retroclouds

    Stargunner

  • 1,698 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Aug 9, 2010 2:17 PM

I'd say that most #EA5 assembly games on the CF7+ load in less than 2 seconds :D

#9 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 4,225 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Mon Aug 9, 2010 2:54 PM

I just checked a disk with Centipede and Defender, but I guess they actually need Superspace cartridge to run. The games files are 8K ROM dumps.

:|

#10 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 4,225 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Mon Aug 9, 2010 2:56 PM

I'd say that most #EA5 assembly games on the CF7+ load in less than 2 seconds :D

How would that compare to doing the same with a PEB and standard TI controller etc. ?

:)

#11 lucifershalo OFFLINE  

lucifershalo

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,059 posts
  • Location:Belgium

Posted Mon Aug 9, 2010 3:51 PM

ok,
quite improbable but who knows...
I am looking for a CF7

thanks

#12 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,609 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Mon Aug 9, 2010 3:54 PM

Regarding CF7 disk images, some stuff I posted before.

#13 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 10,735 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Mon Aug 9, 2010 7:04 PM

Thanks again remo... I have your dsk images on two of my CF cards.... Priceless stuff man.

#14 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 10,735 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Mon Aug 9, 2010 9:08 PM

As far as the CF7 goes, I am considering doing another contest and offering another CF7 as the grand prize. I will probably keep a similar format--- limits on line numbers and data statements.... I am considering a few interesting twists this time around, though.... :)

#15 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 4,225 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:22 AM

As far as the CF7 goes, I am considering doing another contest and offering another CF7 as the grand prize. I will probably keep a similar format--- limits on line numbers and data statements.... I am considering a few interesting twists this time around, though.... :)

Hi Opry99er, a new contest would maybe bring back some activity on the forum after this summer (guess most of us are in the northern hemisphere). May I suggest several consecutive contests each running at least one month. Maybe something like this:

  • XB 15 line mini demo
  • XB 30 line mini game
  • XB demo 15 line, 5 data and 1 subroutine with any number of character definitions
  • XB game 30 line, 10 data and 1 subroutine with any number of character definitions
  • EA3/5/ROM 2K demo
  • EA3/5/ROM 4K game
The sub with character definitions are only allowed to use CALL CHAR. No other funny stuff.

Maybe I could have some sort of Music tool ready for XB.

:)

#16 retroclouds OFFLINE  

retroclouds

    Stargunner

  • 1,698 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Aug 14, 2010 1:34 PM

hmmm, the EA3/5/ROM 2K demo and EA3/5/ROM 4K game competition would be nice :)

#17 AA737 OFFLINE  

AA737

    Space Invader

  • 10 posts
  • Location:US

Posted Mon Aug 16, 2010 11:52 PM

Hi all, new here. Just returned to the TI99/4a after 20 some years. Anyway, I would like to get one of these CF7+ units to mess with. No listing on Ebay for now, can I get the sellers eBay info so I can keep an eye for one? Thanks all for any help. :( Had most of the TI items back in the 80s and gave it all up to goodwill a long time ago. Now I'm trying get it all back.

Edited by AA737, Tue Aug 17, 2010 12:01 AM.


#18 retroclouds OFFLINE  

retroclouds

    Stargunner

  • 1,698 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Aug 17, 2010 1:31 AM

Hi all, new here. Just returned to the TI99/4a after 20 some years. Anyway, I would like to get one of these CF7+ units to mess with. No listing on Ebay for now, can I get the sellers eBay info so I can keep an eye for one? Thanks all for any help. :( Had most of the TI items back in the 80s and gave it all up to goodwill a long time ago. Now I'm trying get it all back.


Hi AA737!

First of all, welcome to our Atariage group. You'll probably find a lot of interesting stuff here ;)
You also might want to check out the top thread (Development Resources sticky thread) as it has a reference to the TI-FAQ on Ninerpedia.

Now to your question: His ebay seller name is schmutzig1952. Just recently he had a CF7+ with serial connection up for sale.
It went in a split second. Apparently he is working on a new batch of those. Note that the device now is called
"nanoPEB" instead of CF7+. Look at ebay article 200505522099 for some pictures.

Good luck!

#19 AA737 OFFLINE  

AA737

    Space Invader

  • 10 posts
  • Location:US

Posted Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:41 AM

Hi all, new here. Just returned to the TI99/4a after 20 some years. Anyway, I would like to get one of these CF7+ units to mess with. No listing on Ebay for now, can I get the sellers eBay info so I can keep an eye for one? Thanks all for any help. :( Had most of the TI items back in the 80s and gave it all up to goodwill a long time ago. Now I'm trying get it all back.


Hi AA737!

First of all, welcome to our Atariage group. You'll probably find a lot of interesting stuff here ;)
You also might want to check out the top thread (Development Resources sticky thread) as it has a reference to the TI-FAQ on Ninerpedia.

Now to your question: His ebay seller name is schmutzig1952. Just recently he had a CF7+ with serial connection up for sale.
It went in a split second. Apparently he is working on a new batch of those. Note that the device now is called
"nanoPEB" instead of CF7+. Look at ebay article 200505522099 for some pictures.

Good luck!



#20 AA737 OFFLINE  

AA737

    Space Invader

  • 10 posts
  • Location:US

Posted Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:44 AM

Thanks for the supper quick response and info, I will keep an eye open for one. :pirate:

#21 marc.hull OFFLINE  

marc.hull

    Stargunner

  • 1,297 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma CIty.

Posted Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:36 AM

I just checked a disk with Centipede and Defender, but I guess they actually need Superspace cartridge to run. The games files are 8K ROM dumps.

:|


The Atari dumps I have seen (with a couple of exceptions) require a special loader (the Atari cracked screen) but they are all dumped and hacked to run in memex. Perhaps this forum needs a file repository if there is not one all ready...

#22 Gary from OPA OFFLINE  

Gary from OPA

    Moonsweeper

  • 420 posts
  • Location:The World Wide Web

Posted Wed Aug 18, 2010 7:17 AM

The Atari dumps I have seen (with a couple of exceptions) require a special loader (the Atari cracked screen) but they are all dumped and hacked to run in memex. Perhaps this forum needs a file repository if there is not one all ready...


I have the full original assembly "source code" to that (cough) "special loader" needed to get around Atari's simple protection on the dumps.

#23 marc.hull OFFLINE  

marc.hull

    Stargunner

  • 1,297 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma CIty.

Posted Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:13 AM

The Atari dumps I have seen (with a couple of exceptions) require a special loader (the Atari cracked screen) but they are all dumped and hacked to run in memex. Perhaps this forum needs a file repository if there is not one all ready...


I have the full original assembly "source code" to that (cough) "special loader" needed to get around Atari's simple protection on the dumps.


Any chance I could get a copy?

#24 Gary from OPA OFFLINE  

Gary from OPA

    Moonsweeper

  • 420 posts
  • Location:The World Wide Web

Posted Wed Aug 18, 2010 9:51 AM

The Atari dumps I have seen (with a couple of exceptions) require a special loader (the Atari cracked screen) but they are all dumped and hacked to run in memex. Perhaps this forum needs a file repository if there is not one all ready...


I have the full original assembly "source code" to that (cough) "special loader" needed to get around Atari's simple protection on the dumps.


Any chance I could get a copy?


No problem, I is on my list of stuff to "recover", I gone thru all my disks, and archives, and only exists in a binder now of printouts, so I going to busy myself later this weekend in typing it back in, and double-checking the code. -- Will keep everyone posted regarding this. -- This discussion regarding "Atari dumps/loader" should be moved to a new thread!

#25 retroclouds OFFLINE  

retroclouds

    Stargunner

  • 1,698 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Aug 22, 2010 2:01 AM

Grab them while you can, Jaime has some for sale right now.
It's the version with the RS232. He still has 3 left.

Check out ebay article eBay Auction -- Item Number: 200511000666




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users