Jump to content

Photo

MagicJack-Is this something you'd buy or have bought?


67 replies to this topic

#1 Defender II OFFLINE  

Defender II

    Dragonstomper

  • 934 posts
  • Location:Traveling through space & time

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 3:46 AM

I have had Vonage and no complaint until they started raising rates. Now I am looking at the MagicJack

Does anyone have any feedback on it?
Can you use a modem over it to connect to a BBS?
There are some more starting up again but I don't want to pay long distance charges.

The thing that concerns me the most is what I found in their TOS about advertising and tracking the calls for focusing it.http://www.magicjack.com/tos/

"11. Advertisements

You also understand and agree that use of the magicJack device and Software will include advertisements. Advertisements will be served through the magicPage™ Software or the magicJack softphone - the software/softphone attempts to serve local advertisements and classifieds using a completely automated process that enables us to effectively target dynamically changing content. Our computers may analyze the phone numbers you call and your registration information in order to improve the relevance of the ads. We do not provide any personal information to our advertisers or third parties. magicJack has a policy of restricting advertisers that it believes are inappropriate, but it does not guarantee the accuracy or integrity of any advertisers and does not endorse any of the advertisements that may appear in connection with use of the magicJack device. You also understand and agree that use of the magicJack device and Software may include certain communications, such as service announcements, administrative messages and newsletters, and you will not be able to opt out of receiving them."

www.magicjack.com

#2 eightbit OFFLINE  

eightbit

    Stargunner

  • 1,387 posts
  • Location:Butler, NJ

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 5:19 AM

I have it, and actually cancelled my phone service soon after ;) The ads they are referring to are inside of the dialer software. It is not like you get ads plastered all over your PC or something. Do a search for "magicsilence" which is a plugin from a very talented hacker that supresses the magicjack dialer from popping up (it WILL pop up every time you pick up the phone without it!)

With the plugin, the dialer never comes up and I simply have dialtone every time I pick up the phone...like a normal phone of course.

Feedback? Hey, it works and it's $20 a year. Can't beat it. It will work with modems and faxes as well...just like a normal phone. The only thing that really sucks is that your computer and internet connection always have to be on for it to work. Not that bad for me (as my pc IS always on) but may be a problem for people who like to shut down their stuff.

#3 video game addict OFFLINE  

video game addict

    Quadrunner

  • 7,075 posts
  • Blessed
  • Location:Florida

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 6:19 AM

Interesting topic. I've been meaning to check into this some more myself. We currently have a home line through our cable company, Brighthouse. It's like $20 a month extra Which they package together with the Cable & Internet, but it still adds up. We just called last month, after some friends told us they were offering a hardship promo :lol: But just a call to drop some channels or the phone service & they offered us more channels (encore, YES network, etc) and $15 off a month to keep what we had.. So we've kept it all for now. :) But $20 a year vs $20 a month... sounds like a good deal. Wow I didn't realize they hit you with ads. So how does it work normally? You have to wait through some ads before the dialtone comes up? What if someone calls you?

#4 TrekMD OFFLINE  

TrekMD

    River Patroller

  • 2,378 posts
  • Location:Coral Gables, FL

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 6:29 AM

I have one and it works just fine. I mostly use it for when I travel on business both domestically and abroad. As long as you have a good internet connection, this Jack is truly Magic. :)

#5 eightbit OFFLINE  

eightbit

    Stargunner

  • 1,387 posts
  • Location:Butler, NJ

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 6:57 AM

Whenever you pick up the phone, this is what happens on the screen....unless of course you use Magicsilence. That is the extent of the "ads". Please excuse the very quick and dirty erasure of my personal info ;)

#6 Reaperman OFFLINE  

Reaperman

    River Patroller

  • 4,563 posts
  • Location:New Orleans, LA

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 7:45 AM

When I moved in to my new place in may '09, I picked up magicjack. At first there were phone-related problems. People couldn't hear eachother and whatnot, and these problems still occasionally pop up. Overall though I'm happy with the service (since I never use my phone anyway), and have renewed my 1-year with a 5-year. I have a spare low-power laptop sitting next to the phone, which does nothing except run phone software. It's closed, but the magicjack keeps it from going to sleep, so I've never seen those ads. This was the first I've heard of them.

I can't answer about the bbs thing though.

#7 Defender II OFFLINE  

Defender II

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 934 posts
  • Location:Traveling through space & time

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 11:54 AM

When I moved in to my new place in may '09, I picked up magicjack. At first there were phone-related problems. People couldn't hear eachother and whatnot, and these problems still occasionally pop up. Overall though I'm happy with the service (since I never use my phone anyway), and have renewed my 1-year with a 5-year. I have a spare low-power laptop sitting next to the phone, which does nothing except run phone software. It's closed, but the magicjack keeps it from going to sleep, so I've never seen those ads. This was the first I've heard of them.

I can't answer about the bbs thing though.


I was planning on a similar setup. I want to find a small laptop, pull the electromechanical drive and put in a solid-state one.

My concern, is not with the ad they display, but that they track your calls for the purpose of focusing ads. They say they don't provide the info to third parties, but their TOS also says they can change the TOS so...

I really liked the quality of Vonage, but I'd like to reduce the costs of phone service as much as I can. All the taxes and fees were still applied to Vonage and Magic-Jack says they don't have them. I don't see why they don't, since they are basically the same except Vonage provides a switch system so you don't need to have a PC.

#8 Defender II OFFLINE  

Defender II

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 934 posts
  • Location:Traveling through space & time

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:01 PM

Overall though I'm happy with the service (since I never use my phone anyway), and have renewed my 1-year with a 5-year.


What is the advantage of the 5-year vs a 1-year?

#9 horseboy OFFLINE  

horseboy

    Stargunner

  • 1,226 posts

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:03 PM

Does anybody know if you can keep your existing phone number if you switch to magicjack?

#10 Defender II OFFLINE  

Defender II

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 934 posts
  • Location:Traveling through space & time

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:09 PM

Does anybody know if you can keep your existing phone number if you switch to magicjack?



"NOT YET, BUT COMING SOON!

We are working to give you the option to transfer or "port" your existing local phone number to magicJack, for a nominal fee."
Per their FAQ section...http://www.magicjack.com/5/faq/

Edited by Defender II, Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:09 PM.


#11 jetset OFFLINE  

jetset

    Quadrunner

  • 11,145 posts
  • Location:5200 Island

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:09 PM

Does anybody know if you can keep your existing phone number if you switch to magicjack?


Nope. That's the one thing holding me back. I've had my ph# forever, and since my kids' school, doctors, and tons of other important stuff have that number it'd be a bitch to go through the change....

#12 horseboy OFFLINE  

horseboy

    Stargunner

  • 1,226 posts

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:14 PM

Thanks guys. I am not too attached to my number so I still may do it. $500 savings a year tells me it should be a no brainer. It might actually be good for a few people not to know my number anymore.

Edited by horseboy, Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:14 PM.


#13 Reaperman OFFLINE  

Reaperman

    River Patroller

  • 4,563 posts
  • Location:New Orleans, LA

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:36 PM

Overall though I'm happy with the service (since I never use my phone anyway), and have renewed my 1-year with a 5-year.


What is the advantage of the 5-year vs a 1-year?

nothing really
5 years is only $70, 1-year is more per year.
my first year came with my device for $40

#14 mvigor OFFLINE  

mvigor

    Dragonstomper

  • 669 posts
  • Location:Quincy, IL

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 1:16 PM

6 or 7 months ago I called Vonage and was ready to cancel the service since I barely used my land line at all anymore. I had been a 3 or 4 year customer at the time I called. They offered me an ulta-low-price package that they don't advertise anywhere. I get 100 minutes for like $9 a month and if I go over that time it's 5 or 10 cents for additional minutes. We've never gone over.

#15 horseboy OFFLINE  

horseboy

    Stargunner

  • 1,226 posts

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 1:19 PM

6 or 7 months ago I called Vonage and was ready to cancel the service since I barely used my land line at all anymore. I had been a 3 or 4 year customer at the time I called. They offered me an ulta-low-price package that they don't advertise anywhere. I get 100 minutes for like $9 a month and if I go over that time it's 5 or 10 cents for additional minutes. We've never gone over.


That still doesn't seem to compare to magic jack. Is there some big advantage to Vonage that I am missing?

#16 Almost Rice OFFLINE  

Almost Rice

    River Patroller

  • 2,028 posts
  • Prius rocks
  • Location:Houston

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 1:30 PM

That still doesn't seem to compare to magic jack. Is there some big advantage to Vonage that I am missing?


Its only advantage is the unit is standalone. No computer needed. I just needs to connect to the internet via its network port.

#17 NML32 OFFLINE  

NML32

    Moonsweeper

  • 465 posts
  • Location:Tampabay FL

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 1:44 PM

I bought two one for myself and one for my GF for when we travel. We are both very happy with them works well with hotel internet most of the time we just plug the hotel phone in the magic jack that is connected to laptop.

If I didn't already have Trixbox VOIP setup in my home I would set my Magic Jack up like the guy did in this video.



#18 the.golden.ax OFFLINE  

the.golden.ax

    Tear down this temple

  • 12,424 posts
  • I'll rebuild it in 3 days

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 2:51 PM

My magic jack stinks. It's worth the price, but calls garble and cut out. Great for having a number on your eBay and other registrations online without giving out your REAL numbers to the public.

AX

#19 NML32 OFFLINE  

NML32

    Moonsweeper

  • 465 posts
  • Location:Tampabay FL

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 3:22 PM

My magic jack stinks. It's worth the price, but calls garble and cut out. Great for having a number on your eBay and other registrations online without giving out your REAL numbers to the public.

AX


Ax, have you tried your MJ on other networks also are you trying to use over wifi? Also have you tried the air card 3g setting?

#20 the.golden.ax OFFLINE  

the.golden.ax

    Tear down this temple

  • 12,424 posts
  • I'll rebuild it in 3 days

Posted Thu Aug 12, 2010 3:30 PM


My magic jack stinks. It's worth the price, but calls garble and cut out. Great for having a number on your eBay and other registrations online without giving out your REAL numbers to the public.

AX


Ax, have you tried your MJ on other networks also are you trying to use over wifi? Also have you tried the air card 3g setting?



Yes, I've tried it on three networks (all hardwired cable), both settings. Sometimes it takes a while to start dropping words, but eventually it always does. Could be the crappy PCs I use it on.

AX

#21 RGB_Gamer OFFLINE  

RGB_Gamer

    Moonsweeper

  • 384 posts

Posted Fri Aug 13, 2010 10:10 PM

I really wish it worked with faxing. Tried it with 3 different machines, and no go.

#22 Defender II OFFLINE  

Defender II

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 934 posts
  • Location:Traveling through space & time

Posted Sat Aug 14, 2010 5:18 AM

What about netTALK's DUO? No need for a PC.
Costs a bit more.http://www.nettalk.com/

#23 NML32 OFFLINE  

NML32

    Moonsweeper

  • 465 posts
  • Location:Tampabay FL

Posted Sat Aug 14, 2010 5:43 AM

I really wish it worked with faxing. Tried it with 3 different machines, and no go.


Faxing with VOIP can be hit and miss.

Here are a few things you can try. Set the baud rate to the lowest setting 9600 or lower. Not all fax machines will let you adjust baud rate.
If your fax machine has a setting to fax overseas try turning it on.

Google Faxing over VOIP there are lots of tips.

#24 save2600 OFFLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 7,780 posts
  • Location:WI

Posted Sat Aug 14, 2010 6:39 PM

Is this dongle Mac compatible or just of the PeeCee variety?

#25 yuppicide OFFLINE  

yuppicide

    I am the Black Knight. Give me your money!

  • 6,933 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted Sat Aug 14, 2010 11:50 PM

I always wondered why someone doesn't invent a fax machine that plugs into your phone line AND your network. The faxes come in and the device converts them into a PDF and stores them where you want.. either in a local fax folder or on your network. Then you can print only the ones you want. I get a lot of junk faxes at work.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users