Jump to content

Photo

my atari 8bit online channel


48 replies to this topic

#26 ProWizard OFFLINE  

ProWizard

    River Patroller

  • 2,918 posts
  • Location:Not here

Posted Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:29 PM

I have had this problem once... with building a sio2ide...

Now I remember.

After getting to the point I was pulling my hair out, I found out the Firmware file I was using was broke.

After getting a fresh firmware, everything worked fine...

#27 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 7,774 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Mon Aug 30, 2010 1:35 PM

I have had this problem once... with building a sio2ide...

Now I remember.

After getting to the point I was pulling my hair out, I found out the Firmware file I was using was broke.

After getting a fresh firmware, everything worked fine...

I sent him two. Surely they're not both stuffed.

#28 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 7,774 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:08 PM

Right - it's working. :)

That's me done for the night...

#29 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,341 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Mon Aug 30, 2010 2:14 PM

You watched the live programming sio2sd chip. the longer punished it finally succeeded thanks to flashjazzcat. i will be continuited with live broadcast, thank you for watching and support, good night :)

and pepax - dont joking, thats was serious problem man

#30 pepax OFFLINE  

pepax

    Moonsweeper

  • 305 posts

Posted Mon Aug 30, 2010 10:35 PM

and pepax - dont joking, thats was serious problem man

Of course it was.

#31 ProWizard OFFLINE  

ProWizard

    River Patroller

  • 2,918 posts
  • Location:Not here

Posted Tue Aug 31, 2010 1:29 AM

So please tell us what the problem was! Fuse settings?

And a bit offtopic:

Your 800xe looks pretty cool with that sio2sd build-in. But... I have to say: it would not be my choice. I want peripherals being as mobile as possible, AND I don't want to change the looks of my Atari computers. Switches at the backside: ok... but that's it.

But I admire your nice work. It looked very impressive!

Greetz
Marius

#32 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 7,774 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Tue Aug 31, 2010 3:30 AM

So please tell us what the problem was! Fuse settings?

If I may jump in: I obtained yet a third BIN file and set up my own AVR programmer and flashed an SIO2SD. I then sent this known 100% guaranteed to work BIN file to w1k. I'm unsure whether he used it or not, but I think he was also trying to load BIN files as HEX files and messing around unnecessarily in the lower (EEPROM) buffer window. Once these misunderstandings were resolved, the process worked.

#33 ProWizard OFFLINE  

ProWizard

    River Patroller

  • 2,918 posts
  • Location:Not here

Posted Tue Aug 31, 2010 4:30 AM

If I may jump in: I obtained yet a third BIN file and set up my own AVR programmer and flashed an SIO2SD. I then sent this known 100% guaranteed to work BIN file to w1k. I'm unsure whether he used it or not, but I think he was also trying to load BIN files as HEX files and messing around unnecessarily in the lower (EEPROM) buffer window. Once these misunderstandings were resolved, the process worked.


Cool that it worked out. So there was indeed a certain similarity with my problem with Sio2IDE. It is very frustrating when it happens. I hope w1k wrote down the right steps in case he need to do it again.

So please back to my earlier question (I did not understand the answer). Is this a problem which happens a lot with sio2sd? Or with every interface with an Atmel?

I don't have these troubles with my Sio2IDE or Sio2USB, so I was wondering: why is this happening with sio2sd, or is it just this one w1k has?

Thanks
Marius

#34 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 7,774 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Tue Aug 31, 2010 6:10 AM

Cool that it worked out. So there was indeed a certain similarity with my problem with Sio2IDE. It is very frustrating when it happens. I hope w1k wrote down the right steps in case he need to do it again.

So please back to my earlier question (I did not understand the answer). Is this a problem which happens a lot with sio2sd? Or with every interface with an Atmel?

I don't have these troubles with my Sio2IDE or Sio2USB, so I was wondering: why is this happening with sio2sd, or is it just this one w1k has?

The correct steps which I follow are:

  • Connect interface cable, power on Atari
  • Run AVRprgWin as Admin
  • Calibrate cable (power off Atari, then power up again)
  • Load BIN file into flash (top) buffer and write to chip
  • Set fuse bits (L=FF, H=D1)
That's it. Release and disconnect the cable and all should be well. You get the occasional write error but it should be OK after a couple of goes. I've never had any reason to touch the EEPROM (lower) window.

I don't know if the Atmel problem is common to all devices which use this chip. I very much suppose it depends on the design of the circuit. 99 per cent of the time, a dead chip is discovered immediately after hotplugging the device with the Atari switched on. As I understand it, the problem is caused by +5 travelling through the circuit before the ground pin is connected. The fuse bits are supposed to combat this problem but I haven't found the situation to be entirely preventable. I made an attempt to safeguard against ungrounded power ups by modifying the female molex connector on the last batch of devices, bending the +5v spring metal conact back by 2mm or so. The idea is that it will always be the last contact to make a connection.

Edited by flashjazzcat, Tue Aug 31, 2010 6:10 AM.


#35 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,341 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Tue Aug 31, 2010 6:24 AM

I was having problems, after i use firmware 2.5 and tool SYSINFO
tonight, i will be again online - i want more learn dli, pmg, etc

#36 sloopy OFFLINE  

sloopy

    River Patroller

  • 2,395 posts
  • lookin for bits, i like bits...
  • Location:in my cave of despair, surrounded by toys...

Posted Tue Aug 31, 2010 6:38 AM

damn i missed it, wish i could have seen it live...

sloopy.

#37 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,341 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Tue Aug 31, 2010 9:39 AM

online live stream now

#38 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,341 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Wed Sep 1, 2010 8:45 AM

atomic bomberman live :)

17:19 - off

Edited by w1k, Wed Sep 1, 2010 9:19 AM.


#39 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,341 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Sat Mar 19, 2011 10:04 AM

back online
http://www.ustream.t...nnel/atari800xe

#40 Blues76 OFFLINE  

Blues76

    Moonsweeper

  • 259 posts
  • Location:Miami, FL USA

Posted Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:49 AM

I'm sorry, but the broadcast will be moved to tomorrow :(
still watching :)

what a mess!!!!

#41 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,341 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Fri Apr 8, 2011 11:30 AM

im online, because we have warning about big wind (20-40m/s)

Posted Image

http://www.ustream.t...nnel/atari800xe

#42 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,341 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Thu Jan 19, 2012 1:01 PM

tommorow i again start online stream, 9:00am central europe time

program: one guy give me cassettes with interesting software, so i want save it to PC (600baud/t2000 to .xex)

http://www.ustream.t...nnel/atari800xe

Edited by w1k, Thu Jan 19, 2012 1:08 PM.


#43 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,341 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Fri Jan 20, 2012 2:05 AM

no stream today.. my PC is death

#44 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,341 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:22 AM

live: unpacking new box - i dont know what is it :)
http://www.ustream.t...nnel/atari800xe

-----offline now:
video from live broad:

http://www.ustream.t...corded/20577942

next: soon - saving atari soft from tape to sio2sd

Edited by w1k, Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:44 AM.


#45 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,341 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Fri Feb 24, 2012 4:33 AM

today 13:00 central EU time LIVE
copying soft from tapes via sio2sd to PC

#46 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 12,191 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Fri Feb 24, 2012 4:51 AM

PMSL. That'd be as much fun as watching paint dry.

#47 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,341 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Sun Jun 3, 2012 12:43 AM

again online

#48 sloopy OFFLINE  

sloopy

    River Patroller

  • 2,395 posts
  • lookin for bits, i like bits...
  • Location:in my cave of despair, surrounded by toys...

Posted Sun Jun 3, 2012 1:04 AM

and because i watched your stream, I doubled your viewership... you had 1 (me), plus the two watching me...

congrats!

sloopy.

#49 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,341 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:43 AM

back online :)

http://www.webcam.podstromami.com/

refresh - 5s
www.webcam.podstromami.com/image.jpg




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users