Jump to content

Photo

F18A


867 replies to this topic

#851 broettger OFFLINE  

broettger

    Space Invader

  • 34 posts
  • Location:Burnsville, MN

Posted Thu Mar 22, 2018 10:27 PM

Does anyone know if he is still making the F18A? I went to his website and it hasn't even had a blog post in a long time.

#852 Lee Stewart OFFLINE  

Lee Stewart

    River Patroller

  • 3,701 posts
  • Location:Silver Run, Maryland

Posted Fri Mar 23, 2018 9:13 AM

Does anyone know if he is still making the F18A? I went to his website and it hasn't even had a blog post in a long time.

 

“He” (matthew180) is regularly on this forum.  If you go to his store (top, left menu) on his website and select the F18A, you will see where you can be added to the pre-order list.  When he gets enough pre-orders, he will make a run of F18As.  As of last October, he was 70 % there.

 

...lee



#853 broettger OFFLINE  

broettger

    Space Invader

  • 34 posts
  • Location:Burnsville, MN

Posted Fri Mar 23, 2018 9:20 AM

Thanks. I added my name to the list.

#854 matthew180 OFFLINE  

matthew180

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,536 posts
  • Location:Castaic, California

Posted Fri Mar 23, 2018 11:54 AM

Yes, I'm still working on getting more made.  Sorry for the delay.  Life, work, etc. blah blah blah, (insert normal excuses here).    Anyone on the contact list will get an email when the next batch is available.


Edited by matthew180, Fri Mar 23, 2018 11:55 AM.


#855 digress ONLINE  

digress

    Stargunner

  • 1,031 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:35 PM

Yes and to help promote more I might attempt to make commando using f18a for the colecovision. I think it's possible.

 

You gave me a bit of machine code to scroll the tiles left and right after the the register scroll reaches 7 and resets. Could we expand this to do up & down as well?

 

were having a discussion on whether this is possible here:

 

http://atariage.com/...ovision-debate/

 

Yes, I'm still working on getting more made.  Sorry for the delay.  Life, work, etc. blah blah blah, (insert normal excuses here).    Anyone on the contact list will get an email when the next batch is available.


Edited by digress, Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:36 PM.


#856 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • 2,825 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:58 PM

Yes and to help promote more I might attempt to make commando using f18a for the colecovision. I think it's possible.

 

You gave me a bit of machine code to scroll the tiles left and right after the the register scroll reaches 7 and resets. Could we expand this to do up & down as well?

 

It should be possible to make a great version of Commando using the F18A.

 

Set the least significant bit of VR29, that will give you two vertical pages to scroll through. Then set the scrolll offset in VR28.

 

For creating the bridge it is possible to set some tiles to take priority over sprites, to allow the player to move under to bridge. That could also be used for moving behind boulders etc.


Edited by Asmusr, Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:24 PM.


#857 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Technomancer

  • 5,372 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:06 PM

Are we talking Commando for the ColecoVision or the TI?  I am definitely down for the latter.



#858 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • 2,825 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:28 PM

Are we talking Commando for the ColecoVision or the TI?  I am definitely down for the latter.

 

Did you see this? A great version of the music for our PSG.

http://atariage.com/...n/#entry3996953

I might try to get the music to play on the TI.



#859 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Technomancer

  • 5,372 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:56 PM

 

Did you see this? A great version of the music for our PSG.

http://atariage.com/...n/#entry3996953

I might try to get the music to play on the TI.

 

Holy cow, WTF!  Should be easy enough to capture into a VGM.  Reminds me I have not been to VGMRips in a while.



#860 matthew180 OFFLINE  

matthew180

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,536 posts
  • Location:Castaic, California

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:38 PM

Sure, vertical scrolling can be done a few ways.  Rasmus<<1 already pointed out one way, i.e. you can use two name tables and enable using two vertical pages for scrolling.  The second name table provides the data that is scrolled "in".  If you don't use the second name table, then you need to mask the bottom row and update a new row of data every 8 pixels (similar to what is going on with the horizontal scrolling).

 

Once you have more details about how you want to set up the screen and doing the scrolling, I would be happy to provide you some GPU routines to help with managing the VRAM data for the scrolling.



#861 Davidb OFFLINE  

Davidb

    Combat Commando

  • 4 posts

Posted Sun May 13, 2018 4:15 AM

The F18A is a very impressive project. I'm glad it's had interest across several systems.

 

I was wondering, is it possible to achieve a 16 colour mode in any form at all?


Edited by Davidb, Sun May 13, 2018 6:04 AM.


#862 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • 2,825 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sun May 13, 2018 6:00 AM

The F18A is a very impressive project. I'm glad it's had interest across several systems?

 

I was wondering, is it possible to achieve a 16 colour mode in any form at all?

 

There are many ways to get 16 colors and more on the screen. If you need to color each pixel independently then you can use a fat pixel bitmap of 128x192 pixels to cover the whole screen. 



#863 Davidb OFFLINE  

Davidb

    Combat Commando

  • 4 posts

Posted Sun May 13, 2018 6:03 AM

 

There are many ways to get 16 colors and more on the screen. If you need to color each pixel independently then you can use a fat pixel bitmap of 128x192 pixels to cover the whole screen. 

 

Thank youThat's good to know. Would 256x192 be possible at all?



#864 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • 2,825 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sun May 13, 2018 7:22 AM

 

Thank youThat's good to know. Would 256x192 be possible at all?

 

A bitmap of 256x192 in 16 colors would require 24K and the F18A only has 18K. You can have 256x192 in 4 colors, or you can use tiles/characters where each of the 256 8x8 tiles can have up to 8 colors from one of 8 palettes. You can also change the palette for each scanline while the screen is drawn. In combination with the old (9918A) bitmap mode this can give some amazing results with far more than 16 colors. Sprites can also be used to add more color.



#865 matthew180 OFFLINE  

matthew180

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,536 posts
  • Location:Castaic, California

Posted Sun May 13, 2018 4:04 PM

Unfortunately a true 256x192 pixel-addressable display with 16-colors per pixel requires more VRAM (24K) than is available (16K), as Asmusr mentioned.

 

To elaborate a little, the F18A provides a feature called the "bitmap layer" (or BML for short) that allows you to define a pixel-addressable rectangular area that supports 4-colors per pixel.  This way you can have a 256x192 4-color display.

 

The BML also has a setting called the "fat-pixel" feature, which doubles the size of the pixels in the X-direction, but also gives you 16-colors per pixel.  So using this feature you could have a 128x192 16-color display.

 

Also, the BML is in addition to the normal tiles and sprites (you could think of the BML as a big configurable sprite).  Both the 256x192 4-color and 128x192 16-color BML would take up 12K of VRAM.

 

The BML can be any size you want, from 1x1 pixel to the full screen.  You can also set the BML location anywhere you want on the screen.

 

Edit: corrected BML fat-pixel size information.


Edited by matthew180, Mon May 14, 2018 1:06 AM.


#866 Davidb OFFLINE  

Davidb

    Combat Commando

  • 4 posts

Posted Sun May 13, 2018 4:18 PM

Thank you - that does make sense. It certainly makes very good use of the available memory however.

 

It's a shame that it's not possible to run two in conjuction :)



#867 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • 2,825 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sun May 13, 2018 11:32 PM

So using this feature you could have a 128x96 16-color display.

 

Only the pixel width is doubled, so it's 128x192, right? 



#868 matthew180 OFFLINE  

matthew180

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,536 posts
  • Location:Castaic, California

Posted Mon May 14, 2018 1:07 AM

You are correct, it only changes the X-size.  I have corrected my previous post.  Thanks for catching that.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users