Jump to content

Photo

The Titlescreen Kernel


239 replies to this topic

#26 atari2600land OFFLINE  

atari2600land

    Waffles:

  • 10,893 posts
  • Man's best invention. Ever.
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:03 PM

In case anyone was wondering, I tested it out and it works fine with the lives minikernel.

#27 jbs30000 OFFLINE  

jbs30000

    Moonsweeper

  • 472 posts

Posted Mon Sep 27, 2010 3:09 AM

I read through the manual, and I don't think I saw this mentioned, but then I might have just missed it. When setting the window for display height, what's the maximum height allowed? An example used a value of 64, is that the maximum? Or can it display up to 96? Thank you.

#28 yuppicide OFFLINE  

yuppicide

    I am the Black Knight. Give me your money!

  • 6,933 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted Mon Sep 27, 2010 3:17 AM

I asked Rev this in PM.. I was using the 96x2_1:

I didn't really cover off the screen height topic in the tutorial, so you didn't miss it. I'll add it if to the docs if there winds up being another release.

You should have about 85 display lines with that minikernel, if it's the only minikernel. But each minikernel you to the screen not only uses lines for its image display, but ~5 lines of blank space during which it's setting things up.


I read through the manual, and I don't think I saw this mentioned, but then I might have just missed it. When setting the window for display height, what's the maximum height allowed? An example used a value of 64, is that the maximum? Or can it display up to 96? Thank you.


Edited by yuppicide, Mon Sep 27, 2010 3:18 AM.


#29 Cliff Friedel OFFLINE  

Cliff Friedel

    Dragonstomper

  • 603 posts

Posted Mon Sep 27, 2010 8:12 AM

This looks absolutely great! Wanted to ask, have you tried this with the bitmap kernel? If not, I may try a rewrite of passthrough with the new titlescreen and the bitmap kernels both in to see what I get. As someone said before though, this will definitely add to games made by Batari Basic and make them look more professional. Great work!

#30 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,722 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Sep 27, 2010 9:39 AM

@yuppicide: thanks for the assist - I couldn't have said it better myself! ;)

@jbs30000: It's important to remember that answer was for double-line minikernels. If you use the 48x1 minikernels you get twice as many lines in.

@Cliff: Thanks! I didn't try it out with the bitmap minikernel yet - it should work if I haven't duplicated any labels between the titlescreen kernel bits and the bitmap minikernel. I'd appreciate a test!

#31 jbs30000 OFFLINE  

jbs30000

    Moonsweeper

  • 472 posts

Posted Mon Sep 27, 2010 1:14 PM

Thank you very much for the answers.

#32 yuppicide OFFLINE  

yuppicide

    I am the Black Knight. Give me your money!

  • 6,933 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted Mon Sep 27, 2010 5:18 PM

Thanks for pointing that out about the twice as many lines. I didn't know.

@yuppicide: thanks for the assist - I couldn't have said it better myself! ;)

@jbs30000: It's important to remember that answer was for double-line minikernels. If you use the 48x1 minikernels you get twice as many lines in.

@Cliff: Thanks! I didn't try it out with the bitmap minikernel yet - it should work if I haven't duplicated any labels between the titlescreen kernel bits and the bitmap minikernel. I'd appreciate a test!



#33 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,722 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Sep 27, 2010 6:22 PM

No problem!

I've added that and some other stuff that's come up here in my notes, so I won't forget them when I update the docs at some point.

#34 Corby OFFLINE  

Corby

    Dragonstomper

  • 827 posts
  • I'm really not that interesting
  • Location:Winterpeg, CANADA

Posted Mon Sep 27, 2010 6:34 PM

Cool title screens!!!! :thumbsup:

#35 Cliff Friedel OFFLINE  

Cliff Friedel

    Dragonstomper

  • 603 posts

Posted Tue Sep 28, 2010 8:37 PM

@yuppicide: thanks for the assist - I couldn't have said it better myself! ;)

@jbs30000: It's important to remember that answer was for double-line minikernels. If you use the 48x1 minikernels you get twice as many lines in.

@Cliff: Thanks! I didn't try it out with the bitmap minikernel yet - it should work if I haven't duplicated any labels between the titlescreen kernel bits and the bitmap minikernel. I'd appreciate a test!


I will take a look at it later this week. Still getting adjusted to two kids instead of one =)

Cliff

#36 jwierer OFFLINE  

jwierer

    Dragonstomper

  • 902 posts
  • Location:Seattle,WA

Posted Sat Oct 2, 2010 1:40 PM

Pardon my cross post, but I posted a new ImgToCode to the main vbB thread in case you want to try it out. Should be more user friendly with the lastest title kernel.

-Jeff



#37 Philsan OFFLINE  

Philsan

    River Patroller

  • 3,415 posts
  • New Orleans Saints Super Bowl XLIV Champions
  • Location:Switzerland

Posted Sun Oct 3, 2010 2:49 PM

Perhaps it is obvious but I would add a warning in the documentation.
Images height in minikernels (together with draw_gameselect, draw_space xx, draw_score minikernels) must not exceed a limit not to exceed scanline count.



#38 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,722 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Oct 3, 2010 3:27 PM

Great point Philsan. I've just updated my copy of the docs with it.

When I get to writing up about Jeff's changes to Img2Code, in the next day or so, I'll attach the updated copy to the first post.

#39 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,722 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Oct 4, 2010 1:23 PM

I've updated the pdf in the first post to include instructions for the new Img2Code.

#40 disjaukifa OFFLINE  

disjaukifa

    River Patroller

  • 2,125 posts
  • Berzerker In Training
  • Location:Research Triangle North Carolina

Posted Tue Oct 5, 2010 9:23 AM

I can't wait to use this. I'm currently doing a complete write of a game that I have not even finished yet, wanting to make it look and run and sound better. I'm definitely going to be using this for my title screen! I'll post pictures once I have one created!!!

Thanks
Disjaukifa

#41 abaudrand OFFLINE  

abaudrand

    Chopper Commander

  • 236 posts

Posted Tue Oct 5, 2010 1:54 PM

I'm experiencing some issue in doing the part one of the tutorial. I'm using the ImgtoCode.0.9.1.6 to reduce the copy-paste operations. When I'm transcoding pictures, despite they are draw in 96x11,48x98 and 48x11 the output bytes are not regulars: for one i got twelve rows instead of eleven. Despite I trim the displayed heights or the bytes height, the compilation succeed but the game crash in stella...
As a beginner, the figure 9 in the documentation is not clear. You have enlight the remaining part to adjust but the above explanation are a later step. I guess if the figure 9 displayed the changed value after adjusting the height will be more close to the current step of the tutorial... the user could compare it with the figure 8 to crosscheck what is done
Yet many others succeed using your wonderful tools so I guess I'm the problem. I will try again tomorrow from the beginning.
Regards and respects for your work.

P.S: when compiling your Exercice.bas file, there is no issue. Its when I try to use my own graphics that problems rise.

Edited by abaudrand, Tue Oct 5, 2010 1:55 PM.


#42 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,722 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Tue Oct 5, 2010 4:12 PM

I'm the first to admit that creating a titlescreen isn't a simple matter, so don't take the issues you are having personally. You're having a problem, so let's just work through it.

My initial guess is that maybe you've trimmed off a column from the data instead of a row. But its just a guess. Did you try the data as-is, without the trimming?

It will make things easier if you attach the files involved (source image, the image assembly, and your .bas) to a post here or a PM to me.

I'd expect display glitches from too much data - not for the game to crash. So maybe something else is happening.

I'll take a look at the documentation figure in question and see what I can do. Thanks for bringing it up!

#43 gHan2000 OFFLINE  

gHan2000

    Space Invader

  • 41 posts

Posted Tue Oct 5, 2010 7:23 PM

I can't make anything... is this a scam? It's just .asm files.

#44 Random Terrain ONLINE  

Random Terrain

    Visual batari Basic User

  • 28,311 posts
  • Controlled Randomness
    Replay Value
    Nonlinear
  • Location:North Carolina (USA)

Posted Tue Oct 5, 2010 7:33 PM

I can't make anything... is this a scam? It's just .asm files.

Yep, it's a scam created by the Illuminati to suck your spirit from your body to feed the giant space Seahorse.

#45 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,722 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Tue Oct 5, 2010 7:38 PM

Damn! Two pages in and already I've been busted.

And I would have gotten away with it if it wasn't for that meddling kid!

#46 abaudrand OFFLINE  

abaudrand

    Chopper Commander

  • 236 posts

Posted Wed Oct 6, 2010 1:02 AM

Ok I found out my problem. I didn't paid attention to the output setting of ImtoCo. Tutorial 1 use two 48x1 kernels and I forgot to set the "copy" button to "2" for the second picture. (hope I'm clear enough, but my english is a bit rusty).
It work fine but I need now to adjust the conversion more accurately as my game title is a bunch of messy pixels.

I can tell you that I'm amazed by the quality of your job ! It must have been a headache time for writing it. :)

Edited by abaudrand, Wed Oct 6, 2010 1:03 AM.


#47 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,722 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Wed Oct 6, 2010 4:47 AM

Ok I found out my problem. I didn't paid attention to the output setting of ImtoCode.
...
I can tell you that I'm amazed by the quality of your job ! It must have been a headache time for writing it. :)

Great! I'm glad that you're on the right path now.

It was definitely a headache writing and documenting the titlescreen kernel, but its a small job compared to batari's amazing work.

And its worth the headache now that I see it being used! :)

#48 abaudrand OFFLINE  

abaudrand

    Chopper Commander

  • 236 posts

Posted Thu Oct 7, 2010 8:05 AM

I'm continuing experimenting your titlekernel and I've tried to use it as a playfield (for having a better resolution of background) but off course it doesn't work. Still the funny thing is that I can see my player 0 sprite but it is in three copy flickering behind all graphics. I guess there is no way to merge it in a loop with other code that interfere with graphics. Am i right?
:)

#49 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,722 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Thu Oct 7, 2010 8:23 AM

The graphics in the Titlescreen Kernel are made up of copies of the player sprites, so the best you can do is flicker the TSKernel display with a bB drawscreen. Since you say you can see your player, I'm guessing that's what you're already doing.

To get rid of the 3 copies, try setting "NUSIZ0=0" and "NUSIZ1=0" before your drawscreen.

I salute your experimenting spirit! :thumbsup:

#50 disjaukifa OFFLINE  

disjaukifa

    River Patroller

  • 2,125 posts
  • Berzerker In Training
  • Location:Research Triangle North Carolina

Posted Thu Oct 7, 2010 8:28 AM

*Edit* Would it be possible for a game to have two seperate title screens, as long as they are stored in different banks? Also can you have sound with the title screens?

RevEng, I have download and printed out your documentation and its very good. Thanks again for all the hard work that you put into this. I truly feel that we have not come even close to maxing out the potential of batari Basic programming for the 2600!

-Disjaukifa

Edited by disjaukifa, Thu Oct 7, 2010 9:17 AM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users