Jump to content

Photo

dreaming again of a TRON arcade conversion...


31 replies to this topic

#1 lucifershalo OFFLINE  

lucifershalo

    River Patroller

  • 2,648 posts
  • Location:Belgium

Posted Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:14 PM

as the new TRON movie will be released again...
I am dreaming of a TRON arcade conversion for 7800 :lust: :lust:
that would be so cool
with driving and joystick to control it

#2 raskar42 OFFLINE  

raskar42

    River Patroller

  • 2,976 posts

Posted Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:29 PM

i would buy one - even a misnamed ripoff like -'Ron's disc thowing'

#3 PAC-MAN PRIME OFFLINE  

PAC-MAN PRIME

    Chopper Commander

  • 184 posts
  • *waka-waka*
  • Location:the 9th Key

Posted Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:31 PM

Yes! Why was it never done before? I would definitely be one of the first in line!

...and lol @ "Ron's disc throwing"! XD

#4 lucifershalo OFFLINE  

lucifershalo

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,648 posts
  • Location:Belgium

Posted Tue Nov 30, 2010 2:39 PM

Taiwan game association
presents
TUWON
including
disc thowing
Aim See Pee
Tenck
Lite Scycle
Es Pyders

#5 toiletunes OFFLINE  

toiletunes

    Stargunner

  • 1,415 posts
  • Custom Status
  • Location:Salem, Mo 65560 USA

Posted Thu Dec 2, 2010 7:23 AM

This was started once for the 2600

http://www.atariage...._1#entry1488618

but yes, the 7800 would be very nice

#6 the.golden.ax OFFLINE  

the.golden.ax

    Tear down this temple

  • 12,424 posts
  • I'll rebuild it in 3 days

Posted Thu Dec 2, 2010 9:17 AM

Hmn... and the 25th system is starting to look like something out of Tron. Groovy? ;) Please Sir, we want Tron.

AX

#7 GroovyBee OFFLINE  

GroovyBee

    Games Developer

  • 7,938 posts
  • Busy bee!
  • Location:North, England

Posted Thu Dec 2, 2010 9:55 AM

Hmn... and the 25th system is starting to look like something out of Tron. Groovy? ;) Please Sir, we want Tron.


I have a light cycle style game for the 7800. However, it needs a ton of work and its only 2 player at the moment.

#8 Lord Helmet OFFLINE  

Lord Helmet

    AtariAge Anomaly

  • 9,883 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO.

Posted Thu Dec 2, 2010 10:44 AM

Methinks the controller would be an issue. Gotta have a spinner. I suppose it could use a 2600 driving controller.

#9 ZylonBane OFFLINE  

ZylonBane

    River Patroller

  • 3,376 posts
  • Location:KC, KS, USA

Posted Thu Dec 2, 2010 11:13 AM

Indeed, the lack of the spinner is a major issue. The spider and MCP tower sequences wouldn't be too bad -- just fire in the direction you're moving, like Berzerk -- but the tank sequence, which relies on precise bank shots and firing in directions other than where you're going, would need to have its gameplay basically redesigned.

#10 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • 4,141 posts
  • Atari 7800 Dev
  • Location:SouthWest Florida

Posted Thu Dec 2, 2010 2:55 PM

Maybe it could work like 5200 Countermeasure? One button Fires and the other aims the turret (just a suggestion)

*runs and hides*

#11 GroovyBee OFFLINE  

GroovyBee

    Games Developer

  • 7,938 posts
  • Busy bee!
  • Location:North, England

Posted Thu Dec 2, 2010 3:02 PM

One button Fires and the other aims the turret (just a suggestion)


Nah! Just make it GB-XC1 compatible ;).

#12 the.golden.ax OFFLINE  

the.golden.ax

    Tear down this temple

  • 12,424 posts
  • I'll rebuild it in 3 days

Posted Thu Dec 2, 2010 3:14 PM


One button Fires and the other aims the turret (just a suggestion)


Nah! Just make it GB-XC1 compatible ;).



That's what I was thinking but with more flair. (Heavily modified PSX controller just for the fun of it)

AX

#13 Lord Helmet OFFLINE  

Lord Helmet

    AtariAge Anomaly

  • 9,883 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO.

Posted Fri Dec 3, 2010 10:44 AM

I suppose you could also do it with dual joysticks ala Robotron.

#14 Madaracs OFFLINE  

Madaracs

    Dragonstomper

  • 645 posts

Posted Fri Dec 3, 2010 7:49 PM

There was a third part controller the Prostick III for the ColecoVision that used a passthrough cable for the controller so you could still access the number buttons. Couldn't a passthrough setup work for a driving controller or set of paddles so that you could have both hooked up at the same time? I don't know how either the paddles or the driving controller work but I assume there would be an issue with them competing for movement...

#15 Zonie OFFLINE  

Zonie

    Stargunner

  • 1,158 posts
  • Location:Arid-Zone

Posted Fri Dec 3, 2010 11:52 PM

Taiwan game association
presents
TUWON
including
disc thowing
Aim See Pee
Tenck
Lite Scycle
Es Pyders

LOL


Maybe it could work like 5200 Countermeasure? One button Fires and the other aims the turret (just a suggestion)

*runs and hides*



Perhaps a Bally arcade controller! I have a few of those.

Writing it for the expansion module would really make it good.

#16 ZylonBane OFFLINE  

ZylonBane

    River Patroller

  • 3,376 posts
  • Location:KC, KS, USA

Posted Sat Dec 4, 2010 3:58 PM

Writing it for the expansion module would really make it good.

Writing it for the expansion module would make it not a 7800 game.

#17 Atari Joe OFFLINE  

Atari Joe

    Stargunner

  • 1,233 posts
  • I AM MATURING INTO A GENTLEMAN NOW
  • Location:Naples, FL

Posted Sat Dec 4, 2010 4:03 PM

I don't want to hate but I could never get into the tron games. The arcade one was cool and I guess the 7800 could pull off that level of gameplay but all the tron games on Atari and mattellivision and all of those things just never really felt right to me. It still had that feel of "hey buy this game cause it says disney tron on it" rather than being a really good game like Yar or Super Breakout. But I'm all for a trong game on 7800 if it would be fun to play! :thumbsup:

#18 Zonie OFFLINE  

Zonie

    Stargunner

  • 1,158 posts
  • Location:Arid-Zone

Posted Sat Dec 4, 2010 8:04 PM

Why not?

Writing it for the expansion module would really make it good.

Writing it for the expansion module would make it not a 7800 game.



#19 Lord Helmet OFFLINE  

Lord Helmet

    AtariAge Anomaly

  • 9,883 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO.

Posted Tue Dec 7, 2010 10:10 AM

Why not?


Writing it for the expansion module would really make it good.

Writing it for the expansion module would make it not a 7800 game.


Because it's no longer playable on a 7800...

Edited by Lord Helmet, Tue Dec 7, 2010 10:10 AM.


#20 TrekMD ONLINE  

TrekMD

    River Patroller

  • 2,536 posts
  • Location:Coral Gables, FL

Posted Tue Dec 7, 2010 10:29 AM

Since the XM unit cannot play games by itself, saying that a game made for use on the 7800 with an XM unit is not a 7800 game is not accurate. So, if anyone wants to write a Tron game for the 7800 and they wish to take advantage of the feature of the XM unit, more power to them.

#21 wood_jl OFFLINE  

wood_jl

    Quadrunner

  • 6,321 posts
  • Location:West TN, USA

Posted Tue Dec 7, 2010 10:36 AM

Since the XM unit cannot play games by itself, saying that a game made for use on the 7800 with an XM unit is not a 7800 game is not accurate. So, if anyone wants to write a Tron game for the 7800 and they wish to take advantage of the feature of the XM unit, more power to them.


Well, Sega "32x" games can't be played on a Genesis without a 32x, and they're pretty much called "32x games." But yeah, I applaud those who are/will be making games for the 7800XM. Interesting, to say the least!

#22 lapetino OFFLINE  

lapetino

    Moonsweeper

  • 426 posts
  • Location:Chicago, IL

Posted Tue Dec 7, 2010 11:18 AM

I would LOVE to see something like this. And the 2600 Tron games never seemed to capture what was awesome about the arcade game.

#23 Zonie OFFLINE  

Zonie

    Stargunner

  • 1,158 posts
  • Location:Arid-Zone

Posted Tue Dec 7, 2010 7:46 PM

Exactly.

Since the XM unit cannot play games by itself, saying that a game made for use on the 7800 with an XM unit is not a 7800 game is not accurate. So, if anyone wants to write a Tron game for the 7800 and they wish to take advantage of the feature of the XM unit, more power to them.



#24 ZylonBane OFFLINE  

ZylonBane

    River Patroller

  • 3,376 posts
  • Location:KC, KS, USA

Posted Tue Dec 7, 2010 9:29 PM

Since the XM unit cannot play games by itself, saying that a game made for use on the 7800 with an XM unit is not a 7800 game is not accurate.

Since games made for the XM unit cannot play on a 7800 by itself, saying that a game made for use on the 7800 with an XM unit is not a 7800 game is completely accurate.

#25 Tubular Gearhead OFFLINE  

Tubular Gearhead

    Moonsweeper

  • 257 posts
  • Location:Carmichael California

Posted Tue Dec 7, 2010 9:57 PM

I don't understand all the 7800XM killjoys. There is a long history of video game peripherals meant to expand a system that lead to games that are not playable (or playable with all features) w/o the expansion. I presume we all know this. Supercharger, Intellivoice, the Voice, Adam, 32X, Jag CD, and I am sure many, many others I am forgetting about. Not to mention, Curt and team decided to go very conservative and include only features that were possible back in the time after the 7800 was released. I don't know all the details, but from what I have read there was even debate as to whether or not to include the Yamaha sound chip- but since it was around in 80's arcade machines- it got the go ahead. The 7800XM even uses the casing as designed for expanding the 7800 (high scores or keyboard? whatever...) way back then. Seriously. I mean, how much more Atari and period specific can it be?? :roll:

As said already, you don't have to buy it if you really don't want to support it- but let's not discourage game development for it... :D

Edited by Tubular Gearhead, Tue Dec 7, 2010 10:54 PM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users