Jump to content

Photo

Atari 8-bit related BBS(s)


1040 replies to this topic

#876 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,139 posts
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Mon Jul 3, 2017 7:56 PM

If you are trying to F with me, then that's not a good idea.

Your account has been restricted.

 

Edit: RESPOND: State your Innocence!  I am waiting.


Edited by Kyle22, Mon Jul 3, 2017 7:57 PM.


#877 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,139 posts
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Mon Jul 3, 2017 9:09 PM

I *Will* find out how this idiot is trying to crash me.

 

I have suspicions, but I won't say anything yet.



#878 Triads OFFLINE  

Triads

    Moonsweeper

  • 262 posts
  • Location:Orlando, FL.

Posted Thu Jul 6, 2017 5:35 PM

Anyone out there have Games created for Carina 1.0? I seem to be missing a disk with about 10 or more games..
TIA

#879 Triads OFFLINE  

Triads

    Moonsweeper

  • 262 posts
  • Location:Orlando, FL.

Posted Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:50 PM

Nobody out there has old Carina 1.0 games?

#880 MacRorie OFFLINE  

MacRorie

    Dragonstomper

  • 733 posts
  • No matter where you go, there you are.
  • Location:NorCal!

Posted Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:35 AM

Folks,

 

I am at wit's end with the 8-bit BBS side.  I have spent the last 5 days and a total of at least 40 hours trying to get various hard drives and scenarios up and running.  I thought I had it last night (this morning) with an MIO//Seagate HDD/Adaptec 4000a//TCPIP Express.  I got all of the files transferred, all of the system setup.  DOS seemed stable.  Started the BBS and everything just went to the crapper.  The BBS crashed and, upon reboot, the DOS would not longer parse BAT files (which is kind of key) and then the BBS software would persistently refuse to see the SYSDATA file or it would see it and corrupt it.  It would randomly change the names of message bases, the message bases would get corrupted and require re-initializing.

 

So, it is either REAL DOS being corrupt (it works fine if I boot off of an APE ATR, though) or the HD being flaky (which is possible, but why would it work up and until I tried to boot the BBS) or the BBS being corrupted.  I have tried copying them over from the untouched sources I have all to no avail.  So, either I have missed something fundamental, or there is a ghost in my machine.

 

If ANYONE has ANY suggestions (and/or known good hardware for me to try), I am open to them.

 

Otherwise, who has suggestions for ST BBS software? OR a different (and stable A8 BBS that uses SpartaDOS)?  Preferably SDX (Like I remember PRO using back in the day)

 

/rant over.

 

The MIO is a 1M model.  Was UNUSED until I set it up for BBS.  The A8 is an 800XL with a VBXE set to RAMBO mode and a TKII installed.  Seagate is an ST-277



#881 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,529 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Mon Jul 17, 2017 1:17 PM

Back in the late 80's,  I bought FoReM ST and BBS Express! ST and chose the later to run.  I even wrote a replacement File Transfer section for it plus the Message Renumber Utility which is now part of the package.  Never had any problems with the BBS crashing...



#882 MacRorie OFFLINE  

MacRorie

    Dragonstomper

  • 733 posts
  • No matter where you go, there you are.
  • Location:NorCal!

Posted Mon Jul 17, 2017 6:15 PM

Back in the late 80's,  I bought FoReM ST and BBS Express! ST and chose the later to run.  I even wrote a replacement File Transfer section for it plus the Message Renumber Utility which is now part of the package.  Never had any problems with the BBS crashing...

 

 

Cool.  I will look for a copy of BBS Express ST. Got it. Let's see how this goes . . .



#883 DarkLord OFFLINE  

DarkLord

    River Patroller

  • 3,212 posts
  • Location:Prestonsburg, KY USA

Posted Mon Jul 17, 2017 6:25 PM

 

 

Cool.  I will look for a copy of BBS Express ST. Got it. Let's see how this goes . . .

 

I think there are several active/semi-active BBS Express! ST SysOps (myself included) still around

so if you have any questions or trouble feel free to ask away. You can also logon to my BBS to see some

of the things you can do with it...



#884 bf2k+ OFFLINE  

bf2k+

    Stargunner

  • 1,754 posts
  • Location:Boot Factory BBS 2k+

Posted Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:45 PM

 

 

Otherwise, who has suggestions for ST BBS software? OR a different (and stable A8 BBS that uses SpartaDOS)?  Preferably SDX (Like I remember PRO using back in the day)

 

 

 

BBS Express PRO has NEVER run under SDX.  This could be your problem.   I run Pro v2.1a on SD 3.3.



#885 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,139 posts
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:41 PM

I sure wish it did. It would be so much easier to move files around with PCLink without having to reboot into SDX each time.



#886 MacRorie OFFLINE  

MacRorie

    Dragonstomper

  • 733 posts
  • No matter where you go, there you are.
  • Location:NorCal!

Posted Tue Jul 18, 2017 8:54 AM

 

BBS Express PRO has NEVER run under SDX.  This could be your problem.   I run Pro v2.1a on SD 3.3.

 

I realize it does not run under SDX.  I was running it under RealDOS



#887 moonlight_mile OFFLINE  

moonlight_mile

    Chopper Commander

  • 144 posts

Posted Thu Jul 20, 2017 10:01 AM

After a few weeks of work and a lot of help from a bunch of AtariAge members the Alcatraz bbs has been resurrected from the dead and is back open for business after a 28 year absence.

Telnet to:64.121.86.229
Port:9000
Thanks to the doctor, triad, atarigeezer and Mark LeAir!

send me feedback if you find any missing files.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_3725.JPG

Edited by moonlight_mile, Thu Jul 20, 2017 10:07 AM.


#888 SumerNivek OFFLINE  

SumerNivek

    Chopper Commander

  • 207 posts
  • Location:Cincinnati Metro Area

Posted Thu Jul 20, 2017 6:07 PM

After a few weeks of work and a lot of help from a bunch of AtariAge members the Alcatraz bbs has been resurrected from the dead and is back open for business after a 28 year absence.

Telnet to:64.121.86.229
Port:9000
Thanks to the doctor, triad, atarigeezer and Mark LeAir!

send me feedback if you find any missing files.

Hey Moonlight!   I have successfully telnetted to you via a Commodore 64 and using a WiModem (that Jim Drew created).  Looking forward to perusing the BBS this weekend!

 

EDIT: I thought my terminal was stuck, but I figured out what was going on.


Edited by SumerNivek, Thu Jul 20, 2017 6:08 PM.


#889 Tillek OFFLINE  

Tillek

    Dragonstomper

  • 628 posts
  • Location:NE Ohio, USA

Posted Thu Jul 20, 2017 8:02 PM

I assume you're already calling Particles! ?

#890 SumerNivek OFFLINE  

SumerNivek

    Chopper Commander

  • 207 posts
  • Location:Cincinnati Metro Area

Posted Fri Jul 21, 2017 3:59 AM

^ Yes, I have finally started calling Particles this week.  For months, my hangouts have been Borderline and Cottonwood ran by Balzabaar.  I finally branched out recently.  I haven't explored Particles too much, but I plan to this weekend!



#891 hunter44102 OFFLINE  

hunter44102

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts

Posted Fri Jul 21, 2017 6:59 PM

This past July 4th saw the relaunch of  The Basement BBS which graced the Cleveland Ohio (216) telephone lines from 1986 through 1998. But thanks to the encouragement of some of its past users, modern technology, and back up disks that refused to die, the BBS has risen from the ashes and returned to provide the curious onlooker a glimpse of what it was like in cyberspace during the early 1990s.

 

Most of the original files and content are in tact including old messages, file sections, online games, and ATASCII screens. The BBS is running a customized version of BBS Express Pro! for the Atari 8-bit on an Emulator.

 

To connect, telnet to basementbbs.ddns.net port 9000.

 

If you prefer to not use a separate terminal program to connect to the BBS, then you can connect to it with the following web interface:

http://www.sfhqbbs.o...et-basement.php

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • basement-is-back.jpg


#892 Triads OFFLINE  

Triads

    Moonsweeper

  • 262 posts
  • Location:Orlando, FL.

Posted Fri Jul 21, 2017 8:39 PM

2 new BBS' in the past 2 days.. Nice

#893 Tillek OFFLINE  

Tillek

    Dragonstomper

  • 628 posts
  • Location:NE Ohio, USA

Posted Sat Jul 22, 2017 10:13 AM

Actually, ST-Guild is back too.

 

stguildbbs.ddns.net Port 23.



#894 Tillek OFFLINE  

Tillek

    Dragonstomper

  • 628 posts
  • Location:NE Ohio, USA

Posted Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:08 PM

Seeing the list is a little out of date.........

 

Rough draft.  Suggestions/Additions/Corrections welcome.

2017 Atari BBS List
===========================================================
Atari 8-bit
===========================================================
8-Bit Guild (? - ?)  
SysOp:         Lord Cygnus
Platform:    Atari 130XE running BBS Express Pro! v2.1a
Telnet:        8bitguild.no-ip.org:130
Web Portal:    ?
Website:    ?
Verified:    22 July 2017 (Tillek)

Alcatraz (Resurrected - 2017)
SysOp:         Giarc, the Warden
Platform:     Emulated Atari running BBS Express Pro! v2.1a
Telnet:        64.121.86.229:9000        
Web Portal:    ?    
Website:    ?
Verified:    22 July 2017 (Tillek)

The Basement (Resurrected - 2017)
SysOp:         John Polka
Platform:     Emulated Atari running BBS Express Pro! v2.1a
Telnet:        basementbbs.ddns.net:9000
Web Portal: http://www.sfhqbbs.o...et-basement.php
Website:    ?
Verified:    22 July 2017 (Tillek)

Boot Factory 2k (? - ?)
SysOp:         Abdul
Platform:     Emulated Atari running BBS Express Pro! v2.1a
Telnet:        bfbbs.no-ip.com:8888
Web Portal:    ?
Website:    ?
Verified:    22 July 2017 (Tillek)

Boot Factory 2k (Carina) (Launched - 2017)
SysOp:         Abdul
Platform:     Emulated Atari running Carina
Telnet:        bfbbs.no-ip.com:9000
Web Portal:    ?
Website:    ?
Verified:    ?

The Veteran Adventurer's Guild (Launched - 2017)
SysOp:         Guildmaster Tillek
Platform:    Atari 800xl running Carina 2.7
Telnet:        bbs.sfhqbbs.org:3523
Web Portal: Coming Soon
Website:    Coming Soon
Verified:    22 July 2017 (Tillek)

The Resistance (Launched - 2017)
SysOp:         Beavis
Platform:     Atari 800 running BBS Express Pro! v4.0
Telnet:        broadway1.lorexddns.net
Web Portal: ?
Website:    ?
Verified:    22 July 2017 (Tillek)

YYZ BBS (? - ?)
SysOp:         Lord Cygnus
Platform:     Atari 65XE running Oasis Jr.
Telnet:        yyzbbs.no-ip.org:65
Web Portal: ?
Website:    ?
Verified:    22 July 2017 (Tillek)

===========================================================
Atari ST
===========================================================
Dark Force (? - ?)
SysOp:        DarkLord
Platform:    Atari Mega ST running BBS Express! ST
Telnet:     darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org:520
Web Portal:    http://www.sfhqbbs.o...t-darkforce.php
Web Page:     http://www.darkforce.org/index2.html
Verified:    22 July 2017 (Tillek)

STar Fleet HQ (Resurrected - 2013)
SysOp:         Commodore Clifford (Tillek)
Platform:     Atari Mega STE running RatSoft ST
Telnet:        bbs.sfhqbbs.org:5983
Web Portal:    http://www.sfhqbbs.org/telnet.php
Website:    http://www.sfhqbbs.org
Verified:    22 July 2017 (Tillek)


ST Guild (Resurrected - 2017)
SysOp:       Arch Mage
Platform:     Atari 520STE running BBS Express! ST v1.99
Telnet:        stguildbbs.ddns.net
Web Portal:    ?
Website:    ?
Verified:    22 July 2017 (Tillek)

TOXiC NiPPLE BBS (Launched - ?)
SysOp: Moop
Platform: Atari Mega ST running BBS Express! ST
Telnet:        bbs.retrohack.se:9001
Web Portal:    ?
Website:    ?
Verified:    ?
 


Edited by Tillek, Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:37 PM.


#895 Tillek OFFLINE  

Tillek

    Dragonstomper

  • 628 posts
  • Location:NE Ohio, USA

Posted Sat Jul 22, 2017 1:13 PM

That said.. I did decide to leave the Veteran Adventurer's Guild up since no one ended up putting up a Carina system with Robowar/Zenobia/etc.  I'll be adding a lot of games after I back up that HD.  It's a little tempermental (been acting funny lately) so I'm going to try to back it up this weekend and add at least a few games.

 

And maybe a new messages function.



#896 moonlight_mile OFFLINE  

moonlight_mile

    Chopper Commander

  • 144 posts

Posted Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:30 PM

I have finally been bbsing again now that mine is up and running.

I am trying to bbs on my real 130xe. But I am having issues with the no-ip addresses. Bobterm (and Express) seems to have trapped out the "-". Is there any workaround for this? Or am I doing something wrong?

Sorry if this has been previously covered.

#897 JohnPolka OFFLINE  

JohnPolka

    Space Invader

  • 33 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:39 PM

I have finally been bbsing again now that mine is up and running.

I am trying to bbs on my real 130xe. But I am having issues with the no-ip addresses. Bobterm (and Express) seems to have trapped out the "-". Is there any workaround for this? Or am I doing something wrong?

Sorry if this has been previously covered.

 

Did you try entering the address in terminal mode using the ATDI command? I use Bobterm and have no problem connecting to no-ip BBSs if I manually enter the telnet address via ATDI. For example, "ATDI bfbbs.no-ip.com 8888" (followed with a Control M).

 

-JP



#898 JohnPolka OFFLINE  

JohnPolka

    Space Invader

  • 33 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:43 PM

Seeing the list is a little out of date.........

 

Rough draft.  Suggestions/Additions/Corrections welcome.

2017 Atari BBS List

 

-snip-

 

Great list! Thanks for compiling this. Is there a standard location or repository where this list will be maintained at? Or will we just have to find it in this message thread?

 

-JP



#899 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,529 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:50 PM

I have finally been bbsing again now that mine is up and running.

I am trying to bbs on my real 130xe. But I am having issues with the no-ip addresses. Bobterm (and Express) seems to have trapped out the "-". Is there any workaround for this? Or am I doing something wrong?

Sorry if this has been previously covered.

How are you connecting your 130XE to the internet?  Through APE , Lantronix device or ???



#900 moonlight_mile OFFLINE  

moonlight_mile

    Chopper Commander

  • 144 posts

Posted Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:32 PM

How are you connecting your 130XE to the internet?  Through APE , Lantronix device or ???


130xe to sio2pc to ape




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users