Jump to content

Photo

Atari 8-bit related BBS(s)


1350 replies to this topic

#1276 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,822 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:54 PM

I installed the CR2032. Looks good so far. Time will tell. :)



#1277 JohnPolka OFFLINE  

JohnPolka

    Chopper Commander

  • 107 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sat Dec 29, 2018 1:54 AM

I installed the CR2032. Looks good so far. Time will tell. :)

 

Yeah, I successfully got on earlier and saw that the time was correct. So, I figured you got the new battery installed. :)



#1278 Curt Vendel OFFLINE  

Curt Vendel

    River Patroller

  • 4,768 posts
  • Location:Carmel, New York

Posted Sat Dec 29, 2018 10:24 AM

Ive been flirting with the idea of putting my old customized Carnival (heavily modified AMIS) software which I then heavily modified to run multi-user on a network of 800s connected to a Corvus HD.

#1279 Tillek OFFLINE  

Tillek

    Dragonstomper

  • 693 posts
  • Location:NE Ohio, USA

Posted Sat Dec 29, 2018 10:32 AM

Ive been flirting with the idea of putting my old customized Carnival (heavily modified AMIS) software which I then heavily modified to run multi-user on a network of 800s connected to a Corvus HD.

If you still have the equipment, go for it.  Was talking to another old AMIS sysop on Facebook trying to get his mod going.    I remember AMIS quite fondly... was the first BBS software I worked on modifying.

 

From what I remember, I actually got it working with more than one message base.



#1280 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,822 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Sat Dec 29, 2018 7:23 PM

I wonder if AMIS could run under FastBASIC... Would it be as fast as Express Pro?  I hope so. :)



#1281 DarkLord OFFLINE  

DarkLord

    River Patroller

  • 3,295 posts
  • Location:Prestonsburg, KY USA

Posted Sun Dec 30, 2018 12:04 AM

Can't they simply be repaired by just swapping in a good EPROM?

 

That's a very good question. Not sure about availability - anyone ever taken one apart?

 

I know I haven't.



#1282 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,564 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Sun Dec 30, 2018 1:14 AM

I wonder if AMIS could run under FastBASIC... Would it be as fast as Express Pro?  I hope so. :)

 

Or even Altirra BASIC... Drop-in replacement for the 8KB BASIC ROM. I was showing my dad some of his BASIC programs over xmas from circa 1984, but using Altirra BASIC in a pinch, and a lot of them ran a little too fast, even at stock CPU speed. :)



#1283 rick collette OFFLINE  

rick collette

    Combat Commando

  • 5 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted Wed Jan 2, 2019 11:04 AM

Good morning!  Since this thread seems to be in relation to Atari BBS' in general, and there are some good heads here, I thought I'd ask a question.  

I have the following:

-  a recently modified Atari 800XL (Wizztronics 256k)

-  850 Interface
- MyIDE-II CompactFlash Interface & 8GB CF Card
- Lantronix UDS10 

Many lifetimes ago, I ran an atari bbs.  I would like to do so again.  Back then it was AMIS and some weird little thing I pulled down from Compuserv SIGs that I cannot locate

I also have static IP's and a business internet connection.

I would like to run a bbs again.  Suggestions on this setup? Thoughts? Ideas? 

 

TIA!

 

-- Rick



#1284 JohnPolka OFFLINE  

JohnPolka

    Chopper Commander

  • 107 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed Jan 2, 2019 3:09 PM

Good morning!  Since this thread seems to be in relation to Atari BBS' in general, and there are some good heads here, I thought I'd ask a question.  

I have the following:

-  a recently modified Atari 800XL (Wizztronics 256k)

-  850 Interface
- MyIDE-II CompactFlash Interface & 8GB CF Card
- Lantronix UDS10 

Many lifetimes ago, I ran an atari bbs.  I would like to do so again.  Back then it was AMIS and some weird little thing I pulled down from Compuserv SIGs that I cannot locate

I also have static IP's and a business internet connection.

I would like to run a bbs again.  Suggestions on this setup? Thoughts? Ideas? 

 

TIA!

 

-- Rick

 

It would be cool to see an AMIS BBS on the Internet.  Did you run AMIS with an 850 interface or did you use the version that targeted the MPP 1000C/E (or Supra 300AT) modem? If you used an 850 version, it should be pretty straight forward to configure with an 850 + UDS10. You can search the AtariAge forums for tips on configuring the Lantronix box. If you used the MPP version of AMIS, then I'm not sure how easy it is to configure. Maybe in that case it will work if you load an 850 R: Handler instead of the MPP modem handler.

 

-JP



#1285 rick collette OFFLINE  

rick collette

    Combat Commando

  • 5 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted Thu Jan 3, 2019 8:15 AM

 

It would be cool to see an AMIS BBS on the Internet.  Did you run AMIS with an 850 interface or did you use the version that targeted the MPP 1000C/E (or Supra 300AT) modem? If you used an 850 version, it should be pretty straight forward to configure with an 850 + UDS10. You can search the AtariAge forums for tips on configuring the Lantronix box. If you used the MPP version of AMIS, then I'm not sure how easy it is to configure. Maybe in that case it will work if you load an 850 R: Handler instead of the MPP modem handler.

 

-JP

 

I did use the MPP version; however, that is long gone. I would not mind reimplementing some of the changes I made back then though.  Or even rewriting something on top of MOE



#1286 JohnPolka OFFLINE  

JohnPolka

    Chopper Commander

  • 107 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Thu Jan 3, 2019 2:43 PM

 

I did use the MPP version; however, that is long gone. I would not mind reimplementing some of the changes I made back then though.  Or even rewriting something on top of MOE

 

Did you try any of the software in http://software.bbsd...ATARI/EIGHTBIT/? Looks like AMIS and Carina (MOE) may be available there.



#1287 rick collette OFFLINE  

rick collette

    Combat Commando

  • 5 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted Thu Jan 3, 2019 5:48 PM

I did. I am now working on a way to transfer the contents of the atr and dcm images to fat32



#1288 JohnPolka OFFLINE  

JohnPolka

    Chopper Commander

  • 107 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sun Jan 6, 2019 5:55 PM

The new Basement BBS message base archive is available here . It's all the old message bases that we still have in one place. Many of these are also available on the BBS today. However, I also added some messages that were recovered from an old 850 BBS Express version of the Basement (circa 1988). There's even an ad for Boot Factory in the BBS Ads message base from 1988! :)

 

I will provide a similar archive for the Part-Time BBS soon.


Edited by JohnPolka, Sun Jan 6, 2019 6:03 PM.


#1289 JohnPolka OFFLINE  

JohnPolka

    Chopper Commander

  • 107 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:16 AM

My BBS (The Basement) was originally online from 1986 through 1998. For a little more than half of that time span, the BBS had its own macot, The Basement Cat. I finally got around to posting a little tribute to the Basement Cat.
You can view it here. This webpage also contains some nice ATASCII graphics.
 

 

-JP


Edited by JohnPolka, Sun Jan 20, 2019 4:19 AM.


#1290 bf2k+ OFFLINE  

bf2k+

    Stargunner

  • 1,772 posts
  • Location:Boot Factory BBS 2k+

Posted Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:05 AM

 

My BBS (The Basement) was originally online from 1986 through 1998. For a little more than half of that time span, the BBS had its own macot, The Basement Cat. I finally got around to posting a little tribute to the Basement Cat.
You can view it here. This webpage also contains some nice ATASCII graphics.
 

 

-JP

 

 

Nice!



#1291 DarkLord OFFLINE  

DarkLord

    River Patroller

  • 3,295 posts
  • Location:Prestonsburg, KY USA

Posted Fri Feb 1, 2019 10:58 PM

Hmm, last few times I've tried to logon to the YYZ BBS or Star Fleet I've

been unable to do so.

 

Just me, or...?



#1292 JohnPolka OFFLINE  

JohnPolka

    Chopper Commander

  • 107 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sat Feb 2, 2019 12:58 AM

Hmm, last few times I've tried to logon to the YYZ BBS or Star Fleet I've

been unable to do so.

 

Just me, or...?

 

Star Fleet is up. I just connected to it. YYZ and 8 Bit Guild BBSs have been down for months.

 

-JP



#1293 DarkLord OFFLINE  

DarkLord

    River Patroller

  • 3,295 posts
  • Location:Prestonsburg, KY USA

Posted Sat Feb 2, 2019 6:26 AM

 

Star Fleet is up. I just connected to it. YYZ and 8 Bit Guild BBSs have been down for months.

 

-JP

 

Got it - must have typed something wrong in the last time I tried to connect.

 

Sorry to hear that about YYZ - anything from the SysOp about when they will

be back online? Always liked that little BBS running off floppies.  :)



#1294 JohnPolka OFFLINE  

JohnPolka

    Chopper Commander

  • 107 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sat Feb 2, 2019 8:31 PM

Today, we added another BBS to our ExpressNET message base network. Welcome Resistance BBS!

 

Here's the list of Pro! BBSs that are networking their general message base:

 

Alcatraz BBS                 telnet: alcatrazbbs.ddns.net:9000

Basement BBS              telnet: basementbbs.ddns.net:9000

Part-Time BBS              telnet: ptbbs.ddns.net:8000

The Resistance BBS     telnet: broadway1.lorexddns.net:23

 

 

If you haven't already, check out one or more of these BBSs!

 

-JP


Edited by JohnPolka, Sat Feb 2, 2019 8:32 PM.


#1295 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,822 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Sat Feb 2, 2019 8:52 PM

Today, we added another BBS to our ExpressNET message base network. Welcome Resistance BBS!

 

Here's the list of Pro! BBSs that are networking their general message base:

 

Alcatraz BBS                 telnet: alcatrazbbs.ddns.net:9000

Basement BBS              telnet: basementbbs.ddns.net:9000

Part-Time BBS              telnet: ptbbs.ddns.net:8000

The Resistance BBS     telnet: broadway1.lorexddns.net:23

 

 

If you haven't already, check out one or more of these BBSs!

 

-JP

 

Thanks VERY much for your help!

:)

 

Now, we need to a find (or make) an app that runs on WinXP that will automatically download certain web pages when they update. Basically, I want to make http://www.qmap.pub automatically go to a message base, or to text files in the library section. I have RespeQt running 24/7 on my laptop.

 

Any ideas?

 

T.I.A

 

Edit: Forgot ONE SPACE :(


Edited by Kyle22, Sat Feb 2, 2019 8:54 PM.


#1296 talanthalus OFFLINE  

talanthalus

    Space Invader

  • 26 posts
  • Location:Austin, TX

Posted Tue Feb 5, 2019 1:59 PM

Almost revived... The Dungeon BBS (my version).  I have to go through lines of code and modify all of the drive calls, since I'm not running four physical drives and a RAMdisk at the moment.  Once I've done that, I'll be able to get it to work properly, I believe, then I can start testing putting this version up online. 

 

20190205 134504


#1297 DNA128k OFFLINE  

DNA128k

    Star Raider

  • 51 posts
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 9:17 AM

Is this an appropriate place to ask for advice on getting my 800XL online?  I'm having a hell of a tough time, I've got an SIO2PC-USB from Lotharek, a couple modern Macs, and Windows VMs.  

I can't seem to get the 850 emulator in SIO2OSX working, and APE doesn't want to play nice with Lotharek's SIO2PC-USB adapter.  

 

I've tried SerialTCP, but I think the lack of an R: handler is making all the terminal emulator software I've tried choke.  It looks like the software AtariGeezer's working on would do the trick, but I think it's still in development.

 

I should probably note that I can use the SIO2PC-USB adapter for disk loading with RespeQt without issue.

 

If it's possible to get up and running with the gear I've got, I'm certainly at a loss.  I'm tempted to just get a VOIP landline from Comcast and an X301 for a few bucks from Best...  Thanks!


Edited by DNA128k, Wed Feb 6, 2019 9:24 AM.


#1298 talanthalus OFFLINE  

talanthalus

    Space Invader

  • 26 posts
  • Location:Austin, TX

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 11:30 AM

Is this an appropriate place to ask for advice on getting my 800XL online?  I'm having a hell of a tough time, I've got an SIO2PC-USB from Lotharek, a couple modern Macs, and Windows VMs.  

I can't seem to get the 850 emulator in SIO2OSX working, and APE doesn't want to play nice with Lotharek's SIO2PC-USB adapter.  

 

I've tried SerialTCP, but I think the lack of an R: handler is making all the terminal emulator software I've tried choke.  It looks like the software AtariGeezer's working on would do the trick, but I think it's still in development.

 

I should probably note that I can use the SIO2PC-USB adapter for disk loading with RespeQt without issue.

 

If it's possible to get up and running with the gear I've got, I'm certainly at a loss.  I'm tempted to just get a VOIP landline from Comcast and an X301 for a few bucks from Best...  Thanks!

 

Being the stubborn type I am, I went with the Wimodem232 and am leveraging my ATR-8000 (you can also use the 850 interface or others if you have them).  This connects directly to WiFi, and then you can use terminal software to dial out to BBSes.  I did this, so I don't have to tether my system to my PC to do everything.  Someone showed me an 850 up for sale for $17 or so just a few days ago, if you wanted to go straight online with the Atari.  This route is probably more cost effective long-term than having to get a landline and modem. :)



#1299 DNA128k OFFLINE  

DNA128k

    Star Raider

  • 51 posts
  • Location:Philadelphia, PA

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 12:22 PM

 

Being the stubborn type I am, I went with the Wimodem232 and am leveraging my ATR-8000 (you can also use the 850 interface or others if you have them).  This connects directly to WiFi, and then you can use terminal software to dial out to BBSes.  I did this, so I don't have to tether my system to my PC to do everything.  Someone showed me an 850 up for sale for $17 or so just a few days ago, if you wanted to go straight online with the Atari.  This route is probably more cost effective long-term than having to get a landline and modem. :)

 

Thanks!  I've been looking into an 850, but I haven't seen any in that price range.  I don't mind being tethered to my modern machine, as it shares the same desk and display as the Atari; I was just hoping there was some software solution to emulate an 850 / R: handler or otherwise that I hadn't tried yet!



#1300 tschak909 ONLINE  

tschak909

    River Patroller

  • 3,086 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2019 12:31 PM

There is also IRATA.ONLINE, of course. https://www.irata.online/ 






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users