Jump to content

Photo

"Tiles" COMPUTE! Magazine program conversion


52 replies to this topic

#26 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,311 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:45 PM

Took a little work and some slight-of-hand to introduce proper delays and a little input de-bounce.  Here is a test EA5 of the compiled program.  Give it a try and let me know how it goes.  I will polish it up a little over time as needed.

 

I just noticed it is slightly over 8k.  Not sure how I can trim that down any as it is already pretty well bummed.

 

(I just found I put a delay outside of the game loop so switching between players there is no delay. I will put up an update shortly.)



#27 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • 12,261 posts
  • Location:워싱턴 주

Posted Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:51 PM

Will do.  I've already downloaded it, but I'm in a CHATTI conversation right now so it'll be a bit.  --- THANKS!



#28 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,311 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Tue Apr 24, 2018 8:59 PM

I introduced this short routine to help with the really fast input detection.

//
// Wait Key-Up
//
// Introduce a "de-bounce" to wait until the last key pressed is released
// or a short repeat delay expires.
WaitNoKeyPress:
J=150
CheckForDebounce:
CALL KEY(0,K,S) :: IF S AND J THEN J=J-1 :: GOTO CheckForDebounce ELSE RETURN

Attached is a second test EA5 of the compiled game with the player switching delay inside the game loop.

 

(My little routine works but it does not slow down joystick detection.  I will have to put a little more thought into that.)

Attached Files



#29 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • 12,261 posts
  • Location:워싱턴 주

Posted Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:05 PM

It say's it's a BIN but it will not show up on the FG99 even after changing the filename.  Dunno to TILESXB8... any ideas?



#30 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,311 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:08 PM

I gave it the ".BIN" extension to pass muster for AA upload.  It is a straight EA5 file.



#31 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • 12,261 posts
  • Location:워싱턴 주

Posted Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:10 PM

Can you zip it?  I cannot get the blasted .BIN extension off.



#32 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,311 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:12 PM

REN TILESXB2-E.BIN TILESXB2-E ??

 

Attached :)

Attached Files



#33 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • 12,261 posts
  • Location:워싱턴 주

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:10 AM

Sorry, I cannot get it to load.  I keep getting  I/O ERROR CODE 5



#34 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,311 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:19 AM

Dunno what to tell you on that.  I have the file in the DSK1 directory for Classic99 and run it from E/A just fine.  I will try putting it on a DSK image for you shortly.

 

Here, I just put the file into the original disk image.



#35 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • 12,261 posts
  • Location:워싱턴 주

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 9:41 AM

Sorry, same thing... I doubt it's a TIPI thing, but I don't have time to hook up the P-Box right now.  Maybe someone else can give it a go.  I have to start getting ready to go.



#36 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 3,269 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:05 AM

I also tried loading it in EA, getting an IO error 7 after the TILESXB2-E has been loaded. The header of the file starts with FFFF, which usually means there are more files to load.



#37 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,311 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:32 AM

Okay, I think I know what the problem is.  A setting in Classic99 for the compiler, perhaps.  When I try to load it from FIAD using the settings for Harry's compiler it works, but when I try loading it from the DSK image, error 7.  Bear with me.



#38 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,311 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:51 AM

I cannot figure out what to do to fix the file and I do not have time to figure it out right now.  If the file is saved in a FIAD disk directory and the CRCs are the same, but only the file in the XB Compiler directory works. Maybe there are other files the EA5 file needs to load?



#39 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,311 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 7:01 PM

Updated DSK image.  This one is tested to work.  I did two things: first I mixed up different versions of the compile, secondly I used TIImageTool to copy the file into the image and it exactly copied the file including the TIFILES header.

 

EA5 file: TILESXB2-E

Attached Files



#40 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,311 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:48 PM

I tried creating a cartridge image but it came out to 24k and does not seem to work for me.  Anyone who has experience converting EA5 to cartridge I would appreciate a pointer.

 

I have noticed a couple of more things I would like to adjust before making a final cartridge image.



#41 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,397 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Apr 27, 2018 8:54 AM

I tried creating a cartridge image but it came out to 24k and does not seem to work for me.  Anyone who has experience converting EA5 to cartridge I would appreciate a pointer.

 

I have noticed a couple of more things I would like to adjust before making a final cartridge image.

 

did you use fred's modulemaker? 



#42 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,311 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Fri Apr 27, 2018 10:24 AM

 

did you use fred's modulemaker? 

 

No, I used the ea5 to cart python script from the FG99 archive.



#43 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,311 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Sun Apr 29, 2018 12:16 AM

 

did you use fred's modulemaker? 

 

Where can I find this?  I looked but apparently not well enough.



#44 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,397 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sun Apr 29, 2018 12:21 AM

http://www.ti99-geek.nl

Modules then look for module maker

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#45 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,311 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:01 AM

http://www.ti99-geek.nl

Modules then look for module maker

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

 

I see why I could not find it: it is "module creator."  In any case I am not getting any closer and more frustrated by this error:

 

File does't have a correct V9T9 program file header

 

Both files have TIFILES headers.



#46 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,397 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:07 AM

Tidir converts tifiles to v9t9

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#47 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,311 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:31 AM

I just ran the compiler in Classic99 again with V9T9 headers turned on, and used shorter file names to accommodate commensurate restrictions.

 

Here is the result.  I will create another build later as there are some adjustments I want to make but I have to focus my time on a looming deadline.

Attached Files



#48 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,311 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Mon Apr 30, 2018 12:50 AM

Deadline passed, work is completed, now on to the ongoing support mode.

 

Now, for Tiles, the last cartridge image release will address:

 

1) Application of similar joystick delay as key press delay

2) Place a key press delay at the "number of players" prompt

3) ...

4) Cartridge label

 

I will work on these over the next few days and call this a complete package: cassette and disk in BASIC and Extended BASIC, and cartridge release.



#49 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,311 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Mon Apr 30, 2018 10:01 PM

I have updated the keyboard repeat routine to include joystick.  The joystick repeat winds up being much slower than the keyboard repeat but at least this way it is controllable, including prevention of accidental double-taps on incorrect squares.

 

I would appreciate if someone will try this out and make sure it plays as expected: key repeat and wait delays in all proper places, and no accidental entries from normal control use.

Attached Files



#50 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,311 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Tue May 1, 2018 11:20 PM

Opinions?

 

Attached File  tiles_cart_label_black_custom.png   31.43KB   0 downloads

 

Attached File  tiles_cart_label_yellow_custom.png   34.26KB   0 downloads

 

I do realize at some point I need to get a round tuit and expand these out with cutting guides.  I just keep misplacing them.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users