IGNORED

"Popeye" unusually high resolution for an early 80's arcade game?

mbd30

I thought that MAME was in error when it listed the resolution as 512x448, but that's what it is. That seems unusually high resolution for 1982. However I'm no expert on vintage arcade games so maybe it wasn't. What are some other high res titles from the time period?

I thought that MAME was in error when it listed the resolution as 512x448, but that's what it is. That seems unusually high resolution for 1982. However I'm no expert on vintage arcade games so maybe it wasn't. What are some other high res titles from the time period?

Funny, I was looking through Supercade by Van Burnham just last night and thought, "Boy, Popeye sure looks a lot sharper than those other games from that period." I guess it was!

Anyway, I'm certainly no expert on the topic, but Atari System II used medium-res monitors (512 X 384) beginning in 1986, which is the earliest use I could find:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atari_System

Toobin' also used one in 1988. Beyond that, I don't know.

I always thought Popeye looked like it was at a higher resolution. The characters themselves look amazingly detailed for the time, but the backgrounds look about average or even below average. It's really a mixed bag.

Tempest

Hi guys,

Popeye is a pretty good game. But high resolution?

At 512x448 it's higher resolution than most older arcade games. By comparison, "Donkey Kong" and "Zaxxon" are 224x256. "Final Fight" and "Street Fighter 2" are both only 384x224.

• Like 1

I always thought Popeye looked like it was at a higher resolution. The characters themselves look amazingly detailed for the time, but the backgrounds look about average or even below average. It's really a mixed bag.

Tempest

Yep.