Jump to content

Photo

The CompuMate List


143 replies to this topic

#51 Amstari OFFLINE  

Amstari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 715 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sat Apr 9, 2011 8:49 AM

Sounds great! I don't own a Compumate yet, but I'm very curious about what you're planning with these. Do you have a thread started elsewhere or a place with more info on what you'll be doing?



This is the original thread:

http://www.atariage....s-compumate-cd/

#52 Amstari OFFLINE  

Amstari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 715 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sat Apr 9, 2011 8:57 AM

I'm not very artistic but here is something I did with the CompuMate drawing program.

DSCN4603.JPG


If you want to load it on your CompuMate here is the MP3: Attached File  Atari Logo - Graphic.mp3   666.13KB   156 downloads

#53 high voltage OFFLINE  

high voltage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,172 posts
  • Location:europe

Posted Sat Apr 9, 2011 9:17 AM

I wonder why not more coders done games or demos on Compumate. I wonder if something like Pitfall would be possible. Or is it restricted to that Basic, I guess so. Maybe games like early Epyx stuff would be possible, a lot of their early stuff was done in Basic. Also, would love to see a scrolling demo on Compumate, with music.

Edited by high voltage, Sat Apr 9, 2011 9:19 AM.


#54 Amstari OFFLINE  

Amstari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 715 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:28 AM

I wonder why not more coders done games or demos on Compumate. I wonder if something like Pitfall would be possible. Or is it restricted to that Basic, I guess so. Maybe games like early Epyx stuff would be possible, a lot of their early stuff was done in Basic. Also, would love to see a scrolling demo on Compumate, with music.


I'm not sure if the CompuMate can load code other than just the in-built Basic, but I am trying to find out.

Although the 2K limit would be a problem it could be overcome with a multi-load game.

I find it difficult to write and edit Basic using the CompuMate so I want to find out if there is a way to write the code on a PC then convert it to an audio file to be loaded by the CompuMate. I have asked about this on a SpectraVideo computer forum (http://www.network54.com/Forum/25917/) I have been told it should be possible but I don't have the ability to make the convertor myself. I might ask in the Atari 8-bit computer section.

#55 high voltage OFFLINE  

high voltage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,172 posts
  • Location:europe

Posted Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:56 PM

I finally won one from Venezuela, takes 30 days to arrive, then I'll have a serial number to give you :-)


Hasn't arrived yet, but it's not quite 30 days yet. Can't wait.....

Edited by high voltage, Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:56 PM.


#56 Amstari OFFLINE  

Amstari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 715 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Thu Apr 28, 2011 9:19 PM

I've updated a demostration video of the CompuMate to YouTube. It is just done with the camera on my phone.



(I will embed the video in the post if someone can PM me and tell me how to do it.)

I've also started a CompuMate section on my website: http://ninepinninja..../compumate.html

Any feedback would be welcome.

#57 Mitch OFFLINE  

Mitch

    Quadrunner

  • 6,457 posts
  • 7800 Guy
  • Location:Southern California, USA

Posted Sat May 7, 2011 1:44 PM

Just got mine this week.

Spectravideo NTSC CIB BC0100028434

MItch

#58 high voltage OFFLINE  

high voltage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,172 posts
  • Location:europe

Posted Sat May 7, 2011 1:59 PM

Mine arrived at German customs today, had a note in the mail. Gonna pick it up on Tuesday, yeahy

#59 Amstari OFFLINE  

Amstari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 715 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sat May 7, 2011 5:53 PM

Just got mine this week.

Spectravideo NTSC CIB BC0100028434

MItch


Hi Mitch, I tried to add your info to the original post but I'm no longer able to edit it.

As a Moderator are you able to update it?

#60 Mitch OFFLINE  

Mitch

    Quadrunner

  • 6,457 posts
  • 7800 Guy
  • Location:Southern California, USA

Posted Sat May 7, 2011 6:18 PM

Just got mine this week.

Spectravideo NTSC CIB BC0100028434

MItch


Hi Mitch, I tried to add your info to the original post but I'm no longer able to edit it.

As a Moderator are you able to update it?


I only have moderator rights in the 7800 forum. I've asked one of the other mods to take care of it.

Mitch

#61 high voltage OFFLINE  

high voltage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,172 posts
  • Location:europe

Posted Tue May 10, 2011 11:51 AM

YES YES YES
here's mine:
Posted Image

Beautiful, new in box with everything, even the tape cable. I am a happy bunny

BC0100014522 NTSC

Edited by high voltage, Tue May 10, 2011 11:53 AM.


#62 Amstari OFFLINE  

Amstari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 715 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Thu May 12, 2011 3:49 AM

YES YES YES
here's mine:

Beautiful, new in box with everything, even the tape cable. I am a happy bunny

BC0100014522 NTSC


It looks great! I'm jealous, I don't have the box or manual.

What is in the catalogue that came with it?

I need to get a moderator to add your serial number to the original post. (So if any 2600 forum moderators are reading this can you please send me a PM)

#63 Mitch OFFLINE  

Mitch

    Quadrunner

  • 6,457 posts
  • 7800 Guy
  • Location:Southern California, USA

Posted Thu May 12, 2011 2:31 PM

I need to get a moderator to add your serial number to the original post. (So if any 2600 forum moderators are reading this can you please send me a PM)


You should have permission to edit the first post, is it not working?

Mitch

#64 high voltage OFFLINE  

high voltage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,172 posts
  • Location:europe

Posted Thu May 12, 2011 3:04 PM

There's one on Venezuela (USA) ebay right now

#65 Amstari OFFLINE  

Amstari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 715 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Thu May 12, 2011 7:20 PM

I need to get a moderator to add your serial number to the original post. (So if any 2600 forum moderators are reading this can you please send me a PM)


You should have permission to edit the first post, is it not working?

Mitch



I just tried again and it is working now! :)

I thought it wasn't working because this is what is says on the Subscriptions page: "- Edit window of 30 days versus one hour"

I will add you and high voltage to the list now.

#66 Rom Hunter OFFLINE  

Rom Hunter

    VCS Games Archivist

  • 8,595 posts
  • Obtainer of Rare Antiquities

Posted Fri May 13, 2011 8:28 AM

I was wondering:

Do PAL CompuMates from Spectravideo (not Universum) actually exist?

8)

#67 Amstari OFFLINE  

Amstari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 715 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Fri May 13, 2011 9:38 AM

I was wondering:

Do PAL CompuMates from Spectravideo (not Universum) actually exist?

8)


Hi Rom Hunter,

I can't be 100% sure because I don't have the box for mine but it does have a Spectravideo label under the keyboard unlike the Universum version.

Mine has a sticker that says "Passed QC P", whereas others have "Passed QC N".

DSCN4715.JPG DSCN4714.JPG

I think I can open the cart without damaging the end label so I will have a look at the PCB for any info.

#68 high voltage OFFLINE  

high voltage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,172 posts
  • Location:europe

Posted Fri May 13, 2011 12:53 PM

I did have a British (unboxed) Compumate once, but I don't remember if it was PAL, but hey, since Compumate's where available in UK, and Universum just covered Germany, surely they must exist, unless they where distributed by Paladium or Prism or some other distribution firm.

#69 Rom Hunter OFFLINE  

Rom Hunter

    VCS Games Archivist

  • 8,595 posts
  • Obtainer of Rare Antiquities

Posted Fri May 13, 2011 1:18 PM

I was wondering:

Do PAL CompuMates from Spectravideo (not Universum) actually exist?

8)


Hi Rom Hunter,

I can't be 100% sure because I don't have the box for mine but it does have a Spectravideo label under the keyboard unlike the Universum version.

Mine has a sticker that says "Passed QC P", whereas others have "Passed QC N".

DSCN4715.JPG DSCN4714.JPG

I think I can open the cart without damaging the end label so I will have a look at the PCB for any info.

I think the label underneath the system together with the P sticker will suffice.

Would be nice to have a sharper picture of that P sticker.

8)

#70 Amstari OFFLINE  

Amstari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 715 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sat May 14, 2011 2:40 AM

Would be nice to have a sharper picture of that P sticker.


As requested, here is a better picture of the sticker.

2011-05-14 17.33.47.jpg

I opened the cart and took some pictures of the PCB for my own curiousity.

2011-05-14 17.39.44.jpg 2011-05-14 17.41.24.jpg

The IC with the hand written sticker is two ICs on top of each other soldered together. It has CompuMate Version 12 on the back of the PCB.

#71 nofrills100 OFFLINE  

nofrills100

    River Patroller

  • 3,075 posts
  • Location:Sydney, Australia

Posted Sat May 14, 2011 3:20 AM

I'm selling my Spectravision collection, including my Picturemate cassette, Compumate, and Heimcomputer.
Don't expect them to be cheap, but PM with an offer if you are interested. Cheers
http://www.atariage...._1#entry2279774

#72 edintv OFFLINE  

edintv

    Dragonstomper

  • 745 posts
  • Location:Venezuela

Posted Tue May 17, 2011 5:32 PM

I just pick up this game, is new but the Blister is opened. Since in this topic all the Compumate Fans are reunited, I want to ask a Rarity / Value check or How much I sholud ask for it. Help is appreciated.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_2315 R.JPG
  • IMG_2316 R.JPG


#73 nofrills100 OFFLINE  

nofrills100

    River Patroller

  • 3,075 posts
  • Location:Sydney, Australia

Posted Tue May 17, 2011 6:42 PM

I just pick up this game, is new but the Blister is opened. Since in this topic all the Compumate Fans are reunited, I want to ask a Rarity / Value check or How much I sholud ask for it. Help is appreciated.

Damn!!!!!!
Start a thread in 2600 - I believe it is unheard of!

#74 edintv OFFLINE  

edintv

    Dragonstomper

  • 745 posts
  • Location:Venezuela

Posted Tue May 17, 2011 7:08 PM

I just pick up this game, is new but the Blister is opened. Since in this topic all the Compumate Fans are reunited, I want to ask a Rarity / Value check or How much I sholud ask for it. Help is appreciated.

Damn!!!!!!
Start a thread in 2600 - I believe it is unheard of!


Ok, I will do so. Thanks.

#75 Amstari OFFLINE  

Amstari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 715 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sat May 21, 2011 7:52 AM

I've programmed a "Rock, Paper, Scissors" game for the CompuMate.

Attached File  Rock Paper Scissors CompuMate.mp3   483.28KB   155 downloads

It's only a simple game but I hope some people will enjoy it.

I have also adapted a program program for calculating a percentage change. The original program was in the Amazing Amstrad Omnibus and I wanted to see if it would work on the CompuMate.

Attached File  PercentageCalc.mp3   493.89KB   130 downloads

Next I think I will try a Tic-Tac-Toe game. If anyone has any other ideas feel free to make suggestions,




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users