Jump to content

Photo

The CompuMate List


143 replies to this topic

#126 alex_79 OFFLINE  

alex_79

    Dragonstomper

  • 988 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Fri Feb 19, 2016 1:52 PM

I managed to convert the audio files into raw binary data. I used a modified version of an old utility I wrote for another project and it worked quite well. I had to manually fix some of the audio files or they wouldn't convert as is. Especially the first 2 or 3 Picturemate tracks had some issues (see picture) that could cause them not to work at all on real hardware altough I don't have a compumate an I cannot test it myself.

wave.png

The picturemate tracks holds 2052 bytes each, while the songmate ones are 1540 bytes. The first 4 bytes are some sort of header, so there are exactly 2kb and 1.5Kb respectively (the compumate has 2kb ram built-in). As you can see in the following picture, I I typed a few bytes from the first Picturmate track into the ram in the Stella debugger and the correct picture started to appear on the rendered screen.

picture.png

I also used the raw data to generate new audio files that should be more reliable. If someone wants to try them on real hardware and report if they work, it would be appreciated.

Here are the files:
Attached File  compumate_tape_binary_v1.zip   22.64KB   49 downloads

Attached File  compumate_tapes_remastered_v1.zip   1.1MB   53 downloads



#127 Omegamatrix OFFLINE  

Omegamatrix

    Quadrunner

  • 6,118 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Fri Feb 19, 2016 2:22 PM

Alex i cant tell you how long ive waited for this. If i wasnt on my phone youd have a thousand likes by now. Thank you so much for doing this!!

#128 alex_79 OFFLINE  

alex_79

    Dragonstomper

  • 988 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Fri Feb 19, 2016 3:00 PM

Here are the binary conversion of the programs posted by Amstari in this thread. The Compumate basic programs are also 1.5kb each.
 

Attached File  Atari_Logo_Graphic.bin   2KB   54 downloads

Attached File  Number_Guess.bin   1.5KB   45 downloads

Attached File  PercentageCalc.bin   1.5KB   43 downloads

Attached File  Quest-A.bin   1.5KB   43 downloads

Attached File  Rock_Paper_Scissors_CompuMate.bin   1.5KB   41 downloads

Attached File  Square_Root.bin   1.5KB   44 downloads



#129 Mitch ONLINE  

Mitch

    Quadrunner

  • 6,460 posts
  • 7800 Guy
  • Location:Southern California, USA

Posted Fri Feb 19, 2016 10:06 PM

Now I need to find my Compumate again. Thanks for the conversions.

 

Mitch



#130 toymailman OFFLINE  

toymailman

    River Patroller

  • 2,181 posts

Posted Sat Feb 20, 2016 7:12 AM

I managed to convert the audio files into raw binary data. I used a modified version of an old utility I wrote for another project and it worked quite well. I had to manually fix some of the audio files or they wouldn't convert as is. Especially the first 2 or 3 PictureMate tracks had some issues that could cause them not to work at all on real hardware although I don't have a CompuMate and I cannot test it myself.

You da' man!  Thanks for doing this.  :-D



#131 phreak97 OFFLINE  

phreak97

    Space Invader

  • 18 posts

Posted Tue Feb 23, 2016 2:59 AM

Yay! Earliest known:)
Just picked this up today from an auction house here in South Australia:)
Loose unit but it does work:)

Attached Thumbnails

  • image.jpeg

Edited by phreak97, Tue Feb 23, 2016 3:05 AM.


#132 phreak97 OFFLINE  

phreak97

    Space Invader

  • 18 posts

Posted Tue Feb 23, 2016 4:20 AM

It's PAL by the way. I can't edit my post again for some reason.

#133 Amstari OFFLINE  

Amstari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 715 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Mon Mar 7, 2016 4:33 AM

I've been going through my stuff and have the following to add to the CompuMate list.

 

I have two CompuMate keyboards.

 

BC 0100014709 (CIB - NTSC)

BC 0100024700 (NIB - NTSC)

 

 

I've finally added them to the list in the original post.

 

 

Yay! Earliest known:)
Just picked this up today from an auction house here in South Australia:)
Loose unit but it does work:)

 

Also added to the list. Where is this auction house? I'm also in South Australia but haven't heard of about it.



#134 phreak97 OFFLINE  

phreak97

    Space Invader

  • 18 posts

Posted Mon Mar 7, 2016 8:37 PM

 
I've finally added them to the list in the original post.
 
 
 
Also added to the list. Where is this auction house? I'm also in South Australia but haven't heard of about it.

It came from scamell auctions in norwood, Probably a deceased estate.

#135 Amstari OFFLINE  

Amstari

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 715 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Mon Mar 7, 2016 9:03 PM

It came from scamell auctions in norwood, Probably a deceased estate.


Cheers! I will have to check out their auctions. If I see anything Atari or gaming related I will let you know so we don't compete bidding for it :)

#136 phreak97 OFFLINE  

phreak97

    Space Invader

  • 18 posts

Posted Tue Mar 8, 2016 1:50 AM

Haha cheers

#137 Foxsolo2000 OFFLINE  

Foxsolo2000

    River Patroller

  • 3,628 posts
  • Our future resides in the hands of fools!
  • Location:Doomsville, middle of nowhere, UK

Posted Tue Mar 8, 2016 12:08 PM

May sound like a stupid question but does anyone know how many of these things were released worldwide?



#138 high voltage OFFLINE  

high voltage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,179 posts
  • Location:europe

Posted Tue Mar 8, 2016 2:18 PM

In Germany the Compumates were released via a mail-order catalogue, Quelle, and those guys were nationwide, and they bought in bulk.

They re-boxed them with the Universum label (a Quelle electronics company), made them to work for PAL TV, and advertised them within the catalogue. Don't know f they sold loads though, I actually don't think so.



#139 billysastard OFFLINE  

billysastard

    Chopper Commander

  • 111 posts
  • Location:Yorkshire UK

Posted Tue Jun 7, 2016 6:35 PM

i have 2 compumates, one spectravideo, one universum, both pal but after much hunting i can only find one..

 

pal

universum (quelle)

s/n: 259.151 9

 

oddly it also has a second number sticker BC 0100023088

 

works perfectly on vcs consoles, wont boot on jr's (another cart with compatibility issues on jr's)

 

no box or manual.

 

the other as i say is a pal spectravideo, worked fine before i lost it (untested on jr's) has manual but no box.


Edited by billysastard, Tue Jun 7, 2016 6:40 PM.


#140 drozdevi OFFLINE  

drozdevi

    Combat Commando

  • 3 posts

Posted Sun Jun 26, 2016 4:51 PM

 

Did you get it to work after cleaning?

Sorry for the long wait, but it's seemed like this thread had picked up some steam again.

 

And as of now, I am still ad odds with my faulty Compumate.  I find that if I put the joystick plugs in the opposite ports, or fiddle with the Atari's switches, different graphical garbage similar to what i've described earlier occurs.



#141 napabar OFFLINE  

napabar

    Space Invader

  • 10 posts

Posted Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:47 PM

I just got two NIB from Venezuela.  I'll post the serial numbers soon.

 

In the meantime, here's a video I made of the two of them sharing a program wirelessly.

 



#142 high voltage OFFLINE  

high voltage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,179 posts
  • Location:europe

Posted Fri Aug 11, 2017 12:57 AM

Yes, that's awesome



#143 napabar OFFLINE  

napabar

    Space Invader

  • 10 posts

Posted Fri Aug 11, 2017 4:33 AM

Sorry for the long wait, but it's seemed like this thread had picked up some steam again.

 

And as of now, I am still ad odds with my faulty Compumate.  I find that if I put the joystick plugs in the opposite ports, or fiddle with the Atari's switches, different graphical garbage similar to what i've described earlier occurs.

 

 

I had problems getting both Compumates up and running.  I had to go through 4 different Atari's to get the pair up and running.  Even when cartridges worked, the Compumate wouldn't on some machines, but work fine on another Atari.  It seems the Vader models are flakier in general than the older wood grain models.



#144 napabar OFFLINE  

napabar

    Space Invader

  • 10 posts

Posted Sun Aug 13, 2017 8:35 PM

Video #2

 

How load programs from an Apple Watch to an Atari 2600 with the Compumate.

 






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users