Jump to content

Photo

Kaboom 7800 Version?


12 replies to this topic

#1 Kaboom69 OFFLINE  

Kaboom69

    Space Invader

  • 19 posts

Posted Sun Apr 3, 2011 8:22 PM

Hey guys, I was wondering if anyone was able to convert Kaboom to 7800 so that I can custom order it via Atari age.
My 2600 version has bad colors as it is uneven. Are there any out there?

Thanks a lot and have a great night.

#2 gdement OFFLINE  

gdement

    Stargunner

  • 1,766 posts
  • Location:Northern CA

Posted Wed Apr 6, 2011 2:21 AM

I haven't paid a lot of attention recently, but I haven't heard of anybody working on Kaboom for the 7800.
Convert isn't really the best word for it, as the game would really need to be written from scratch. It's doable, but somebody would have to be interested enough to put a lot of time into it.

#3 Mirage OFFLINE  

Mirage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,634 posts
  • Have a problem? Hire the Envious Snakes!
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Wed Apr 6, 2011 3:39 AM

My 2600 version has bad colors as it is uneven. Are there any out there?


Not sure what this means... do you mean you have a faulty cart? If so, Kaboom carts aren't hard to find, just get a new one. If you mean that you just don't like the colors Activision chose for 2600 Kaboom for some reason, it would be far easier to do a color hack than to re-program it for the 7800. I guess I'm not seeing where the 7800 really comes into play here.

#4 Kaboom69 OFFLINE  

Kaboom69

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 19 posts

Posted Wed Apr 6, 2011 8:26 AM



My 2600 version has bad colors as it is uneven. Are there any out there?


Not sure what this means... do you mean you have a faulty cart? If so, Kaboom carts aren't hard to find, just get a new one. If you mean that you just don't like the colors Activision chose for 2600 Kaboom for some reason, it would be far easier to do a color hack than to re-program it for the 7800. I guess I'm not seeing where the 7800 really comes into play here.

Thanks for the replies, how would I do a color hack?
When playing my Kaboom, the colors are uneven particularly the green background. Is this my cartridge or just the game?

#5 GroovyBee OFFLINE  

GroovyBee

    Games Developer

  • 7,979 posts
  • Busy bee!
  • Location:North, England

Posted Wed Apr 6, 2011 8:47 AM

The only Kaboom development going on at the moment is for the NES :-

http://nesdev.parodi...opic.php?t=7242

#6 dwane413 OFFLINE  

dwane413

    Moonsweeper

  • 263 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma

Posted Wed Apr 6, 2011 10:29 AM

Thanks for the replies, how would I do a color hack?
When playing my Kaboom, the colors are uneven particularly the green background. Is this my cartridge or just the game?


Here is a hack. This page shows screen shots of both the hack and original:

BK Kaboom!

More Kaboom hacks can be found in the zip file found in this thread:

Atari 2600 Hacks and Homebrews ROM Collection V1.2

I'm not sure, but I don't think any of these are just color hacks though.

#7 Mirage OFFLINE  

Mirage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,634 posts
  • Have a problem? Hire the Envious Snakes!
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Wed Apr 6, 2011 4:30 PM




My 2600 version has bad colors as it is uneven. Are there any out there?


Not sure what this means... do you mean you have a faulty cart? If so, Kaboom carts aren't hard to find, just get a new one. If you mean that you just don't like the colors Activision chose for 2600 Kaboom for some reason, it would be far easier to do a color hack than to re-program it for the 7800. I guess I'm not seeing where the 7800 really comes into play here.

Thanks for the replies, how would I do a color hack?
When playing my Kaboom, the colors are uneven particularly the green background. Is this my cartridge or just the game?


Must be the cart, your system, or the TV/monitor you're using, but the game isn't supposed to be like that. Look at screen captures (on this site) or in an emulator on your computer to see what it's supposed to look like (not that an emulator is always 100% exact), but at least then you'd have an idea as one step of troubleshooting.

#8 Kaboom69 OFFLINE  

Kaboom69

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 19 posts

Posted Wed Apr 6, 2011 8:43 PM

It seems to work just great on 7800 games, then there's a lot of lines on Kaboom.

#9 EricBall OFFLINE  

EricBall

    Dragonstomper

  • 771 posts
  • Location:Markham, Ontario, Canada

Posted Thu Apr 7, 2011 10:40 AM

Do you see similar problems with other 2600 games? The 7800 uses some external circuits to combine the TIA and MARIA video outputs. Maybe you have a bad component or connection somewhere.

#10 Kaboom69 OFFLINE  

Kaboom69

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 19 posts

Posted Thu Apr 7, 2011 8:21 PM

Do you see similar problems with other 2600 games? The 7800 uses some external circuits to combine the TIA and MARIA video outputs. Maybe you have a bad component or connection somewhere.

There is slightly, but not nearly as bad, how would I check that?

#11 EricBall OFFLINE  

EricBall

    Dragonstomper

  • 771 posts
  • Location:Markham, Ontario, Canada

Posted Fri Apr 8, 2011 11:24 AM

Do you see similar problems with other 2600 games? The 7800 uses some external circuits to combine the TIA and MARIA video outputs. Maybe you have a bad component or connection somewhere.

There is slightly, but not nearly as bad, how would I check that?

Do you have the tools and ability to make the repairs? (i.e. how are you with a soldering iron and circuit schematics?) If you don't (or don't know someone who does) then your options may be to either live with the problem or buy a replacement. If you are interested in making the repairs, the schematics for the 7800 are in the Atari 7800 Archives.

#12 Kaboom69 OFFLINE  

Kaboom69

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 19 posts

Posted Fri Apr 8, 2011 8:17 PM


Do you see similar problems with other 2600 games? The 7800 uses some external circuits to combine the TIA and MARIA video outputs. Maybe you have a bad component or connection somewhere.

There is slightly, but not nearly as bad, how would I check that?

Do you have the tools and ability to make the repairs? (i.e. how are you with a soldering iron and circuit schematics?) If you don't (or don't know someone who does) then your options may be to either live with the problem or buy a replacement. If you are interested in making the repairs, the schematics for the 7800 are in the Atari 7800 Archives.

I do know how to solder, are there any guides to specifically check for these?

#13 EricBall OFFLINE  

EricBall

    Dragonstomper

  • 771 posts
  • Location:Markham, Ontario, Canada

Posted Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:25 AM

I do know how to solder, are there any guides to specifically check for these?

Using the circuit diagrams as a guide, follow the traces from TIA pins 2,5,7,8 and 9 (TSYNC, TLUM1, TLUM2, TLUM0 and TCOL respectively, see the far right side of the middle of the diagram) and check each component along the way for bad solder joints or other evidence of faults.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users