Jump to content

Photo

CrazyBrix - WIP


166 replies to this topic

#26 Austin OFFLINE  

Austin

    Quadrunner

  • 11,947 posts
  • Location:Fairfax, VA

Posted Thu Apr 7, 2011 4:35 PM

Very nice.. I'm liking the look of this so far! :)

#27 Greg2600 OFFLINE  

Greg2600

    River Patroller

  • 2,805 posts
  • Location:NJ

Posted Thu Apr 7, 2011 8:05 PM

Lookin good

#28 HammR25 OFFLINE  

HammR25

    Quadrunner

  • 5,099 posts
  • Happy Fun Ball

Posted Fri Apr 8, 2011 7:24 AM

Thanks guys!


@HammR25 - It isn't supposed to show a high score unless you put one in... I was thinking maybe the ID bytes I used were already taken (I use $0A,$01 for this game), but I looked through the High Score Cart Values thread (in the 7800 programming forum) and it doesn't seem to clash with anything else. :( Maybe it's an Anomaly.... Just out of curiosity, can you take a screenshot?

Also - has anyone else noticed this?

Thanks,
Bob

I can still take a screenshot to make sure the skill setting on screen is correct but that score is long gone now. It was only around 1100 points. I'm just glad it wasn't like 800,000 or something. :lol: The high score screen has worked fine, it just originally had that score in it.

I'd be surprised if it was from another game since it was only one score. I typically have more than one high score in any game I play. That's of course unless it came from a high score on a specific skill setting of another game that I only played once. It would be a bear to check Pac-Man Collection for every possible high score scenario.

I was also trying to think of WIP games that it might come from. I've probably played Froggie more than once and Arkanoid doesn't use the HSC or I don't have that turned on for it. Groovy Bee's games don't support the HSC so that's simple enough.

#29 DracIsBack OFFLINE  

DracIsBack

    Quadrunner

  • 5,335 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

Posted Mon Apr 11, 2011 1:31 PM

Was playing this more today, on my day off. Great work. I love Arkanoid and Breakout. Was bummed when Propane13's 7800 Arkanoid went into the Twilight Zone, but real life always takes the lead and should.

One question: Will you have Arkanoid style power-ups in this to switch levels, shoot lasers etc?

#30 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,635 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Mon Apr 11, 2011 6:15 PM

Hey Drac:

Thank you! :)

Actually, I wasn't going to put those powerups in there - I didn't want to make this *too* much like Arkanoid, as I know Propane13 is still working on it.
This may just be a straight forward Breakout style game with some crazy level layouts.

That being said, I've added a few levels, and made the ball speed up after being in play for a while. I've also added the bonus life at 10,000 intervals until 100,000. I think once the player has passed all 32 levels, I may advance the difficulty up one and start making the levels randomly chosen.

Bob

EDIT - for clarity

Edited by PacManPlus, Tue Apr 12, 2011 3:52 AM.


#31 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,635 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Wed Apr 13, 2011 4:44 AM

Thanks guys...

New update:

- Added a few more levels
- Two-player works now
- ball speeds up after being in play for a while
- extra turn given at $10000 point intervals up to 100,000
- After the player passes all 32 levels (once I complete them) sequentially, the difficulty is increased, and the levels from that point on are chosen at random.

#32 yuppicide OFFLINE  

yuppicide

    I am the Black Knight. Give me your money!

  • 6,933 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted Wed Apr 13, 2011 6:38 AM

That looks AMAZING! Great work!

#33 Madaracs OFFLINE  

Madaracs

    Dragonstomper

  • 647 posts

Posted Wed Apr 13, 2011 8:00 AM

Very very. :thumbsup:

#34 KevinMos3 OFFLINE  

KevinMos3

    Stargunner

  • 1,483 posts
  • Founder of the Timothy Dalton as Bond fan club
  • Location:Behind YOU!

Posted Wed Apr 13, 2011 10:47 AM

I don't know why, but I cannot get the joystick control to work so I have not been able to play it yet. ProSystem does not seem to recognize when I press the button for L difficulty. Any ideas how I can make ProSystem work right?

I think I had a similar problem months ago with the MIA prototype and I don't remember what I did to get that difficulty switch working right.

#35 jwierer OFFLINE  

jwierer

    Dragonstomper

  • 902 posts
  • Location:Seattle,WA

Posted Wed Apr 13, 2011 7:05 PM

I don't know why, but I cannot get the joystick control to work so I have not been able to play it yet. ProSystem does not seem to recognize when I press the button for L difficulty. Any ideas how I can make ProSystem work right?

I think I had a similar problem months ago with the MIA prototype and I don't remember what I did to get that difficulty switch working right.

The swtich is not sticky like it is in a real Atari so in order for it to work for me I have to hold down the F5 key the entire time.

-Jeff

#36 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,635 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Thu Apr 14, 2011 3:07 AM

Thanks guys!

@KevinMos3 / jwierer: Ok, I've changed it to reverse the values of the difficulty switch... so the joystick is the normal mode in ProSystem

Here it is:

#37 KevinMos3 OFFLINE  

KevinMos3

    Stargunner

  • 1,483 posts
  • Founder of the Timothy Dalton as Bond fan club
  • Location:Behind YOU!

Posted Thu Apr 14, 2011 10:53 AM

Thank you for the update! Lookin' good!

#38 yuppicide OFFLINE  

yuppicide

    I am the Black Knight. Give me your money!

  • 6,933 posts
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted Thu Apr 14, 2011 2:19 PM

Maybe I missed it, but how many levels will this have? They look so pretty.

#39 mimo OFFLINE  

mimo

    Preppie!

  • 6,804 posts
  • It's easy living in a bubble

Posted Fri Apr 15, 2011 4:12 AM

- After the player passes all 32 levels (once I complete them) sequentially, the difficulty is increased, and the levels from that point on are chosen at random.



#40 Nognir OFFLINE  

Nognir

    Dragonstomper

  • 764 posts
  • Location:Regenstauf (near Regensburg) Bavaria, Germany

Posted Fri Apr 15, 2011 8:52 AM

very interesting Thread!
I haven't played the game yet, but it already looks very cool. Have to try it definitely tomorrow!

I'm really looking forward playing it on my home console someday :)

#41 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,114 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:36 AM

Hi Bob
Great work,i love Breakout.
Would be great to have an editor,to make own levels.
greetings Walter

#42 keitaro OFFLINE  

keitaro

    Moonsweeper

  • 328 posts

Posted Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:14 PM

Hi
Excellent work as usual.

At some time, I had the ball locked in the same loop, so I was to left die one live.
In some breakout games, if you touch the ball with any of the extremes of your ship, the ball is launched again with other angle. So you can change the direction of the ball (useful when you have only a few bricks left). Other (and maybe easier) option could be change the angle of the ball automatically when it speeds up.

I only played the 2 first screens. I have seen the 2 paddles in screen two. I think could be interesting too including other Super Breakout variations on other screens, like the captive ball or progressive breakout, or elements of Bee-Gee games, like targets, double bonus, etc. (But also it maybe makes a distance to mantain the essence of classic Breakout)

Anyway, another interesting project,
Greetings.

Edited by keitaro, Mon Apr 18, 2011 7:15 PM.


#43 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,635 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Sat Oct 29, 2011 8:30 AM

Hi Guys:

Close to the end on this. Here is the latest binary. All 32 screens have been completed, as are some of the sounds.
Just a reminder:

- The paddles go in the *right* port
- The left difficulty switch chooses between paddles and joysticks
- The ball movement has been re-vamped
- The brick hitting sounds chooses a random control value every board (kind of like Super Breakout, except every board instead of every game)
- After completing the 32 levels, the difficulty gets moved to the next level, and the board selection from that point on is random.

This was just a game made so I can figure out ball trajectory / movement. I know there won't be much interest in this game, but at least it will be out there.
snapCrazyBricks_00.png
snapCrazyBricks_01.png

To do:
- Intro music
- 'Lost Ball' music
- Possibly change the 'wall hitting' sound - not sure yet.
- Implement second ball after completing all 32 levels (maybe) - Additional 100 points per brick when both balls are in play.

Thoughts?

Attached Files



#44 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,114 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Sat Oct 29, 2011 10:19 AM

Hi Bob
Not much interest???
I like all your games.Please make a cart for me.......
greetings Walter

#45 TrekMD OFFLINE  

TrekMD

    River Patroller

  • 3,328 posts
  • Location:Coral Gables, FL

Posted Sat Oct 29, 2011 10:19 AM

This is awesome! Looks nice but hard to play with the emulator. Needs the paddle controller. :)

#46 UberArcade OFFLINE  

UberArcade

    Moonsweeper

  • 368 posts
  • Location:Music City USA

Posted Sat Oct 29, 2011 11:18 AM

I am interested. I like breakout games. :)

#47 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,635 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Sat Oct 29, 2011 1:18 PM

Ha!

Thanks guys :)

I did something a little different. The player now always starts out with two balls in play, and earns +100 points per brick destroyed when both balls are in play.
I am leaving the wall hit sound, unless someone complains.

So, all that's left is the intro tune, and something when you lose a ball. :)

Bob

#48 Marc Oberhäuser OFFLINE  

Marc Oberhäuser

    Stargunner

  • 1,624 posts
  • Location:Düren, Germany

Posted Sat Oct 29, 2011 1:41 PM

One small issue: I have to reset the system to restart the game after Game Over. A simple press on the fire button should do it :)

#49 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,635 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Sat Oct 29, 2011 3:02 PM

Got it. :)

Here is RC1!

Added:

- Quick intro tune at the start of each board
- Lost ball sound (sounds like the player getting eaten in Adventure - I like it!) :)
- Bonus ball sound
- Double ball at start, player earns brick points + 100 as long as both balls are in play.
- Fixed being able to start with button after game over (thanks Marc!) ;)

Let me know :)
Bob

Attached Files



#50 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,635 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Sat Oct 29, 2011 6:16 PM

Hi Guys:

RC2:

- Added indicators for two player games on which player is playing.

Attached Files






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users