Jump to content

Photo

SIO2USB with a FTDI basic breakout board


88 replies to this topic

#76 Bikerbob OFFLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • 715 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Sat Jun 4, 2016 3:54 PM

So I found this.. but it looks like you had header pins to solder it to the breadboard?

 

http://www.ebay.ca/i...PAAAOSw~gRVrhnc

 

 

 

Also just to clarify.. this is a ANY DRIVE to PC correct?? not just a 1050? I see nothing in this that seems to be specific to a drive controller, just the sio signals?


Edited by Bikerbob, Sat Jun 4, 2016 4:11 PM.


#77 Madi OFFLINE  

Madi

    Moonsweeper

  • 383 posts

Posted Sat Jun 4, 2016 4:50 PM

So I found this.. but it looks like you had header pins to solder it to the breadboard?

 

http://www.ebay.ca/i...PAAAOSw~gRVrhnc

 

 

 

Also just to clarify.. this is a ANY DRIVE to PC correct?? not just a 1050? I see nothing in this that seems to be specific to a drive controller, just the sio signals?

 

This is 6 pin/connections only breakout board (FTDI clone).

If used as is (no additional components), it may be used as:

SIO2PC only device by utilizing CTS for handshaking (connected to SIO7-command), while RXD and TXD are used for data IN/OUT.

Or

It can be used as 10502PC only device by utilizing DTR line to be connected to SIO7 (command line), while RXD and TXD are for data transfer IN/OUT.

Note: +5V (selected via jumper) and Ground source are present on the breakout board.

 

This mean that it can be used either as SIO2PC or 10502PC but not both at the same time.

If you would like to utilize it as 10502PC only, you could built it inside the 1050 drive.

 

As seen in the picture, this mini breakout board lacks external connections for RX and TX LEDs. CTS is the only method available for handshaking.

breakout.png

 

madi


Edited by Madi, Sat Jun 4, 2016 4:51 PM.


#78 lemiel OFFLINE  

lemiel

    Moonsweeper

  • 280 posts
  • Location:Tychy, Poland

Posted Sun Jun 5, 2016 12:58 AM

Almost any Atari 400/800/XL/XE compatible drive.
But the drive should not use clock in/out lines - like Indus GT/LDW2000/CA2001 with Toms Turbo expansion uses - because they are not available.
Only Data in/out and Command.

Edited by lemiel, Sun Jun 5, 2016 1:12 AM.


#79 Bikerbob OFFLINE  

Bikerbob

    Dragonstomper

  • 715 posts
  • Location:Mississauga ON Canada

Posted Sun Jun 5, 2016 8:34 AM

 

This is 6 pin/connections only breakout board (FTDI clone).

If used as is (no additional components), it may be used as:

SIO2PC only device by utilizing CTS for handshaking (connected to SIO7-command), while RXD and TXD are used for data IN/OUT.

Or

It can be used as 10502PC only device by utilizing DTR line to be connected to SIO7 (command line), while RXD and TXD are for data transfer IN/OUT.

Note: +5V (selected via jumper) and Ground source are present on the breakout board.

 

This mean that it can be used either as SIO2PC or 10502PC but not both at the same time.

If you would like to utilize it as 10502PC only, you could built it inside the 1050 drive.

 

As seen in the picture, this mini breakout board lacks external connections for RX and TX LEDs. CTS is the only method available for handshaking.

attachicon.gifbreakout.png

 

madi

Hmmm.. the link I put in was for a board identical to the one you used.. from the same supplier.. I saw those boards you pictured.. but I did not see the other connections so I thought they were not good enough to do the two way device.

 

But how did you connect the two boards? just pickup some header pins from the local electronics supply?

 

James



#80 Scyzor OFFLINE  

Scyzor

    Space Invader

  • 26 posts
  • Location:Mid Hudson Valley

Posted Wed Apr 5, 2017 7:02 AM

FTDI board finally arrived from HK today:

 

attachicon.gifFTDI_Board.jpg

 

attachicon.gifFTDI_SIO2PC.jpg

 

attachicon.gifSIO2PC_1200XL.jpg

 

Light conductor works quite well, although it doesn't quite reach the SMD LEDs:

 

 

Eventually I'll glue a dummy screw head and nut into the recesses of the molex plug. Not bad for 2GBP and an hour's work. :)

 

 

Where did you got your board?



#81 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,613 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Wed Apr 5, 2017 7:05 AM

 

Where did you got your board?

 

I got mine on eBay from Hong Kong. I bought two or three - they all looked a little different and one had a bogus FTDI chip which worked well at higher divisors but not at divisor 0. I bought a replacement and that one was OK.



#82 Scyzor OFFLINE  

Scyzor

    Space Invader

  • 26 posts
  • Location:Mid Hudson Valley

Posted Wed Apr 5, 2017 7:44 AM

So the board to go is that one from SparkFun? I think I will get that one after making that SIO2PC-USB wire from YT video.



#83 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 14,613 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Wed Apr 5, 2017 11:18 AM

Sparkfun is probably the safest place to get one.



#84 NISMOPC OFFLINE  

NISMOPC

    Moonsweeper

  • 432 posts
  • Location:OHIO

Posted Mon Sep 11, 2017 6:21 PM

Bringing back thread from the dead...

 

I am installing my SIO2PC FTDI board internally (600XL) and would like to add external LED's to the upper case on the right side. The board has on-board LED's already and although it seems like it would be a simple procedure, I'm at a loss. I googled and nothing came up except this thread. Any assistance would be great!

This is the board I have:

 

http://www.microcent..._USB_Controller

 

It is an offical FTDI chip because I do not need a diode and it works flawlessly.



#85 Madi OFFLINE  

Madi

    Moonsweeper

  • 383 posts

Posted Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:25 AM

Bringing back thread from the dead...

 

I am installing my SIO2PC FTDI board internally (600XL) and would like to add external LED's to the upper case on the right side. The board has on-board LED's already and although it seems like it would be a simple procedure, I'm at a loss. I googled and nothing came up except this thread. Any assistance would be great!

This is the board I have:

 

http://www.microcent..._USB_Controller

 

It is an offical FTDI chip because I do not need a diode and it works flawlessly.

Caution:

I do not have that Basic Breakout Board (FTDI FT232RL) type. I highly recommend that you test polarity (+/_) by a multi mater before going any further.

 

There are several ways you can add an external Led(s) to your board.

I will try to describe two of them only:

 

One LED only (red or green , etc.)

 
You need two wires. The first one should be connected to Atari GND pin (SIO4) or (the GND of the breakout board) to the short leg of the LED ( - ) via a 100-220 ohm resistor.
i.e. GND point --> Resistor --> short pin of the LED.
The other wire should be cumming from  CTS pin on the board (Command pin #7 on Atari) to the long pin (+) of the LED.
i.e. CTS --> Long pin of the LED
The led will pulses whenever command is set.
 
 
Tow LED (red and blue as an example)
see the Picture.
Leds for SIO2PC.png
 
Note: the negative point should be taken from the other side of the resistors (cut trace side) that are labeled (102 )
          Also, use 2.5mm LED or smaller for best results.

 

madi


Edited by Madi, Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:35 AM.


#86 NISMOPC OFFLINE  

NISMOPC

    Moonsweeper

  • 432 posts
  • Location:OHIO

Posted Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:55 AM

Caution:

I do not have that Basic Breakout Board (FTDI FT232RL) type. I highly recommend that you test polarity (+/_) by a multi mater before going any further.

 

There are several ways you can add an external Led(s) to your board.

I will try to describe two of them only:

 

One LED only (red or green , etc.)

 
Tow LED (red and blue as an example)
 

madi

THANK YOU!!!



#87 castudillo OFFLINE  

castudillo

    Combat Commando

  • 6 posts

Posted Thu Oct 26, 2017 2:46 PM

I try to made a SIO2PC, with FT232RL FTDI USB 3.3/5.5V to TTL Serial Adapter Module for Arduino Mini Port, and work just fine, but i tried with android in AspqQt software, but nothing happens, i connect de command SIO (pin7), to connect RI conector, or CTS, or DRS, but nothing happens.

Someone try with android, and what can i do with this, ¿or there not to be a option?

 

Sorry abour my english i never practice, i'm from Chile.

 



#88 greblus OFFLINE  

greblus

    Moonsweeper

  • 270 posts

Posted Fri Oct 27, 2017 1:58 AM

Hi Castudillo.

 

Most likely it's due to incompatibility of the USB Host mode in your Android device. If USB Host mode is working

it'll work possibly even faster with SOFT handshake (command frame is not detected by the state of command line,

but it's found by the software). 

 

The only thing I can advice is to try on another Android device. I know that it's frustrating, but USB functionality

is sometimes limited by vendors (maybe to protect the hardware, business model or simply by ignorance) even

despite various OTG diagnostics apps claiming that it's supported. Sadly for us, typical Android users need

USB only to connect a pendrive or some other type of external flash memory.

 

Cheers,

W.



#89 greblus OFFLINE  

greblus

    Moonsweeper

  • 270 posts

Posted Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:35 PM

Hi again Castudillo.

 

Could you please check this version of AspeQt on your Android device:

 

https://github.com/g...qt.apk?raw=true

 

Please set DSR handshake (or other, depending on how you attached command line) and try to increase the speed as much as you can

(on my tablet I reached HSIndex 0, on my mobile HSIndex 4). It's just an experiment i did today with d2xx library from FTDI.

 

Hope it'll work for you any better. Unfortunately SOFT handshake = 19200bps only.

 

Cheers,

W.


Edited by greblus, Sun Oct 29, 2017 5:47 PM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users