Jump to content

Photo

Space Harrier Released


498 replies to this topic

#1 Sheddy OFFLINE  

Sheddy

    Dragonstomper

  • 610 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 5:34 PM



Sal was a bit quicker with the video than I thought :)

I didn't think the day would come, but I've decided to stop messing about with the game and just release it. Hopefully there aren't too many problems with it...

It's suitable for all XL/XE machines with at least 64K RAM. In the .zip is a MaxFlash cartridge image suitable for emulators. Of course you can also use the cartridge image to program a real 8Mbit MaxFlash cartridge to run on a real machine.

Attached File  sharrier.zip   351.13KB   1894 downloads

#2 GroovyBee OFFLINE  

GroovyBee

    Games Developer

  • 9,675 posts
  • Busy bee!
  • Location:North, England

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 5:40 PM

:cool: How about a 7800 XM version next ;)

#3 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    River Patroller

  • 4,369 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 5:46 PM

Fantastic work. Gotta love the little Ataris :) 30 years and still suprising people.

#4 simonl OFFLINE  

simonl

    Chopper Commander

  • 160 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 5:47 PM

Awesome, now I have to remember where my flash cart is so I can try it the real hardware :thumbsup:

#5 Animan OFFLINE  

Animan

    River Patroller

  • 2,391 posts
  • Just some guy who plays Atari and watches Anime.
  • Location:Texas

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 5:50 PM

I now have a real reason to buy an SIO2PC device.

#6 Cebus Capucinis OFFLINE  

Cebus Capucinis

    Not-so-secretly Trolling

  • 8,013 posts
  • Wiseass Extraordinaire
  • Location:Ellensburg, WA

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 6:00 PM

The .car file doesn't work in MaxFlash cartridge studio. :|

#7 svenski OFFLINE  

svenski

    Stargunner

  • 1,484 posts
  • Location:To the left of POKEY

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 6:10 PM

It doesnae work in Atari800win Plus either :( bad format.

#8 Cebus Capucinis OFFLINE  

Cebus Capucinis

    Not-so-secretly Trolling

  • 8,013 posts
  • Wiseass Extraordinaire
  • Location:Ellensburg, WA

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 6:12 PM

Yep, just tried to emulate instead. :( Same problem here.

#9 rdea6 ONLINE  

rdea6

    River Patroller

  • 2,433 posts
  • Location:Arizona USA

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 6:33 PM

Strip the cart header off and then use it.....seems that it has a bad cartheader. Any Hexeditor and strip the first 16 bytes.

#10 fibrewire OFFLINE  

fibrewire

    Stargunner

  • 1,620 posts
  • Location:Southern California

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 6:51 PM

Amazing!

#11 Kjmann OFFLINE  

Kjmann

    Dragonstomper

  • 916 posts

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 6:52 PM

Here's A BIN for Everyone. If your Don't have the Ability to program a cart then we are selling it at our store with a nice Laser Printed Gloss Label. Page 4 of the Carts Section.



#12 svenski OFFLINE  

svenski

    Stargunner

  • 1,484 posts
  • Location:To the left of POKEY

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 7:09 PM

Great, the original seems to work OK on Altirra. Couldn't get either to work on AtariWin Plus but both fine on Altirra - maybe I missed something in AtariWIn settings.

Looks awesome, a big well done guys :thumbsup:

#13 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 5,981 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:Akron, Ohio

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 7:33 PM

Kick ass! I'm staying up late tonight to try this. I really have to get stereo in my main machine.

#14 Cebus Capucinis OFFLINE  

Cebus Capucinis

    Not-so-secretly Trolling

  • 8,013 posts
  • Wiseass Extraordinaire
  • Location:Ellensburg, WA

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 7:50 PM

I just programmed an 8MBit flash cart with kjmann's file (thanks!) and played a quick round....ABSOLUTELY MIND BLOWING! The game is so smooth and plays like a dream. This is an OUTSTANDING piece of coding genius and dare I say the most amazing program made for the A8 so far. Many, many thanks and a great big round of applause for this great piece of work! :thumbsup:

#15 potatohead OFFLINE  

potatohead

    River Patroller

  • 4,383 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 8:02 PM

Absolutely brilliant! Thanks for doing it.

#16 David_P OFFLINE  

David_P

    Dragonstomper

  • 753 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 8:20 PM

...time to order an 8mbit cart (or five) and a programmer, I guess...

#17 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 14,644 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 8:55 PM

Nice. Gave it a quick go.

Just a couple of issues -

. the title screen indicates "Start" although Start doesn't do anything (fire button only)

. the end of level when the enemy dies is a bit anti-climatic. I compared the arcade and it's a bit that way too, but less noticable because the next level "blends" in more rather than having the intermediate screen.

Also, is there a "Continue" facility, or do you just always start over?

#18 Kjmann OFFLINE  

Kjmann

    Dragonstomper

  • 916 posts

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 10:32 PM

Nice. Gave it a quick go.

Just a couple of issues -

. the title screen indicates "Start" although Start doesn't do anything (fire button only)

. the end of level when the enemy dies is a bit anti-climatic. I compared the arcade and it's a bit that way too, but less noticable because the next level "blends" in more rather than having the intermediate screen.

Also, is there a "Continue" facility, or do you just always start over?



On the Title Screen Try Moving the Joystick to the Left and Right. It moves the arrow between the options allowing you to change those options by pressing fire on what ever option the Arrow is pointing to.

When you get past a Bonus Round you can Move the Arrow to the far right on the title screen and push fire to change what level to begin a new game on. you can only start on the levels AFTER the Bonus Rounds that you have completed.

Ex: if you have only completed The Bonus Round at level 5 then you will have the ability to select Level 1 or Level 6 to begin on for your next game.

#19 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 5,981 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:Akron, Ohio

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 10:32 PM

This looks much better in person! It sure is a hard game though (notice who's never in the HSC :) )

#20 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 14,644 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 10:48 PM

Ah, didn't realise you could change lives, level, difficulty.

I'll have to try this on the real thing. Emulation isn't doing justice to it.

#21 Philsan OFFLINE  

Philsan

    River Patroller

  • 3,232 posts
  • New Orleans Saints Super Bowl XLIV Champions
  • Location:Switzerland

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 11:21 PM

we are selling it at our store with a nice Laser Printed Gloss Label. Page 4 of the Carts Section.

No boxed version?
Shipping to Europe?

#22 Kjmann OFFLINE  

Kjmann

    Dragonstomper

  • 916 posts

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 11:31 PM

we are selling it at our store with a nice Laser Printed Gloss Label. Page 4 of the Carts Section.

No boxed version?
Shipping to Europe?


Nope. Just a Cart With a nice Label.

#23 _Fandal_ OFFLINE  

_Fandal_

    Dragonstomper

  • 766 posts
  • Location:Czech Republic

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 11:45 PM

Awesome work!!!

F.

#24 Philsan OFFLINE  

Philsan

    River Patroller

  • 3,232 posts
  • New Orleans Saints Super Bowl XLIV Champions
  • Location:Switzerland

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 11:46 PM

we are selling it at our store with a nice Laser Printed Gloss Label. Page 4 of the Carts Section.

No boxed version?
Shipping to Europe?


Nope. Just a Cart With a nice Label.


Shipping cost to Europe?

#25 Heaven/TQA OFFLINE  

Heaven/TQA

    Quadrunner

  • 9,975 posts
  • Location:Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Posted Mon Jul 4, 2011 11:55 PM

top class...

next candidate for interview and 1 page in Retro Gamer...




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users