Jump to content

Photo

Bypass V2.2 console protection


48 replies to this topic

#26 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    River Patroller

  • 3,822 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Sun Feb 9, 2014 11:19 PM

Here is a way to run ROM cartridges on a V2.2 console. Plug in the cartridge, then go to TI BASIC (your only choice) and run the attached program. There is embedded code in this so cut and paste will not work. This is a simple assembly program that uses the playground loader.   It sets the VDP registers to the values used at the cartridge menu screen, then looks into the cartridge, finds the startup address of the first program in the list and runs the code. This has been tested on Classic99 and seems to work.  It's a good first step - it could benefit from a fancier menu, especially if there is more than one option in the cartridge.

 

Silly graphic kept stealing my mouse.  ;)



#27 senior_falcon OFFLINE  

senior_falcon

    Dragonstomper

  • 911 posts
  • Location:Lansing, NY, USA

Posted Sat Feb 15, 2014 9:22 AM

Here is a more polished version of the utility that lets you run ROM cartridges on a V2.2 console.  This gives you a menu which is needed if your cartridge has more than one program.  The zip file has two programs: V22RUN will simply run the first program in the list, and V22MENU is the more advanced one that gives the menu.

gallery_34177_1071_4506.gif

Attached Files



#28 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Quadrunner

  • 10,366 posts

Posted Sat Feb 15, 2014 10:38 AM

Here is a more polished version of the utility that lets you run ROM cartridges on a V2.2 console.  This gives you a menu which is needed if your cartridge has more than one program.  The zip file has two programs: V22RUN will simply run the first program in the list, and V22MENU is the more advanced one that gives the menu.

 

 

Sweet!  That is once fantastic hack-job you came up with.  Great update!  :thumbsup:  I can only imagine how this would have stung and spit in the eye of TI, if something like this had come out and was freely passed around back in the day.  :twisted:   I always thought is was poor sportsmanship, and bad for the TI community to prevent others like Atari from playing in TI's sandbox. 



#29 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,131 posts

Posted Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:23 PM

Great little update to the software GROM-Buster!



#30 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    River Patroller

  • 3,822 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Sat Feb 15, 2014 4:52 PM

Bloody nice work.  This is pure wizardry.  I wonder what the TI system developers would have thought about this.  Back in the day Commodore engineers swore up and down it was impossible to get 2400 bps out of a stock Commodore 64, and yet we had programs like C-Net BBS (technically 2395, but still worked as 2400) and Novaterm with the CBAT routines from Transactor magazine (I also adopted CBAT for my BBS software.)



#31 TI-Sissy OFFLINE  

TI-Sissy

    Chopper Commander

  • 149 posts

Posted Sun Feb 16, 2014 7:42 AM

Here is a more polished version of the utility that lets you run ROM cartridges on a V2.2 console.  This gives you a menu which is needed if your cartridge has more than one program.  The zip file has two programs: V22RUN will simply run the first program in the list, and V22MENU is the more advanced one that gives the menu.

gallery_34177_1071_4506.gif

real sneaky in a good way



#32 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,746 posts
  • HarmlessLion
  • Location:BUR

Posted Mon Feb 17, 2014 12:41 AM

This work, and RasmusM's work, just fill so many long standing dreams for me. Thanks both of you ;)

#33 senior_falcon OFFLINE  

senior_falcon

    Dragonstomper

  • 911 posts
  • Location:Lansing, NY, USA

Posted Mon Feb 17, 2014 8:52 AM

One hand washes the other.  This would have been a whole lot harder without the debug features in Classic 99. Thanks to you for that!



#34 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Dragonstomper

  • 929 posts
  • www.hexbus.com
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Feb 17, 2014 1:05 PM

Senior, this is truly amazing work!  Great job!



#35 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • 2,426 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Mon Feb 17, 2014 1:55 PM

What can be the reason Ms Pac-Man is displaying a garbled font when you run it on a V2.2 console using the V22RUN utility (in Classic99)? I noticed the same for Donkey Kong.

 

Attached File  mspacman.png   1.96KB   13 downloads



#36 am1933 OFFLINE  

am1933

    Stargunner

  • 1,036 posts
  • Location:U.K

Posted Mon Feb 17, 2014 2:22 PM

What can be the reason Ms Pac-Man is displaying a garbled font when you run it on a V2.2 console using the V22RUN utility (in Classic99)? I noticed the same for Donkey Kong.

 

attachicon.gifmspacman.png

Apparently Ms Pac Man was a heavy drinker.



#37 senior_falcon OFFLINE  

senior_falcon

    Dragonstomper

  • 911 posts
  • Location:Lansing, NY, USA

Posted Mon Feb 17, 2014 2:52 PM

What can be the reason Ms Pac-Man is displaying a garbled font when you run it on a V2.2 console using the V22RUN utility (in Classic99)? I noticed the same for Donkey Kong.

 

Rasmus, can you either post a copy of the cartridge or direct me to where I can download it.  It looks like some of the VDP character definitions are getting overwritten for some reason.  This should be fixable - but first we have to identify where the problem is.



#38 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • 2,426 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:35 PM

 

What can be the reason Ms Pac-Man is displaying a garbled font when you run it on a V2.2 console using the V22RUN utility (in Classic99)? I noticed the same for Donkey Kong.

 

Rasmus, can you either post a copy of the cartridge or direct me to where I can download it.  It looks like some of the VDP character definitions are getting overwritten for some reason.  This should be fixable - but first we have to identify where the problem is.

 

 

Sure, here you are.

Attached Files



#39 senior_falcon OFFLINE  

senior_falcon

    Dragonstomper

  • 911 posts
  • Location:Lansing, NY, USA

Posted Mon Feb 17, 2014 3:51 PM

Rasmus, I forgot to ask - do these programs run properly using V22MENU?



#40 senior_falcon OFFLINE  

senior_falcon

    Dragonstomper

  • 911 posts
  • Location:Lansing, NY, USA

Posted Mon Feb 17, 2014 9:44 PM

This comes as a total surprise to me!  I had no idea that Ms Pac Man runs in bit mapped mode!  In preparing VDP ram the character tables are all overwritten.  It look like the character definitions for the capital letters are read from GROM as needed and printed on the screen.  Because there are 3 different GROM 0's, there are 3 different locations for the large capital letters.  Intern has them at >04B0, Classic 99 has them at >04B4 and V2.2 has them at >0491.  In V2.2, I think the program is doing what it is supposed to - Ms Pac Man simply goes to the wrong address for the character definitions.  I don't see any easy fix for this short of modifying the cartridge.  When writing the program, it would have been easy enough to go to the jump table at >0016, find the address of the code that loads the large capital letters, look in the code to find the address of the character definitions, and go from there.   Anyway, the program runs fine once you get past the title screen.



#41 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    River Patroller

  • 3,822 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Mon Feb 17, 2014 11:12 PM

This comes as a total surprise to me!  I had no idea that Ms Pac Man runs in bit mapped mode!

 

This surprises me, as well.  Does Pac-Man run in bitmap mode, too?  Donkey Kong must, since it exhibits the same problems as Ms Pac-Man.  Would running in bitmap versus graphics mode lend any performance increase?



#42 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • 2,426 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:39 AM

 

This surprises me, as well.  Does Pac-Man run in bitmap mode, too?  Donkey Kong must, since it exhibits the same problems as Ms Pac-Man.  Would running in bitmap versus graphics mode lend any performance increase?

 

Yes Pac-Man runs in bitmap mode too. I don't think it affects performance, but it uses more VDP RAM, of course. Note the ghosts' eyes. They are not sprites but character/bitmap graphics. A really nice detail, I think. 



#43 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,208 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Sat Feb 22, 2014 7:33 PM

Although I've known about the V2.2 consoles for a long time, I've never actually had one until now.  I tried out V22RUN with some Atari carts and was really quite amazed :)

 

On a somewhat related note - do the 'GPL Interpreter Simulation' EB bootable module disks not work properly because of the same issues with the V2.2?



#44 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,470 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sun Feb 23, 2014 11:14 AM

Although I've known about the V2.2 consoles for a long time, I've never actually had one until now.  I tried out V22RUN with some Atari carts and was really quite amazed :)

 

On a somewhat related note - do the 'GPL Interpreter Simulation' EB bootable module disks not work properly because of the same issues with the V2.2?

 

nope.. because the only real issue is that the ROM on the console skips the cartridge port when looking for rom based software. The "simulation" is just a menu loading files from disk



#45 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,208 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Sun Feb 23, 2014 11:37 AM

 

nope.. because the only real issue is that the ROM on the console skips the cartridge port when looking for rom based software. The "simulation" is just a menu loading files from disk

 

Hmm. I wonder why they don't work then.  I tried a bunch that work fine on my other system, and they just seem to load and crash.  



#46 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,208 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Tue Apr 15, 2014 11:17 AM

 

nope.. because the only real issue is that the ROM on the console skips the cartridge port when looking for rom based software. The "simulation" is just a menu loading files from disk

 

On the odd chance anyone cares...   They do work after replacing GROM0 in the machine vs using V22RUN.



#47 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,746 posts
  • HarmlessLion
  • Location:BUR

Posted Tue Apr 15, 2014 4:28 PM

Might be the same problem as Ms PacMan - they assume addresses in the console GROM. My understanding of those (though I have never looked!) is they copy the interpreter to RAM and patch it to run GPL from RAM. Since they were around before the 2.2 consoles, they might be making assumptions that aren't true (most of the GROM data shifted in the 2.2 GROM when then pulled out the ROM cartridge code).

#48 notwhoyouthink OFFLINE  

notwhoyouthink

    Star Raider

  • 68 posts

Posted Mon Jul 17, 2017 1:44 PM

Just in case i ever buy a v2.2 console, i would like to know this:

Can this program be used via cassette, or does it have to be used from disk?



#49 senior_falcon OFFLINE  

senior_falcon

    Dragonstomper

  • 911 posts
  • Location:Lansing, NY, USA

Posted Tue Jul 18, 2017 5:14 AM

It is a TI BASIC program and can be loaded from either cassette or disc.  






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users