Jump to content

Photo

Heatwave BBS


17 replies to this topic

#1 Mad Hatter OFFLINE  

Mad Hatter

    Chopper Commander

  • 240 posts

Posted Sun Jul 10, 2011 9:35 AM

I know there's not many of you guys with land-line modems on your computers, but my BBS is now officially open. For now there is just dial-up service, however as I find time over the summer I plan to have it connected to the internet and available via TELNET or possibly as a URL. The system is running on actual hardware, a Geneve with 40 megs of hard disk space. I have added an AtariAge file section which contains most of the homebrew games from you fine programmers! The BBS is still a work in progress. It obviously is a BBS which focuses on the TI and Geneve.


Heatwave BBS
(602)/955-4491
8-N-1
24hrs/day

Edited by Mad Hatter, Sun Jul 10, 2011 7:24 PM.


#2 matthew180 OFFLINE  

matthew180

    River Patroller

  • 2,408 posts
  • Location:Castaic, California

Posted Mon Jul 11, 2011 8:29 AM

You can use a "unix box dongle" via the serial port to provide Internet access. Just a thought. Also the serial-to-ethernet adapters have come down quite a bit, so maybe that is a possibility if your budget allows for it.

#3 Mad Hatter OFFLINE  

Mad Hatter

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 240 posts

Posted Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:40 AM

Thanks Matthew, that's kind of the plan. I have a UDS-100 serial/ethernet adapter I am planning to use, and I have had success connecting my PC to the TI with it. I still need to get a static IP address set up though, but hopefully when I do it will go smoothly (yeah right!) Connecting it to the internet.

#4 matthew180 OFFLINE  

matthew180

    River Patroller

  • 2,408 posts
  • Location:Castaic, California

Posted Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:59 AM

Just use dyndns.org and port forward you BBS to the UDS-100. If you have a newer-ish router or DSL modem, then it may have support to automatically update your dyndns.org domain. Otherwise there is a simple app you can run on a PC.

#5 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,731 posts

Posted Mon Jul 11, 2011 7:40 PM

Thanks Matthew, that's kind of the plan. I have a UDS-100 serial/ethernet adapter I am planning to use, and I have had success connecting my PC to the TI with it. I still need to get a static IP address set up though, but hopefully when I do it will go smoothly (yeah right!) Connecting it to the internet.


This is definitely do-able. A few years ago I tested the BBS using a UDS10 device and for the most part it worked successfully. IIRC, the problems experienced were related to incoming handshaking (not presently supported by the BBS) and telnet limitations interrupting file transfers. The latter was "resolved" by using the standard Telnet port, though I believe a software fix would be do-able if a different port was required.

The UDS does require some configuration for proper carrier detection and DTR hangup. I was looking into using a 2nd RS232 to allow for both a modem and UDS device to hang off the BBS, but never got any farther.

#6 Mad Hatter OFFLINE  

Mad Hatter

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 240 posts

Posted Sun Jul 17, 2011 2:02 PM

Excellent to know. I definitely would like file x-fers to work when I get the system online. Hopefully I will have some time towards the end of the month to start tinkering with the UDS. What would be required to have the system operating with a dial-in line and an internet connection. Some modification of S&T code I assume.

Thanks Matthew, that's kind of the plan. I have a UDS-100 serial/ethernet adapter I am planning to use, and I have had success connecting my PC to the TI with it. I still need to get a static IP address set up though, but hopefully when I do it will go smoothly (yeah right!) Connecting it to the internet.


This is definitely do-able. A few years ago I tested the BBS using a UDS10 device and for the most part it worked successfully. IIRC, the problems experienced were related to incoming handshaking (not presently supported by the BBS) and telnet limitations interrupting file transfers. The latter was "resolved" by using the standard Telnet port, though I believe a software fix would be do-able if a different port was required.

The UDS does require some configuration for proper carrier detection and DTR hangup. I was looking into using a 2nd RS232 to allow for both a modem and UDS device to hang off the BBS, but never got any farther.



#7 klasko54 OFFLINE  

klasko54

    Star Raider

  • 87 posts

Posted Fri Mar 17, 2017 11:29 PM

I log on to heatwave with my TRS80 model 100 from time to time to play golf. Very cool.



#8 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:17 PM

I log on to heatwave with my TRS80 model 100 from time to time to play Opry99er's 'BASEBALL' game. Very cool.


Fixed it for you. ;)

Edited by Opry99er, Mon Mar 20, 2017 4:17 PM.


#9 klasko54 OFFLINE  

klasko54

    Star Raider

  • 87 posts

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 6:57 PM

Fixed it??

Fixed What??



#10 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 7:29 PM

The bold text. :)

#11 AlecRob OFFLINE  

AlecRob

    Chopper Commander

  • 168 posts
  • The hippies were right.
  • Location:Taylorsville, KY

Posted Sat Apr 15, 2017 10:57 PM

I log on to heatwave with my TRS80 model 100 from time to time to play golf. Very cool.

Does this number still work? does nothing for me.



#12 klasko54 OFFLINE  

klasko54

    Star Raider

  • 87 posts

Posted Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:02 AM

No. You have to side dial in using the Keep-1-503-646-2407. Set up a free account, type GO/DIALUP at any prompt.



#13 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:30 AM

Heatwave is no longer hooked up to dialup. You can telnet in if you have your Classic computer hooked up to your PC.

TELNET: heatwave.ddns.net 9640

#14 AlecRob OFFLINE  

AlecRob

    Chopper Commander

  • 168 posts
  • The hippies were right.
  • Location:Taylorsville, KY

Posted Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:01 PM

Heatwave is no longer hooked up to dialup. You can telnet in if you have your Classic computer hooked up to your PC.

TELNET: heatwave.ddns.net 9640

but dial up is cool. gotta keep the modem scene alive....



#15 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,731 posts

Posted Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:51 PM

Heatwave is telnet only.  I worked with my local phone company, even before taking the BBS reins from MadHatter, to get a phone line that would operate properly with a dial-up modem.  Whatever they are doing between my home and the central office renders connections nearly impossible, even at the slowest speeds.

 

Since TI users can connect their systems via Telnet using a Lantronix UDS device or through other solutions like TCPSer, and since TheKeep graciously provides pass-through for its users that desire dial-up, I am not pursuing other options.



#16 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,731 posts

Posted Sun Apr 16, 2017 10:31 PM

The Heatwave BBS system's power supply is once again acting up.  I may have to take it offline this week to fix or replace. 

 

My gut tells me it is time to replace it with something new and more efficient, given that it is now over 20 years old and has run 24x7 the majority of those years.



#17 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Apr 17, 2017 12:43 AM

Good luck! Do let us know your plans and status.

And thanks again for hosting!!!

#18 Zap! OFFLINE  

Zap!

    Stargunner

  • 1,450 posts
  • Location:Staten Island, New York

Posted Thu Oct 5, 2017 10:40 PM

I just joined, great board!




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users